We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rural Cal Torner
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Els Guiamets
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed spending two nights at Cal Torner. The accommodations were very nice--the pictures are spot on.

Although the village where the hotel is located is small and slightly out of the way, it's just 10 mins to Falset, a larger town, and within easy driving distance of many of the wineries in the area. The proprietors, Antonia and Jordi, could not have been more welcoming, and we left feeling like we were their friends. Antonia prepared a great dinner the first night we were there, and also suggested a winery tour that ended up being one of the highlights of our entire week. Overall, this is a wonderful place to spend a couple of nights in the Priorat area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Salomo room, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smorris291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
76
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back from a weekend in the Priorat region of Tarragona, Spain and we spent Saturday night in Cal Torner. We are really pleased that we chose this hotel. It is set in a small village not far from the River Ebre region and only 9 km from Falset. The hotel owners, Jordi and Antonia, are wonderful people who do whatever is necessary to make your stay with them a memorable one. Their knowledge of the region is amazing, restaurants, monuments, roads, wine "cellers". The hotel is small, it only has 7 bedrooms, but this makes you feel like at home away from home. The restored old town house is beautifully decorated and each room has its own touch. We had dinner at the hotel, cooked by Antonia and served by Jordi. Simple Catalan cuisine never tasted so good and the wine list was very good, as to be expected in the Priorat. The bedroom was comfortable and had a few nice touches. The breakfast was great, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, a selection of cold meats and cheeses, toast, a selection of freshly baked local pastries ...
We will definitely return to this hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a base from which to visit the Priorat region.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Located close to the winerys of Priorat (only 1,5 hours drive from Barcelona) you find this beautiful farmhouse, skillfully and tastefully renovated and decorated into a hotel that caters for all your needs! The owners, Antonia and Jordi, treats you like a member of the family and makes sure you have everything you need, inlcuding finding the sights you are interested in! The dinner at Cal Torner is prepared by Antonia herself and you will enjoy a really well cooked rustic Spanish meal! My husband I have travelled a lot - and this is for sure one of our best hotel experiences!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hosts, Antonia and Jordi, were friendly and welcoming during our four night stay.
The room was comfortable, with a superb bed.
The whole hotel is very stylish, however the downside is that there is nowhere really to relax of an evening without feeling that you are intruding. This would probably be quite different in busy summer months with the extra facilities of the terrace outside.
The town is very small and there is nowhere else to eat of an evening.
The village is situated in beautiful sceanery, we particularly enjoyed the almond blossom which was out all over the region. Priorat is a very interesting area, with vinyards, olive and almond groves, and the people are super friendly wherever you go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bovidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Cal Torner is a delightful small hotel in a town of 320 souls in the rustic and beautiful wine area called the Priorat (try a visit to Mas de Masos and Clos Mogador). Antonia - who speaks excellent English - and Jordi left the hustle and bustle of Barcelona behind to renovate a 15th century grand stone house in the center of the village. They did it beautifully and with great taste, including the magnificent custom-made ironwork by the young artisan blacksmith from the Pyrenees, Pep Hubach. The rooms are lovely and the owners put a lot of thought into what travelers need during their stay (although the shower is so sophisticated that I had a hard time getting it to work!). Antonia is also a wonderful cook. We felt very much at home and recommend Cal Torner most highly.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tracymetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salou, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Myself and my son spent a memorable night at Cal Torner. From the moment we arrived untill we left Antonia and Jordi were fantastic. You are welcomed into their hotel an immediatly made to feel at home. Our room was spotless and very tastefully decorated with a modern bathroom and little things like a bathrobe and slippers and the quality of the bedlinin and pillows just add to the touch of luxary. Downstairs there is a lovely courtyard to have a predinner drink and dinner is served in the gorgeous dinning/ sitting room. Dinner is a homemade tasty meal made by Antonia. We finished off the evening watching Spain win the football with our hosts. We will definatly return to this hotel and I would reccommend it to anyone. Thank you Jordi and Antonai for a fantasic night!

Room Tip: Although the hotel doesnt have its own pool ask at reception for tickets to the village pool which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Do you want to stay at a hotel and feel at home at the same time? At Cal Torner you will find it. Antonia and Jordi will give you a warm welcome and do whatever it needs for you to feel comfortable.
The hotel is a jewel. From the outside you wouldn't know it is a hotel. The restrained elegance of the rooms will let you relax and feel at peace. We certainly will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hihellomorning_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Els Guiamets
6.5 mi away
Cal Llop
Cal Llop
#1 of 2 in Gratallops
137 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Hostal Sport
Hotel Hostal Sport
#1 of 1 in Falset
220 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Mas Mariassa
Hotel Mas Mariassa
#1 of 1 in Pratdip
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Figuerola Resort and Spa
Figuerola Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Vandellos
173 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resor...
#1 of 2 in Montbrio del Camp
723 reviews
23.2 mi away
Parador de Tortosa
Parador de Tortosa
#1 of 6 in Tortosa
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Cal Torner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Cal Torner

Property: Hotel Rural Cal Torner
Address: Raval 4 | Els Guiamets, 43777 Els Guiamets, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Els Guiamets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Els Guiamets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural Cal Torner 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cal Torner is a country house dating from the beginning of the XXth century, restored with love and good taste to offer our guests every possible comfort.The ironwork, stone, glass and wood envelope you in a peaceful atmosphere where you will find harmony and new sensations with the subtle fragrance of lavendar.Each of the 7 rooms is decorated with its own taste and charm alluding to the form, style and size of a bottle of wine, with the intention of satisfying the needs and experience that each occasion merits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rural Cal Torner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing