We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the first place I would recommend”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of I's Plant Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calbayog City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
I's Plant Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Calbayog City B&B and Inns
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not the first place I would recommend”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

There is a lots of fungus in the room (even in the fridge), not very well cleaned. All the rooms, except the presidential suite, are supersmall.
The staff is OK, the restaurant is very good.
And they have a very nice pool! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leevi_Narusberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
10
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Used this hotel due to recommendation what a mistake. We had to change rooms due to the toilet not working. Then after checking 3 more rooms settled on one that had the least problems. Glad we,only had an overnight stay otherwise we would have changed hotels. This place needs major maintenance urgently. Not recommended. The staff couldn't be bothered with the guests, they were outside the lobby taking photos of each,other near the swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went there with a small 2.5y old son and first wanted to see the Junior suit and it turned out to be very small. So we went for the Family suit but that wasn't much better. We ended up taking the Executive suit that was their best room. It was a decent sized room, small bathroom, had AC but the overall quality was just bad. There was one large bed and one small one. The large bed had a larger mattress than the bed (10cm wider from both sides). The fridge looked like no-one had cleaned it for years, it looked like there was something growing in it :) There was only one clean towel in the room and surprisingly we found another one hanging on the curtain, so it was obvious the cleaning service had not been very good. The bathroom had a trashcan that had rusted shut so we weren't able to open the lid on it so we ended up using just a plastic bag next to it. But the suit had a small private balcony with a small table and some seats which made it a nice place to have breakfast. There is quite OK speed internet (1 Mbit) via WiFi available but it's only in the restaurant so no internet in the rooms. They have a very nice swimming pool outside which was very well maintained and the staff was friendly enough to let us use it at 2am even though that's against their rules. They had a gym but I never went inside there so I don't know the quality of it, but it's nice knowing there is one when it matters to someone. They have a transportation service you can use for free when you stay there for at least 2 nights but the driver was unavailable on sunday. The best part of the hotel is the Restaurant which has quite good quality food for Philippines and the kitchen is closed at 11pm (23:00) so you can even get food quite late. After that you can still get beverages even during the night. The restaurant staff was very friendly and good and even bothered to play with the little kid when we let him wander around a little. Overall the hotel left a quite bad impression of itself by the way they maintain their best room, but the restaurant service was good so I'm definitely going back there to eat but probably not for sleep.

Room Tip: The Executive suite has a nice balcony and is rather private but the family suite can be good enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Reigo_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Basic budget requires basic accomodation, this hotel proves to cater basically, to basic needs.

Go around Calbayog the whole day and arrive at the hotel late at night to sleep, then leave early the next morning. That is the perfect set-up for this type of accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristianBerrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My mom and I stayed at this hotel last November 2011 for 3d/2n. We actually had a hard time searching the web for hotels in Calbayog until I found this blog which has info on different Calbayog accommodations. I called the hotel, and booked for the cheapest room for 2. They gave me a standard deluxe at Php 700/night. It consists of a matrimonial bed, air-conditioning, hot and cold shower, free breakfast for 1 and free wi-fi (restaurant area only). They have an L300 van that they use to pick guests up from the airport. There is a fee of Php 100/way. Upon arriving at the hotel, we went inside the restaurant as the reception is inside it. The girl at the reception told us that she will have to place us first in a deluxe room which costs 1050/night as they have no standard rooms (which I actually have reserved) available just yet. So we agreed. She said that they will just call us if the room is already free. The deluxe room has a king sized bed, overhead TV with cable, closet, phone, dresser, desk, T&B, towel, soap and a roll of tissue paper. We stayed there for around 3 hours until someone called on the phone asking me to go down at the restaurant. She told me that she will have to transfer us (AGAIN) to a standard deluxe with 3 beds that costs Php 900/night. I actually got pissed off. It was not my fault that I wasn't able to place a reservation fee since they have no website, and no bank account, and they require a person to personally place a reservation fee days prior the arrival (how is that possible if we don't know anyone there). But because we can't look for another hotel to stay in, we again just took the room. So I went back to the room, grabbed our things, went to the other side of the building, and went up 3 floors via stairs. The room was SOOOO small. There were 3 single beds, 2 on one side, 1 just in front of the door. You can't open the door fully as the bed is blocking its way. There is an overhead TV just on top of that bed blocking the door. The bathroom is average (no shower curtain, but the heater, flush and faucet were working well). We were provided with 3 towels, 3 tiny soaps, and 3 rolls of tissue. There was a small coffee desk, a phone and air-conditioning. There were no extra spaces to place your luggage so we placed everything on top of the extra bed. In order to use the available outlet, you have to move the bed sideways (thus causing it to block the way further). Breakfast at the restaurant includes a toast and butter and coffee.

Swimming pool's not working (there was no water). Wi-fi is really bad (I wasn't able to use it well- frequently disconnects). The open air lobby has enough seats but the sofas were damaged and there were a lot of mosquitoes at night (lobby only) and even a flying cockroach. The on-site restaurant caters to people not staying inside the hotel (so expect a lot of people during lunchtime). Reception is quite accommodating. She has given us tips on transportation from one place to another.

Overall, this hotel is just good for sleeping and nothing else. They have good rates for the rooms; prices of the food are average to quite expensive. Service was good (although we had an issue with the room availability).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank backpackingcouples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu, hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Not good. Rooms are windowless. Bathrooms are primitive. Toilette seats usually missing. No hot water. Food is basic. The gym was a surprise but the equipment was either broken or dangerous. Staff are not trained. Cash only. They charge 50% if you check out past noon. Location is pretty good. Overall experience was feeling of joy when we got out of there.

Room Tip: Check the room before you pay. Make sure it has a window and the bathroom is operational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honolulumark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hotel is 30 minutes from the airport.the room we got is just good for two. small but ok. small shower room too.over all it's clean and it has small cafe restaurant which serves good food. it's also walking distance to the fish port and a small plaza called Nijaga park across a river.also walking distance to city hall and the only church in the city.and van terminal.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gemr0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calbayog City
1.7 mi away
Ciriaco Hotel
Ciriaco Hotel
#1 of 3 in Calbayog City
85 reviews
1.4 mi away
S&R Bed and Breakfast
S&R Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 13 in Calbayog City
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marvin's Seaside Inn
Marvin's Seaside Inn
#2 of 7 in Naval
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
GV Hotel Catarman
GV Hotel Catarman
#5 of 7 in Catarman
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to I's Plant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I's Plant Hotel

Property: I's Plant Hotel
Address: JPR subdivision | Brgy. Obrero, Calbayog City, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Samar Island > Calbayog City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Calbayog City
Also Known As:
I's Plant Hotel Calbayog City, Philippines - Samar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing