We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breath taking views ”

La Grotte des Demoiselles
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Breath taking views ”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

If you are south of France near Montpellier you have to visit that place .
To be honest I didn't expect such nature wonder !!!! One of the most beautiful place I have ever seen !!!! Wow !

Helpful?
3 Thank mark7557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    139
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Just stunning!! Take a jacket because it's 14 degres only.
You will not be disappointed. Free carpark.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 182tara04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must if you're in the area”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a great afternoon at this cave. Easy drive up from Montpellier with some lovely villages to stop at on the way (Les Matelles, Saint Martin de Londres). The cave is only accesible on a guided tour. The tour starts with a short trip up on a funicular. The caves are simply spectacular and the tour guide did a fantastic job bringing the topic to life. We managed the tour quite comfortably with our two boys (4 and nearly 2) but there is quite a lot of walking and steps. The tour took around an hour and a quarter.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Alastair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning cave”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice drive from Montpellier and can be combined with lunch at Ganges. The caves are stunning, 60m in heigh,t if I recall it right. The tour is guided with French guide and pathway is quite ok to walk on. We have 3 year old with us and it was ok - you do need to hold their hand.

Compared to caves that I ve visited in Libanon & Australia, this was the one I liked the most.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marjaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“magical cave system”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The adventure begins with a journey inside the mountain ascending in the open funicular before setting off with the guide through narrow passages, up and down stairs and, eventually into the vast cathedral cave. It was hard to grasp the scale of this amazing chamber we felt like insects! Really enjoyable visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotte des Demoiselles also viewed

Saint-Maurice-Navacelles, Herault
Saint-Jean-de-Fos, Herault
 

Been to La Grotte des Demoiselles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing