We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“this is a 5*plus”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Reading Room House

5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Let the sunsine in!!! High spec kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Let the sunsine in!!!
High spec kitchen
Large dining table for 6
Underfloor heating throughout
Superking or twin bedroom with en-suite wetroom.
Beautiful Elan Valley
canoe on the River Wye
Stunning Elan Valley
Gilfach Nature reserve
Walk or cycle around the Elan Valley dams
One of the Elan Valley dams
Enchanting Woodland Walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newbridge-on-Wye, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gailee272
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“this is a 5*plus”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in this accommodation for three nights, everything was perfect, we had been provided with a very generous welcome pack, thank you it was fantastic, the weather when we stayed was a total disaster, we were not able to do many out door activities due to high winds and constant rain, all our needs had been catered for dvd's books etc, we felt very warm and cosy in this lovely house, it would be a treat to return when hopefully we can enjoy it in warmer weather...Thank you for all the attention to detail...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing about property..awful weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review, we are glad you were warm and cosy and enjoyed your stay despite the weather.
We would love to see you again sometime.
Best wishes, Diane and Graham.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuckie04...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Immaculate, beautiful, fantastic.”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked this cottage for 3 nights and wish that we could have stayed longer. The cottage itself was absolutely immaculate - with the contemporary fixtures and fittings providing the ultimate in luxury. Graham and Diane helpfully provided lots of information on local activities and places to eat and also left a lovely welcome pack that included freshly baked cake. There were a good selection games and DVD's to keep us amused on our one rainy afternoon.
We explored the nearby Elan Valley and made use of the OS map in the cottage. The views were spectacular! We also went to the National Show Caves which was a lovely day out. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to go to the Red Kite feeding, but we will certainly do that when we come back next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurious spa bath
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay and we really hope you can come back in the future. Thank you so much for leaving everywhere clean and tidy, we really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cannot find fault, all fantastic!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2015
Glad you enjoyed it, hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JanFord19...
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly deserving of its five stars ”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This property has the WOW factor ! A contemporary design with 5 star cleanliness ! We loved our weekend here and we're also blessed with great weather as a bonus ! Diane and Graham have created a unique holiday home here and we hope to return very soon . Thank you :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizLunn
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Superb five star accommodation in tranquility”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are in the middle of a glorious week staying in the Reading Room, Newbridge on Wye. If you love luxury in a peaceful setting this is it! The Reading Room is fitted to a very high standard with wet room and jacuzzi bath. Lovely living space and the owners have thought of everything you could possibly need including a welcome pack of home made French tart, and bread. Not to mention jam,butter, cream and beautiful flowers! We are loving our visit especially going back in time somewhat in this part of Wales. If stay here make sure you eat at the Golden Lion within walking distance. Very good food and good value

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury of the property
Liked least: Lack of curtains in living area though not a major problem at all as bedrooms have black out curtains
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miskin Pontyclun
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing but parking was a bit tight.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warringto...
Warrington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Accommodation. Warm welcome”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband, daughter and grandson have just spent three nights in the fantastic Reading Room in Newbridge on Wye. The house is beautifully decorated and furnished - the owners have spared no expense and have thought of everything.
The freshly baked bread, cake, chocolate and flowers on arrival were a lovely touch.
The river runs at the bottom of the garden (safely fenced) the area is very quiet.

Would highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the effort to review your stay.
We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing