We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay before safari”
Review of Pavana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pavana Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Embilipitiya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
normandy, france
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay before safari”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We were here for one night and prior to our arrival we were given tons of information via email about the hotel and safari. Which made all arrangements perfect. 10/10 for emails.

Upon arrival everything was ready and we went on the evening safari and it was wonderful. We saw more than 25 elephants some were very close to our jeep, we could almost touch them. Jeep was comfortable and guide and the driver were also very experienced.

Over all the hotel was small but meet your needs well.

Perhaps the best thing is that it's located next to the bus station so travelling is very easy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouceLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Louce, Thank you for your lovely review and its very nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I’m responding to another review at the same time who did not enjoy the town. In complete contrast you have really enjoyed the location and the easy access to transport and other facilities being in the middle of the town. Thank you for your comments about safari. Helping you via emails is the simplest thing we can do. We are happy to help anytime.

We wish that you will visit our beautiful country once again and hopefully stay with us again. We wish that you’d do a longer safari and may be visit Sinharaja Rain Forest also on the same visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    80
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
118
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

To say the good things first: The garden with pool is a nice place to relax in the afternoon. We had a fantastic tour of the Udawalawe national park. We have seen beautiful and new rooms in the building.

Unfortunately, we had bad luck with our stay. We got a room that was quite worn (dirty walls and light switches, ugly mosquito net). We booked a day trip to Sinharaja forest and didn't get a good briefing or tour organisation (in fact, the accomodation only books the driver, not the guide - which we learned too late). So after a nice, but very short tour the guide tried to charge us an exaggerated price and got very upset when we claimed that the correct price would be much lower. The driver didn't help us and the owner of Pavana resort refused any responsability.)

Things were complicated by the fact that the staff speaks very poor English.

Be sure to have dinner in Sarathchandra Restaurant just 200 metres down the main road.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltensprinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Sebastian, Thank you for your 7 months late review. You have stayed with us in early Jan 2014 and after conversation with you on the phone and subsequent emails we exchanged, you will be very surprised to notice that we have taken care of all what was highlighted. We are a small hotel and sometimes it’s not easy correct some finer things you suggest, but we always listen to our clients and more importantly we care.

As for the details about the room “dirty walls and light switches, ugly mosquito net”, we have heard you very loud that day and we took measures to correct them. Any visitor who is visiting now will see that we have painted “gloss paint” around the switches. We repaint the hotel every year, but our hotel is highly occupied so after few months walls around the light switches get dirty. We wish to thank you for the details.

Having said that at a price tag of $25 for a Double BB room, any other similar hotel would find it difficult to match the attention to detail you are looking for. We listen to our guests and we do care. Recently another guest complained saying that we don’t have reading lights (who stayed in the same room as you did). As much as we wish that we could fulfill all these needs, at the end of the day we are a humble small hotel what charge very little money for the accommodation. We are no match for these kind of details. These standards are mostly met in 4 to 5 star hotels.

We also have a dedicated English speaking manager at the premises and you can see in all other reviews for all other guests cleanliness and English has not been an issue, which in itself suggest that we have taken action.

We arrange transport to the Sinharaja rain forest and being a small hotel we do not have ‘usually very expensive’ naturalists who is sponsored by big hotels. We give information to the guests about what and what is covered. But understandably there were some misunderstandings with regard to your visit to Sinharaja. We still feel that there is very little we can do if a guide inside the rain forest try to charge you more. We have a booklet that indicates how much guests should pay. This is done specifically to make sure that you are not being robbed by others. Also we felt being let down to see the comment “the owner of Pavana resort refused any responsibility”. We spoke with you on your return, even though it’s not our fault we even reduced the so called ‘tuk-tuk’ charges you had spent (which too was notified is not covered) and I called the Rain Forest office and informed of this situation. Because that was the only thing we could do. And we kept you informed you of the actions we took. We do understand that will not reverse your experience but we are very sorry about it. We have changed the wording in our booklet after your departure so that no future miscommunication happen.

We do hope that you will visit Sri Lanka and visit us once again and see for yourself that we take guest comments very seriously. We would love to host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This small hotel has everything you need to cover Uda Walawe National Park. Which was the highlight of our trip. We decided to go for UW park along with much hyped Yala national park based on a friends advice and it turned out to be gold. Incredible wild life and safari. It was wonderful half day spent inside the park and it was nice to see the ETH too. If you are visiting Uda Walawe, I highly recommend that you visit ETH and don’t forget to watch the documentary shown by the staff at Pavana. Those make your visit complete. Hotel is small and extremely adequate for the price you pay. Nice staff who attend to all your needs despite their difficulties in English. Overall it was a wonderful stay. We will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. Its always nice to hear that you had a wonderful time. We always try to upgrade our offering to make your visit complete. Very recently we added video documentaries for guests visiting Uda Walawe park and that have already become a hit. Most guest love to watch the documentary prior to visiting the park and many have personally thanked the staff for this. We are very encouraged by comments like yours.

We hope that you had a wonderful stay here in Sri Lanka and returned back to Dubai. Since you are not so far away from our country, we hope that you will visit us once again and perhaps do a full day safari at the national park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Pavana Resort is a perfect place for taking a rest before morning (5:30!) Safari in Uda Walave. Location is great, couple of minutes by walk from the bus station or just tie a one of the many tuk-tuks for 100 rupees. Value for many is very fair, room was clean a quiet. I really enjoyed swimming pool in the garden which helped me relax after the morning safari experience and before another journey. But what makes this place really worth to go is a attitude of the owner/manager, he was very helpful with organising my further itinerary, try to called his contacts in other places and wrote me a letter in Sinhalese as I was travelling to areas were the english is not that common. I'll be happy to come back when I'll be traveling Sri Lanka in a future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Petr, Thank you so much not only for this review on Tripadvisor but also for the other lovely reviews you posted everywhere recommending our hotel. Writing you a small note in Sinhalese was the least thing we could do and its so nice to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommending our small hotel and this is exactly what we offer to our guests. Clean comfortable accommodation for a reasonable price and more than anything the best safari experience. As mentioned we hope that you will come back to our country once again and stay with us yet again to experience Sinharaja Rain Forest as well one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Located in Embilipitiya town, not far from the bus station, this nice place with a pool, is a good option on the way to NP. They offer a safari ride with pickup from the place, they even prepared us a great take-away breakfast at 5:00 in the morning! The room we got was basic nonAC, small bathroom, but ok. The only thing that bothered us was that the walls are very thin, so we heard the coughing and loud skype-talking of our neighbout all night.
The receptionist and the staff were amazing, they answered a ton of questions via email prior of our arrival.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lukc567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Luka, Thank you so much not only for your lovely review but also for the books that you had gifted us for the library. It’s so nice to hear that you had a wonderful stay and a safari. Thank you for your comments about take away breakfast, we used to get lot of blame for our previous packed breakfast but since lately when we introduced the new packed breakfast and all we receive now is praise.

As for the next door noise, well you are just 1 of 3 guests who complained, even our staff informed me that the lady next door was quite loud and they could hear her from down stairs. I can only imagine how noisy it was to your room which was just next to you. I do not discount the fact that our walls are not 100% sound proof, but this lady was particularly noisy and sadly this was the only such incident we faced in our business so far. We are glad that you took it constructively. Any other guest would have written very negatively about it.

Answering all your mails and helping you with our country details is the very least we can do to our guests. And You are most welcome. We sincerely hope that you had a wonderful time here in Sri Lanka and returned back home safely. We do hope that you will visit our beautiful country once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

When we first got to Pavana we were hot and tired of the bus and just wanted a room. However the room we got was small and pokey and we asked for another. Lalith, the manager happily showed us a larger and better room for the same price and we were very comfortable for two nights. Safari (through the hotel)was good but Udawalawe is way overpriced for what you get. But that is because we are foreigners who get charged about 10 times the local rate. Happy with hotel though and would recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Margeret, Thank you for your lovely review, its great to hear that you had enjoyed the park but was concerned about the prices they charge. Yes prices from locals Vs foreigners are very different. But to be fair by the authorities prices in Sri Lankan parks are still very low compared to similar parks elsewhere in Asia and Africa. They charge $15 + taxes and Levy which comes to about Rs. 2900 per person. Most guests are comfortable with this price while some feel its overpriced.

Moreover we are happy to hear that you really enjoyed our stay with us and enjoyed the facilities. As you may have seen we are a small hotel charging small money trying to provide quality service to our customers. With guest reviews like yours we are encouraged more and more to increase our facilities and help guests enjoy their stay more.

We hope that you really enjoyed our country and hopefully visit us again so that you can visit the Sinharaja Rain Forest as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, room was poorly ventilated (so smelt) and the floor was dusty and dirty as was the furniture, the floor was so bad you had to walk round with your shoes on or your feet would be filthy, there were also a lot of ants in the room. The pool area also felt pretty unclean. When we arrived we saw what seemed to be the leftovers from breakfast sat out in the kitchen some of it uncovered and some barely covered and with flies around it, so this made us very wary about eating anything from here, so we didn't! I felt bad about throwing the packed breakfast away but that's what we did as I really didn't want to risk eating anything they had prepared. As others have said the safari was very good but I'm not reviewing that here. I really wouldn't recommend this place but know there aren't many options in town.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank littledsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your 10 months late review. As mentioned you had stayed with us during August 2013 where we were constructing our new luxury rooms. During this time there were few lapses and we are very sorry about it. Since then we received 16 excellent reviews. Guests simply loving our new refurbished rooms, bikes, library, sunbeds and others.

As you can see in all other recent reviews we have already taken your feedback into account and if you visit our hotel again you will be surprised that the rooms that you had stayed are changed a lot. We tiled the floors, we introduced new curtains so that lots of sunlight come into the room (earlier ones were bit dark) and we have changed the bed setting and the nets. Considering the $25 we charge you, any other hotel in our category would find it difficult does these changes, but as you can see we value your feedback and more importantly we care.

Reading your review was not easy. It’s as if everything we offer was wrong. Even though it was a phase of construction, we separated construction from guest rooms and probably it was not so bad. But we respect your view and opinion. More importantly we have already addressed them.

We are sorry again for these incidents happened 10 months ago. Now we are much different and place where everyone enjoy. We do hope that one day you visit us again and see that we have listen to your comments and improved every one of them. We hope that this stay did not ruin your stay here in Sri Lanka and you enjoyed our beautiful country a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embilipitiya
0.8 mi away
Centauria Lake Resort
Centauria Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Embilipitiya
164 reviews
7.0 mi away
Green View Safari Resort
Green View Safari Resort
#1 of 3 in Udawalawa
18 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Nature House Udawalawa
Nature House Udawalawa
#1 of 20 in Udawalawa
273 reviews
6.4 mi away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 23 in Uda Walawe National Park
107 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kottawatta Village
Kottawatta Village
#1 of 1 in Colombage-ara
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavana Resort

Property: Pavana Resort
Address: Old Camp Rd, Embilipitiya 70200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Embilipitiya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Embilipitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pavana Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a tranquil location in the heart of the Embilipitiya town lies Pavana Resort. Pavana Resort is a perfect place if you are planning to have a vacation packed with exciting site seeing around the area such as safaris in Uda Walawe or Bundala national park, exploring the rubies & emeralds of Ratnapura or day at the beach in Tangalle or to have a break in your pilgrimage to Katharagama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Pavana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing