We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my worst ever hotel experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centauria Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Centauria Lake Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embilipitiya
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“my worst ever hotel experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Don't get me wrong - I wasn't expecting anything amazing. But even with low expectations I was very very disappointed.

the room was FILTHY. dead flies and bugs all down the side of the bed. cockroaches, lizards and misc insects in the room. a dark red stain on the bed (probably blood).

the shower looked like it was from an Eastern European prison.

everything about the room was awful except the view which was lovely.

it was clear that there was no care or love for the property from the management

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    46
    52
    27
    10
See reviews for
18
73
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Only stayed here one night en route to safari.

Very quaint and cheerful - The staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are huge, albeit very outdated, the only downside is they smell really badly of damp. Bathroom very outdated but again huge - shower huge.

Lovely balcony with soft seating.

Stayed on a full board basis, and dinner was excellent (better than other 4* hotels in SL), can't comment on breakfast as we had a very early start, so they supplied a lovely packed lunch.

Very small bar area and very quaint but old fashioned lounge area off reception and dining area reminded me of a school hall !

Very clean and tidy.

Overall I was impressed with our stay.

Please note towels are extremely tatty and worn (take your own)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_well_travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here as it was the closest place to the Uda Walawe National Park (however, I did note that a new larger hotel has recently opened nearby - Safari Hotel?). I found the hotel facilities to be extremely out of date, furniture, towels and bedding tatty and the room unpleasant. My bath had hairs in it, and everything in the room just felt sticky. The food in the restaurant was pretty poor too - but very cheap.
On a more positive side, I did see a fruitbat about 1 metre from my balcony clinging to a mango on the tree.
Oh, and free Wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elephant_Biscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Embilipitiya hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I will focus on my bad experience than give a full review, as I agree with much that has been said by others.
On arrival, wet and filthy after a long cycle ride in the rain, it was clear that the front desk staff spoke little or no English. Now I would not have a problem with this if this was a local hotel, but they market for an international clientele.
My problems began when I turned on the shower and discovered no hot water. This happens. Was forced to have a cold shower as I couldn't wait (filthy!).
Mentioned it on the way past the reception, and got a response that indicated they didn't believe me. They sent someone over, who came back with three more people (!). Action was being taken.
Next morning, I tried it again. Cold water for a few seconds, followed by thick brown sludge under high pressure (I have only seen this happen on Sitcoms) for about a minute. Then a mixture of brown sludge and billowing hot steam. Exreemely dangerous.
Bumped into the manager in the lobby, and mentioned this, and that I wasn't expecting someone to look at it till after I checked out. He acknowledged the problem with a grunt and walked away. Not empathy, so apology. Another of our party had the same experience with him the previous day (also over hot water). The man is very rude.
Dinner was bland, but the service was also poor - losing track of who wanted what and bringing out the same thing twice. Breakfast OK, but took an hour to get out for a table off 4.
Not recommended at the moment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twoshirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Only stopped one night as part of tour so don't know individual price, value for money. But located on nearby lake whith great views as the birds flock in at sunset. Rooms excellent, even had a bath (though tv basic, though they plan to upgrade), Restaurant very good, recommend the fish and chips!

Room Tip: Get one with balcony view of lake. Apparently there are villas available as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
171 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

A large room, with a balcony overlooking the river through the trees, heavy traditional furniture, OK bathroom. All clean and presentable. A bit dark and gloomy for my taste, but perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our tour. The room was adequate with a large en suite bathroom and they did provide tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Not as nice as some of the hotels on our trip but not as bad as others! It was ok. Food was average. Staff were helpful and friendly. So, not a bad place to say at all but it wouldn't be my first choice for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackcatsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embilipitiya
7.6 mi away
Green View Safari Resort
Green View Safari Resort
#2 of 3 in Udawalawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pavana Resort
Pavana Resort
#1 of 9 in Embilipitiya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eliyanth Udawalawa Hotel
Eliyanth Udawalawa Hotel
#1 of 3 in Udawalawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kalu's Hideaway
Kalu's Hideaway
#3 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centauria Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centauria Lake Resort

Property: Centauria Lake Resort
Address: | New Town, Embilipitiya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Embilipitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embilipitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Centauria Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Centauria Tourist

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing