We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait and cold chips”
Review of Zac's Place

Zac's Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Currarong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Shoalhavenhttp://www.menufeast.com.au/info/4240/zacs-place/currarong/
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Long wait and cold chips”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have been regular visitors to the holiday town of Currarong for many years. We were quite excited to see the old corner shop has been renovated and made in to a restaurant and thought we could have a few meals there during our week long stay. The building is a simple open plan room with a lovely outlook. We couldn't get a table for lunch as they were booked out so we ordered burgers for the two 16 year olds travelling with us. Two chicken schnitzel burgers ($9@) and a large chips $8.00. We waited 45 minutes and finally the burgers arrived. Unfortunately the burgers were luke warm and very ordinary. The chips were tepid at best. We didn't expect gourmet but when you wait that long you'd like your hot food to at least be hot.
Very disappointing. Won't be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dhama49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    34
    20
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OK food - too bad about the service!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Food is alright but be prepared to wait over an hour for it! Staff couldn't really care less! I guess they have a monopoly so why would they care!!

Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great fish”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We had takeaway fish and chips because the restaurant area is being refurbished. We weren't expecting anything special because we have been disappointed in the past with the quality of the fish and chips in seaside places like Batemans Bay and Merimbula. A standard serving of fish and chips is $10 per person but we were prepared to pay an extra $4 per person for the Blue Eye Cod, a good decision. The fish was the best that I have ever eaten from a takeaway outlet. It was perfectly cooked with a very light crisp batter. The serving portions were very large and more than we needed but we enjoyed eating it all. The large serving of chips was good but nothing to rave over.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Les36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good fish n chips”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

good value fresh fish n chips. Basic cafe setup with excellent service. Cant wait to return after the refurb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simplecanbegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Great seafood!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants you will ever find! Although Zacs is a bit of a way to go...trust me it is worth it! The service is impeccable and the prices are ridiculously cheap! There is fresh seafood that is cooked to perfection. And when i say fresh i mean fresh! There is also an excellent kids menu - honey chicken strips and chips are highly recommended as an adult and child. But keep in mind the portions are huge! It is located around the corner from a picturesque lagoon and beach, with another beach a few minutes walk away.You couldn't ask for a better restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhiannoncosgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zac's Place also viewed

Callala Bay, Shoalhaven
 
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 

Been to Zac's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing