We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of an Hotel with lovely garden, pool, cuisine and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Montignac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed here. There has been some decoration since our last visit, which is good. Isabelle and Vincent Nourrisson know how to operate a good hotel and everything about it is superb. We are fussy, but we could not fault it and this was confirmed by the hotel being full and locals using the excellent restaurant facilities. I have no doubt that we shall return!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidMPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2010

Great hotel in scenic Montignac - only a few kilometres from Lascaux 2 cave paintings (which are wonderful) and there are a couple of stone age "troglodyte" cliff homes within about 15km that are also worth seeing.
Hotel overlooks the town's river and also boasts beautiful garden. Rate included breakfast and we paid extra for excellent dinner in restaurant.
Owners were friendly, spoke excellent English and nothing was too much trouble.
It's a great place to stay in one of the most scenic parts of France, and very reasonably priced.
For Aussies, it's a worthwhile stopover if you've been visiting the Loire Valley and want to head south to the Bordeaux wine country. You can arrive in Montignac mid afternoon, visit both Lascaux 2 and the troglodyte site and it's just a two-hour drive to Bordeaux with a good motorway about 20km from Montignac.
PS: if you're visiting Lascaux, you have to buy tickets in Montignac - they don't sell them at the site. They're available from hotel reception at La Roseraie.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank ZebideeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We cannot fault this well run hotel in the delightful town of Montignac. Isabelle and Vincent Nourrisson are fully committed to ensuring that your stay will be memorable. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the cuisine excellent, superb wine list and the service is faultless. The garden is beautiful, secluded and quiet. We just wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely return. By the way, one of the few hotels in France that can make a decent cup of tea!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidMPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

The stay begins with the most wonderful welcome, every attention to detail and the hotel owners could not have done enough to help us enjoy both the hotel and this wonderful part of France. Food excellent and the demi -pension rate is excellent value. The rose gardens and pool area are beautiful and tranquil. We felt the restaurant and hotel offered 5 star standards and we will return for another visit when we again travel through France.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerinfrancetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

A very quaint and historic former private home set almost directly on the riverbank. We stayed only one night here on the 5th of May and felt very welcome. The grounds are exceptional and the room was lovely, though, seemed a bit "tired" and could use a bit of freshening up. Having said that, the peaceful surroundings and sound of the river enabled us to enjoy a solid night's rest. The best croissants in France were served for breakfast, however, the selections in the morning were rather limited but all tasty. We found our hosts to be most hospitable and informative! Bathrooms were updated and modern, spotlessly clean throughout. Overall, a fortunate find after a long day's road travel. As mentioned in an earlier review, unusual to charge for internet access in this day and age and there was no in-room access.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

As I was looking for the hotel La Roseraie phone number to rebook again for 06/09 through the internet, I was shocked to see the awfull comments made by just a few (still too many) about the owners of this lovely place in Montignac (Dordogne). Surely, these people didn't stay in the same place as we did. Both Isabelle and Vincent were the most pleasant human being we could have meet!! Always there to help and made us feel so special through out the 2 weeks we were on holidays. Not only with us, with other guess as well. As mention on the previous post, Mr Vincent recommended few places to have diner within Montignac and around, and was more than happy to do so. I recommended this beautifull establishment to lots of my dear friends. They loved it. keep doing the good job (to Vincent and Isabell), You are a truly an great asset to this beatifull region of france " the dordogne".. we'll see again in June

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worthingWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

My wife and I spent three nights in La Roseraie and found it to be a good, comfortable hotel with large, well-kept rooms. The owner, Isabelle, greeted us in excellent English on our arrival. She knew our names and showed us to our room (carrying one of our two bags). We never saw anyone I could identify as Vincent (who is mentioned unfavorably in other reviews) but Isabelle was friendly and could not have been more helpful. She arranged tickets for us for the English-language tour of the Lascaux II cave the following day, and when I asked where the dry cleaner's was she volunteered to drop my pants off there in the morning so we would not have to get up earlier than necessary. I took her up on the offer and it saved us some trouble. The only problem we had was at dinner the first night. We ate early and service was good until desert when a large group of tourists were being served their main courses. Service broke down completely, and I had to complain to straighten the situation out. Other than that, the dinner was good (we went elsewhere other nights) and the breakfasts were even better, with a variety of fruits, breads, cheeses (have the walnut flavored cheese), ham, and boiled eggs.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Upsilon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montignac
3.4 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Lascaux
Hotel Le Lascaux
#2 of 5 in Montignac
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le P'tit Monde
Le P'tit Monde
#4 of 5 in Montignac
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Moulin de Mitou
Le Moulin de Mitou
#1 of 1 in Auriac-du-Perigord
243 reviews
5.2 mi away
Manoir d'Hautegente
0.2 mi away
Le Relais du Soleil d'Or
Le Relais du Soleil d'Or
#5 of 5 in Montignac
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie La Roseraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie La Roseraie

Address: Place d'Armes | 11, Place d'Armes, 24290, Montignac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Montignac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Montignac
Price Range: $92 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie La Roseraie 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostellerie La Roseraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie La Roseraie Montignac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing