We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for safaris ...with a great little pool!”
Review of Pavana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pavana Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Embilipitiya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goring-on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good base for safaris ...with a great little pool!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

For a place which presumably caters almost exclusively to tourists visiting Udawalawe National Park we found it strange that both the staff members spoke virtually no English.

They did however give us a friendly welcome in their own way and gave us use of a mobile phone in case we needed help.

Rooms were clean and well furnished compared with a lot of other places we stayed, with AC and hot water.

The real (virtually unpromoted) gem here though is the swimming pool out the back which is a great asset. We enjoyed relaxing there on the afternoon of our safari. It is not particularly big but looks almost brand new and is very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaminneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for the positive comments. It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It’s nice to hear that you appreciated the condition of our place. We will certainly pass the message about the pool to Wasantha who takes a lot of trouble in keep the pool nice an clean. Seems like his hard work is paying off. Finally about English, Yes, their English is not very good. But we are reachable to you anytime to help you with any details. Luckily as you have mentioned, this has not been a big negative for the most of our guests. We sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Sri Lanka and one day come back to our beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    80
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
118
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

nice little hotel, pool and garden are lovely. The room was a little small, but bed was comfortable and room and bathroom were clean. Lots of thoughtful touches. Although the boys who run the place are a little short of english, you are given a mobile phone to contact the owner who is very helpful. Organised our safari which was great fun, and helped us onto the bus when we left. Breakfast was also brilliant, with enough food to feed a small army.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjones1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest, It was pleasure to hear that you had a nice stay and a safari. I conveyed the message to the staff in the hotel and they said that they were very happy serving you. As for the very rare animal you spotted during your safari is still a record, no one has spotted one in the last 2 weeks of possible 40 safari’s we organized. As always its very nice to hear positive feedback from our guests. Hope you will enjoy the rest of your stay in Sri Lanka and come back once again to our lovely country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This place was a treat to stay in.

Well run ... Although the guys running it have only basic English there is enough signs around to get you by. They organise a safari jeep and driver for you with ease.

Rooms are basic, breakfast is basic but it's close to embilipitiya so easy to get food from the supermarket.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiemegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback and it’s nice to hear that overall you had a good stay with us. We were bit puzzled by the comment about breakfast. We usually get very positive comments about how we serve our breakfast. Ironically we got two mails within the last 2 days asking us to thank the chef for the lovely breakfast from two other guests who stayed with us few days back. Actually the breakfast is homemade. We checked our records to find out whether you have got safari (picnic style) breakfast or sit down breakfast. We’ve had many guests from Australia alone within last 2 weeks so it was not easy to track this. If you can please do let us know via email some details, we would certainly look into it.

We sincerely hope that you had a wonderful stay in Sri Lanka and will visit our country again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Pavana resort is a great place to stay if travelling to nearby uda walawe national park. The resort is very cheap compared with its competitors and can arrange a safari right from the front doors. The resort even offers a pool for a refreshing afternoon swim. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottplume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Sri Lanka as much as you enjoyed time at our hotel. We sincerely hope that you will come back to Sri Lanka and probably stay with us again. We can arrange you a trip to the Sinharajah rain forest next time you visit, together with National park safari which offers you the best of both what Sri Lankan nature and wild life has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a guest house. Nicely done pool and rooms. Staff very helpful, they do not speak English but when you checkin they give you a phone so that you can reach the owners for any details. Excellent for safari in uda walawe and you get a good night sleep for the price you pay. Not a place for someone expecting five star facilities and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julians893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavanaResort, Owner at Pavana Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. This gives us a good opportunity to explain what we offer our guests. As you have correctly mentioned, our goal is to provide clean comfortable accommodation and good facilities at a very reasonable price. We are a small hotel, and we are proud of what we do. We have many happy guests who regularly come back to our hotel, while most travel agents continue to send more guests regularly. We have lovely stories and comments that our guests continue to share with us on email, reviews and guest book. Most of all we have never failed to impress a guest with the amazing Uda Walawe National Park safari experience.

But we must admit that although rare there are some guests arriving at our hotel with the expectation that we are a luxury hotel. We are not, however we make it a point to provide many facilities that no other hotel which operates at this price range, more importantly we maintain our hotel very clean. Even on TripAdvisor we have listed ourselves under "Bed and Breakfast" category and in any other place when they asked to give the star rating we pick "2 star" while most other similar hotels select "3 star" even without having a swimming pool.


We are very happy that you found our hotel very good and hope you would visit us again some day. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embilipitiya
0.8 mi away
Centauria Lake Resort
Centauria Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Embilipitiya
164 reviews
7.0 mi away
Green View Safari Resort
Green View Safari Resort
#1 of 3 in Udawalawa
19 reviews
7.8 mi away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Nature House Udawalawa
Nature House Udawalawa
#1 of 20 in Udawalawa
273 reviews
6.4 mi away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 23 in Uda Walawe National Park
107 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kottawatta Village
Kottawatta Village
#1 of 1 in Colombage-ara
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavana Resort

Property: Pavana Resort
Address: Old Camp Rd, Embilipitiya 70200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Embilipitiya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Embilipitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pavana Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a tranquil location in the heart of the Embilipitiya town lies Pavana Resort. Pavana Resort is a perfect place if you are planning to have a vacation packed with exciting site seeing around the area such as safaris in Uda Walawe or Bundala national park, exploring the rubies & emeralds of Ratnapura or day at the beach in Tangalle or to have a break in your pilgrimage to Katharagama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Pavana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing