We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Hafod-Y-Garreg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hafod-Y-Garreg
Ranked #2 of 4 Erwood B&B and Inns
South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I have just spent two lovely restful, peacefulnights, along with out two Westies, at Hafod y Garreg.We had a wonderful time, right from turning up and being invited to share champagne to celebrate Annie's birthday, to sitting outside on the grass at 11pm, drinking wine (we had been advised to take our own) and discussing our future plans of running a similar b&b in France. Annie and John certainly made it look easy. They were so concerned for our comfort and put us at ease immediately.
The weather was gorgeous so we were a little mystified when John lit the log fire and there was another alight in the dining room when we sat down for our superb evening meal. But as they live in the Welsh hills perhaps they are so used to having to light the fires in the evening that it is habitual. It wasn't lit the second evening. It had been so hot and I believe even Annie and John were prepared to concede it was too warm for a fire after a day of sunbathing in their lovely garden.
The room was wonderful, as was all of the house. Like nowhere else and furnished with taste, love and humour. Our bed was soooo comfortable with luxurious bedding and the bathroom was astounding - fit for a film star. The house (and our room) was scrupulously clean and accessorised with lots of charming knick knacks , lamps, wall hangings, the odd Saint of Lost Things, a Buddha or two, gorgeous mirrors, inviting couches (down doggie!).
There are chickens running loose and a cat so our dogs were kept on leads until in our room. Annie told us that John loves dogs, but they're not allowed to keep one as there are sheep in the adjoining fields. They were quite happy for the dogs to stay in the room with us at night, although they were in their cages and not on the bed!
There was a handy fridge in the room, a small flat screen tv, magazines, a decanter of sherry, an electric clock,two hair dryers, a generous hospitality tray with Tea bags, lots of speciality teas, coffee and a jug of real milk plus a proper kettle.
The only minor negatives for me were that we were very warm in the night on the first night because of the heat from the fire (found an electric fan in the cupboard the next day!), and we didn't get the advertised black pudding with our morning fry up:-)
We have had a tough year and a short break I this lovely place with its very welcoming owners was just what we needed. Thank you John and Annie, for all you did for us. We hope to see you again before too long! :-)

Room Tip: The bigger room with the separate lounge area has a small bathroom. Our room was big enough and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vallo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    1
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
47
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A perfect antidote to the busy festive period, Hafod-Y-Garreg provided a retreat custom made for any weary body or mind. A beautiful and intriguing building which transports you back to a historical idyll of log fires and dramatic countryside. John and Annie are great hosts who add to the charm and can't help but to make you feel welcomed and at home. Overall a wonderful stay.
Paul and Nathalia

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

old yes , unique yes , good company yes , good breakfast yes !
what a way to spend christmas night
excellent
recomended ,

(very rustic indeed , you even open the gates yourself on the way to it - to keep the sheep at bay !) ,

Room Tip: if arriving at night have a good map and a torch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevill_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have today returned from a 2 night stay here for my birthday weekend with friends. Everything I had hoped it would be, it was. And more. John and Annie were brilliant! Friendly, amusing, knowledgable and just generally wonderful hosts. The food is amazing. John cooks you a breakfast that more than prepares you for the days walking ahead and Annie cooks you a fantastic 3 course meal which you definately feel you have earned after a days walking! The house is simply superb. The way they have furnished it is perfect for the ambiance. Rooms were amazing and cleaned while we were out without us even asking, or indeed expecting it. The baths are huge and i didnt want to get out! On the whole there is not a single negative thing I can say about our experience and 100% I can assure you that we will be back ASAP.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beehive60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Jon and Annie are devine hosts. As a guest at Hafod y garreg it is more like being a private house guest than a paying guest at a B&B. As hosts they make you feel totally relaxed and at home. There is no daily room service but that affords a degree of privacy and relaxation, I personally always feel the need to tidy before the maid comes in. Annie cooks supper and Jon breakfast both of which are lovingly prepared and delicious. There are adequate bathroom and room supplies which are topped up on request. On a personal note, I feel for whoever does the housekeeping; I look after a Georgian Property and know all to well the endless battle of the cobwebs, if they were removed daily they would be back overnight! However in my opinion they add to the atmosphere of this amazing property. Hafod Y Garreg is set in stunning scenery and is remote without being too far off the beaten track!! If you are looking for something different then this is the place for you, beautiful and without the trappings of a modern hotel. Super place to stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandGBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for two nights and loved our short break there. Being able to stay in the oldest house in Wales was a treat in itself, but on top of this, John and Annie were warm and friendly hosts full of helpful advice about local places to visit. Thanks to John mentioning the magnificent Drovers Road to Cardigan Bay, we saw some breathtaking views that would have otherwise been missed. The house is beautifully stylish with eclectic decor and furniture... some pieces were almost as old as the house itself! This is undeniably a very special place to stay and an ideal base from which to explore the region. We will definately be coming back...

Room Tip: We were able to have a quick look at the other room available and felt that both had something diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is definitely different from most B&Bs. The decanter of sherry in the room and a glass of wine before dinner and the offer of tea on arrival and when returning from a day out are all very welcome and hospitable touches. The owners are very sociable and appear to want to talk about the history of their house but then managed to let slip over dinner one evening that they find this extremely trying as well as having to have guests booked in to make a living. The evening meals are of a high standard which are a sharp contrast with the general level of house keeping and the total absence of room service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hafod-Y-Garreg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hafod-Y-Garreg

Property: Hafod-Y-Garreg
Address: Hafod y Garreg, Erwood, Builth Wells Powys LD2 3TQ, Erwood LD2 3TQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Erwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Erwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hafod-Y-Garreg 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hafod y Garreg is the oldest house in Wales, built as a hunting lodge for King Henry 1V. A medieval house snuggled in a hollow surrounded by beautiful countryside. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing