We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sound of Silence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zingela Safaris & River Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Sound of Silence”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My son DJ Milano and I Blond E had the pleasure to entertain at this tranquil stunning camp this past weekend.I strongly advise that you don't use your own 4 x 4 to get to the camp,rather pay for the transfer from Weenen house,you would need some experience to drive through that terrain to avoid damages to your SUV.Mark and Linda were excellent host,ensured our stay was pleasant and even made arrangements to return my equipment i left back.The food is excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.It was quiet an experience to get away from my comfort zone and see life on the other side.

Regards Blond E 0837999731

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
12
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I recently stayed at Zingela and had an incredible time. It is paradise in the middle of the bush. The staff were friendly, the food was delicious and the accommodation was fantastic. Nothing was more liberating than looking out and seeing the magnificent view from where we stayed. The various activities were handled with expert care from professionals, which maximized the amazing experience for me. I highly recommend this lodge to anyone seeking a unique adventure in the African bush

Room Tip: Just request to stay at House On Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It is a wonderful exciting yet peaceful place with excellent food and even better company. I would recommend Zingela without hesitation. Go and experience it.
It is a place where you can go for the adrenalin rush of the river or the quiet of sitting on the bank with a cool drink in your hand. Either way is good for your soul.

Room Tip: Dawsons Creek is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheldeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polzeath, Cornwall, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 days there in March as our son had worked there for a couple of months from Christmas on. He loved it and so did we. Amazing spot after an hours journey on a bumpy track , but so worth it. Lovely staff, so helpful and the food was outstanding. Want to go back and have a big party there, roll on my 50th! Thank you Mark, Linda, Dane and Philippa.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A nephew and his beautiful bride were married over the weekend on the beach on the Tugela River at Zingela. The bride and her entourage arrived on time and by helicopter! Apart from the spectacle we enjoyed wonderful meals and wines and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Also climbed the Pimple and took some great photos while other guests went river rafting. Highly recommended and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent a week at Zingela over the new year period and what an amazing experience it was!!! The hour long 4 x 4 road to get to the resort is a "must do"! The Lodge is beautifully situated on the banks of the Tugela River with drinks and dining all happening more in the open than not. The food (3 meals a day included) was outstanding, we even bought their cookery book so that we can recreate their wonderful food back at home. The rooms and bathroom are truly "open to the elements". Mark and Linda are the most fabulous hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our main guide Jody was just amazing, he introduced our children to river rafting, which they then did EVERY day!!.. Not to mention absailing, paintball and quadbikng. The rest of the staff could not have been more obliging and friendly. All in all there are few places where you are made to feel so at home. We will definitely be going back and taking friends with us to enjoy this unique and special place!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeTowntravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2011

If you are looking for a once in a lifetime experience...look no further!!! This is such a unique and interesting place! I loved the accommodation and the food couldn't have been better! The people are so friendly and makes you feel right at home! And there are so many things to do! I would really recommend this place to anyone looking for something different! Loved it! Will defenitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weenen
17.7 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
286 reviews
17.9 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
22.8 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Dalmore Farm Guest House
Dalmore Farm Guest House
#1 of 13 in Bergville
103 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lilac Lodge
Lilac Lodge
#5 of 8 in Winterton
72 reviews
17.4 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zingela Safaris & River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zingela Safaris & River Camp

Property: Zingela Safaris & River Camp
Address: 3 Bloukrans Street, Weenen, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Weenen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Weenen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zingela Safaris & River Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Zingela Safaris & River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing