We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise on earth”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Montignac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lorena S
1 review
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We spent 5 wonderful days on la Penoterie. Is the perfect place to relax and experience beautiful countryside. Jan and Elly are the most charming couple. Thank you so much for everything we hope to come back soon.

Love,
Lorena, Daniel, Leira and Adam

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Thank you for being our guests.

Jan and Elly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beecham20...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything was excellent”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location is a little out but if you want views and peace and quiet Domaine la Penoterie is the place to go. The owners Elly and Jan could not be more helpful and so very friendly. The gite is well equipped, modern and very cosy. We would thoroughly recommend Domaine la Penoterie

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Thank you for the kind words and for being our guests.

Kind regards,
Jan and Elly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you for being our guest.

Kind regards,
Jan and Elly,
La Penoterie Dordogne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shrutisha...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect picturesque setting with fantastic accomodation”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had one of the best holidays here with friends - great location, great gite with beautiful views and great pool. The owners were amazing and made us a lovely meal on the first night, then made us so welcome throughout. We will be booking again very soon.

HIGHLY recommend!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
Thank you very much for the kind words. It was a pleasure having you here as our guests. We hope to see you again at La Penoterie Dordogne. Jan and Elly .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
91fred
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

You are never exactly sure what you are going to when you book a gite in France, this one was perfect. Jan and Elly were both so friendly and helpful. It all started (in the rain) when we found a wonderful meal waiting for us in the fridge, lemon chicken - very tasty. The buildings and environment had been converted with a real eye for beauty. We shall definitely return.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
Thank you for your kind words.
For us it was a real pleasure having you both here as our guests.
Hope to welcome you again at La Penoterie Dordogne.
Jan and Elly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beauty and comfort in an ideal setting”
Reviewed November 24, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at La Penotorie. We only wish it had been longer! Elly was most kind in providing us with a beautiful meal for our first night, so all we had to do was light the fire and relax! The gite is splendidly set up, and everything that you would possibly need is there for you. I was particularly impressed that Jan an Elly had done so much of the renovation work to La Penotorie themselves - the pointing on the old stone walls, and the work in progress which was a magnificent stone terrace being carefully created by Jan. Walking in the evening, watching the Autumn sunset, was brilliant. We would surely come again, if ever we are fortunate enough to be in this part of France again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amy r
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A beautiful little gite in a lovely location with great views of unspoilt countryside and night skies full of stars!! The hosts Elly and Jan are very welcoming and supportive throughout your stay. They generously shares fruit and nuts from their garden so we had fresh figs and walnuts everyday. The gite is such a cosy place to be that we spent every night cooking in the kitchen and snuggling up by the log fire! Montignac is an easy 5 minute drive away and is a lovely little town with plenty of restaurants and shops. The area is perfect for an outdoor holiday - walking, canoeing and exploring the beautiful countryside, old pretty villages and castles at every turn. We had a totally relaxing week with plenty of fresh air and good sleeps. Can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Dear guests,

Thank you for your kind words.
It was a pleasure for us seeing you enjoying your stay at our property.
Hope to see you again at La Penoterie-Dordogne.

Kind regards Jan and Elly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing