We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel though well located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence U Libecciu
Reviewed September 26, 2011

You better like bread if you are in this hotel. Breakfast is sweet cereal, bread, jam, honey, nutella and sweet pastries with little fruit salad and juice.
Bread is served at all times with every meal and without any butter/oil/balsamic.

As the reviews say the hotel is well placed and does have good facilities. The Corsican staff are terrible, the french staff better though marginal and all others are nice. there was a very definite anti english feel even on the first night. when sitting to a nice meal of duck the first waitress snapped her fingers for another waitress and snapped "Angli" to her the distain in her voice was immeasurable. Her attitude remain throughout the holiday.

Thomson were very cheeky - only 4 rooms are thomson - they have now pulled out completely of Corsica.

Entertainment is purely aimed at French speaking. Even if you try to speak fench they look at you dumb. Locals come into the pool at 4 ish though this was not a problem as it was empty on the whole all the time.

this was part of the problem - there was little atmosphere during the day though this did allow me to sleep continuously for the first few days.

Driving on Corsican roads is great. if you can drive fast in London then you are at home. Great winding roads with tight turns are 30 yards. trying to keep up with locals is a full concentration activity. they love to overtake at every opportunity. must be all the bread in the diet.

Very long queue at the airport for Europcar.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Residence U Libecciu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

This hotel is set in the most beautiful spot looking over the Bay andtucked away from it all. The room we stayed in (381) had a wonderful view out to the sea and was deliightful. Although very clean and having a spacious bathroom with bath and shower, there are no real extras such as tea and coffee and you need to bring your own pool towels or hire them from the hotel at 5 Euros a week.
The pool is spotless and warm although it is dominated by children in the afternoon. This can be a bit rowdy but all in good fun. Also, there are not enough parasols for the sunbeds so you have to bag one earlyish. We had no trouble with this though!
We stayed on a demi pension basis. The breakfast was plentiful and of good quality but nothing exciting. The evening meal was a fixed menu although you can have an alternative if you do not like this. As a vegetarian I found the evening meal a challenge but the staff tried to accommodate my food needs! They were all very helpful, polite and efficient.
Corsica is very expensive an the fixed menu was relatively good value at 22 Euros a 3 course meal.
If you want to go anywhere you will need a car as it too far to walk to the village in the heat. We visited the beautiful Bonifacio, Col de Baverra, Santene and Zonza. It takes ages to travel any distance but the views are spectacular.
A great place to stay; unspoilt and still full of charm in the area.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony then book very early as there are only 3 out of the 80 rooms. Our room had a s...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

After a very early flight with Thomson, what a pleasure it was to drive on uncrowded roads to the lovely little village of Pianottoli to stock up with food for lunch in the Spar supermarket, bread and pastries from the boulangerie, and a Michelin map of Corsica from the newagent; Europcar didn't supply us with any map.

The hotel is situated in a lovely spot with a clean sandy beach. We found our own small beautiful sandy cove just a short distance away along the road running past the hotel, although both the sea and pool are still cold in May. We visited Campomoro, Rondinara, and Palombaggia beaches and we didn't notice any hotel in such a good position as the Hotel U Libecciu.

We loved our room with the large balcony and the fact that our bedroom was upstairs, away from the bedroom downstairs. From the upstairs bedroom we could see the Caldarello tower and downstairs we looked out over the restaurant, pool and sea. I particularly loved our pretty bathroom as can be seen from the photograph.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the dining room was excellent Breakfasts were what one would expect in a French hotel. The baguettes were always fresh and the croissants wre particularly yummy. As there were very few English reviews on TripAdviser I decided to read all them before we left. Our experience had no similarities to the negative remarks although I appreciate that things could be a little different in the height of the summer. I would have thought it only sensible to do some research of the hotel's exact location before booking by either looking on google map or indeed reading TripAdviser to see that the hotel is situated not directly facing the open sea but that the open sea is only a very short distance away. In fact we thought the beaches nearby were in many ways much nicer than the well known beaches which were sometimes down rather badly surfaced roads and, in our opinion, were not so attractive.

The dining room will be the same at any time of year so, as can be seen from the photograph, it doesn't in any way look like a 'canteen' and I can assure anyone reading this that the food is delicious and in no way was like 'hospital food'. A particular mention should go to Beatrice who was so lovely. We were very lucky to have gorgeous weather for the whole week so that we could sit outside for our breakfasts.

On one of our first evenings my son and I went to listen to two guitarists who were brilliant. I could have listened to them all night!

Thank you Hotel U Libecciu for a wonderful week and perfect room and to Peter, our Thomson rep who was also excellent. I am just sad that Thomson is pulling out of Corsica after this year.

Room Tip: Use some initiative!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amazingfuntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Pros: location, architecture, staff, rooms, food, bar, pool
Minus: beach
Located just next to the sea and has its ?own? sandy beach, nice pool between the hotel and the beach. Only downside is that it is in the deepest end of a bay and the sea is marred by silt and vegetation so not really what I prefer for swimming.
On the other hand, on the beach is rental of watersport equipment and also a divecenter (quasi independent, Pianottoli Diving) organising nice dives out in the "open sea".

BTW the location on the TripAdvisor web is faulty, it lies here: 41.476239,9.068012

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HonzaCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed at this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor and weren't disappointed. We were fortunate enough to be given a room on the top floor with a huge balcony overlooking the sea. There are only 3 rooms with balconies so it would be worth asking for one when booking although we were just lucky enough to get one even though we booked late.
The maids cleaned the room to a very high standard every day which we were very impressed with.
As mentioned in other reviews the food included in the half board option is a set 3 course meal each night although you can ask for something different if you like. We found all the food to be really nice and enjoyed trying something different each night.
It definately helps to be able to speak a little french as most of the staff don't speak english although a couple do.
If you don't speak french then there is no entertainment for the evening but by the time you've eaten dinner and had a couple of drinks it's pretty late anyway.
You definately need a car and the island really is beautiful. Corsica is un spoilt and we didn't see any holiday resort towns like on most med islands. A drive into the mountains is definately advised and the beaches are lovely.
Although the hotel beach is not great there is a really nice one only about 7 minutes drive down the lane from the hotel.
Overall we had one of the best holidays we've ever had and would definately recommend the hotel and Corsica to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday with beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Booked this hotel through Thomsons, which actually turned out to be via 'simply corsica' that they had just bought out. Arrived at the Hotel and was given a room on the 1st floor above the bar over looking the terrace and the sea, the staff spoke very little english and our french was absolutely awful, but the staff were very patient and helpful and were good humoured over our totally lack of understanding each other at times.
The restaurant is very nice and most evening we sat outside on the terrace to eat our meals, the only problem is there is only one choice per day and if you dont like fish (which is served every other day) you can find it frustrating, however after a couple of days we got a waitress who could speak basic english and we found that the staff can provide an alternative to what is on offer for the evening meal. The food was delicious, although the portions were small and a big hungry bloke may find himself munching on a lot of bread!
Breakfast was disapointing though, just bread and crossaints, everything was sweet and it got a bit boring after 2 weeks, a bit of ham or cheese would have been nice, obviously the french like a good sugar rush in the morning!
A previous review stated there were walks along the beach, maybe the sea level was higher when we where there as the beach is small and narrow and you'd have to go clambering over rocks to get any distance, also its not really on the sea, more of a river estuary and the water is very slimey and not fit for swimming in. However the pool is a good size and was very quiet.
Luckily a car was included in the holiday otherwise the hotel is very isolated, just a small marina next door and two bars within easy walking distance down the country lane.
The island of Corsica is a fantastic place, unspoilt, beautiful countryside and i would recommend anyone to get a car and explore, the National Park in the mountains is not too be missed, also there are some fantastic beaches nearby, with amazing blue seas, the best beach is the Rhondenarra beach, which is reached by a tortuous mountain road, but is well worth it when you get there.
Overall this has been one of the best holidays I have been on and the Hotel was fantastic and the staff were some of the friendliest we have met. I'm very tempted to return again!
Also I must mention the cleanliness, the maids were amazing, they kept tidying our mess up everyday and the room was spotless.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scrapyardnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Spent two weeks at Hotel U Libecciu end of My & beginning June. First impressions as we pulled up in the taxi were mixed. Very few people around in the hotel. Room we were given not good at all, looked out onto part car park part forest. Not quite what I expected, however we asked at reception if the hotel was full with the possibility of another room. With no problem at all we were given a beautiful room overlooking the amenities, pools & jaccuzzi with a large balcony. The setting is idyllic right on the beach, with the most amazing walks along the beach, shallow waters. One outcrop of rocks led to another with isolated bays for just miles! Definately not for those wanting a mad night life or even many local bars or restaraunts. We found three within walking distance. Half board took us aback a little, there was no choice on the menu, so if you really did not like the dish of choice it could have been difficult. However the standard of these dishes were brilliant! Breakfast was continental, again with limited choice, I have to say I longed for a good fry up after a few days! Only another couple of English couples the whole time we were there but that was not an issue for us we met some fabulous French and Italian holidaymakers who flock to the island. You need a car to get about, roads are safe if narrow in the mountains. Unspoilt everywhere we travelled, lakes, rivers, forests. We saw wild boars, wild goats, tortoise (maybe it was a turtle!). We have decided we will definately go back maybe to the other end of the island to compare. We reckon it could take three trips. Bottom, middle & top! Thank you to all the staff at U Libecciu, they were excellent & so appreciative our attempts at French! We have very fond memories of all the staff from management to domestic they were excellent!

Stayed: May 2008
4  Thank lythamwindmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pianottoli-Caldarello
7.1 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#5 of 20 in Bonifacio
468 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#4 of 20 in Bonifacio
597 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Macchie e Fiori
Hotel Macchie e Fiori
#2 of 2 in Pianottoli-Caldarello
27 reviews
31.9 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
7.1 mi away
Hotel E Tre Stelle
Hotel E Tre Stelle
#6 of 20 in Bonifacio
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence U Libecciu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence U Libecciu

Address: Route du port, 20131 Pianottoli-Caldarello, Corsica, France (Formerly Résidence Maeva Hôtel U Libecciu)
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Pianottoli-Caldarello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pianottoli-Caldarello
Price Range: $149 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence U Libecciu 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence U Libecciu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence U Libecciu Corsica/Pianottoli-Caldarello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing