We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place to stay, welcoming, knowledgeable...”
other travelers have booked this property
Beynac Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beynac Castle
loft bedroom - sleeps 2/4 loft bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Beynac Castle
loft bedroom - sleeps 2/4
loft bedroom
green bedroom with balcony
Chateau Commarque
kitchen/dining area
kitchen/dining area
Saint Léon
garden
our cat Tashy
garden
House with wisteria in full flower - street leading up to the Lascaux cave
Thank you to all our guests in 2013!
Montignac - right hand side of the river
Montignac Folklore and Dance Festival - Columbia
Chateau Marzac
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Montignac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
323mark
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay, welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful hostess”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Vera did everything in her power to make our stay a memorable success. We arrived at 1 in the morning to fresh flowers, a fruit plate and baguette waiting for us!
In a week, we didn't come close to seeing a tenth of the wonderful and historic local sights.
The accommodations, with balcony and garden were perfect for our little family.
Merci Vera!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Historic, but modern accommodations
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2015
Merci pour votre visite, vous êtes vraiment une famille formidable! Bonne continuation de vos vacances Mark!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart H
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful base to explore the Dordogne”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Les Glycines is an enchanting rustic property in the heart of Montignac. Nestled halfway along a central but quiet road, it's a mere stone's throw from the centre of the town.

Accommodation is quaint and bursting with character, featuring a shuttered window view from the kitchen overlooking the street, a rear bedroom with balcony overlooking the lovely garden and an upper bedroom with a vaulted timbered ceiling.

The owner Vera provided invaluable insights into the village and the surrounding countryside and had a remarkable knack of appearing as if by magic whenever needed to translate or offer advice!

Local amenities are close at hands as well as some fantastic restaurants overlooking the river and medieval architecture that at the time of our visit was flanked by banks of vibrantly coloured wild flowers.

Whilst a visit to the nearby prehistoric caves at Lascaux are essential as well as a drive to see the magnificent medieval town of Sarlat-la-Canéda, the surrounding countryside never fails to delight with a succession of delightful hamlets and stunning chateaus.

Our visit coincided with the spectacle of the annual Montignac Folklore Festival but this place is somewhere that can be enjoyed at any time of year.

Highly recommended as a base for anyone looking to explore this corner of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and our host
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jules0787...
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The perfect retreat to totally unwind and enjoy a peaceful holiday. The apartment was so welcoming and cosy with a much loved balcony overlooking Madame Wilson's beautiful garden, which was where we took our breakfast every morning. It is perfectly located in the heart of Montignac for a stroll into town for the local restaurants and taking in all it's beautiful architecture. Madame Wilson was the perfect host taking time out to spend an evening with us and imparting some of her local knowledge to help us have a more enjoyable vacation. It is a place I would seriously consider retiring to Thankyou so much madame Wilson.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the rustic feel
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdiegskfg...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accomodation!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in this lovely accomodation with our 3 children, set in the centre of Montignac a beautiful town full of friendly people, restraunts, cafe's, there a some lakes close by to go for a swim which keep the children happy, Vera who owned the accomodation was very helpful and ensured we had a lovely time,the accomodation was very spacious and full of rustic charm, we would definatly recomend, many thanks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelVC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful rustic French apartment in an unbeatable location.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and my two children aged 7 and 9 stayed for a week at the end of July this year. Our visit coincided with Montignac's world music festival so the whole town was buzzing and offered free and ticketed entertainment on the street over many nights.

The apartment is very centrally located so perfect for visiting the beautiful town and the tourist office is on the next street. The apartment itself is very well kitted out with both original French furniture and modern kitchen appliances (a kettle for us Brits!) making our stay very easy and comfortable. The building is I think around 200 years old and the apartment sits above what used to be the stable but is now a workshop/utility room, so the stairs are narrow and creaky but we found this added to the rustic charm of the apartment.

The owner Vera Wilson could not have been more helpful. Despite living next door she left us alone to enjoy our holiday but it seemed that she would magically appear whenever we wanted some information or advice! She speaks fluent English which was very handy. She let me use her brand new washing machine, we had our own part of the garden to ourselves which included use of the washing line - very useful after a weeks camping! Her apartment also has quite a few very interesting English books about the area and in particular the pre-historical sites. Our girls shared the room on the first floor which had its own balcony and we had the large room upstairs. It was very hot when we were there and Vera bought us a fan to help keep us cool.

Parking is a little walk away from the apartment, about 5 minutes but you can unload and pick up luggage briefly right outside.

If we were to visit Montignac again we would definitely try and stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: charm and location
Liked least: creaky double bed but I didn't mind it too much.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to town; I could walk everywhere!
Liked least: Ummmm...nothing to complain about!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, any time again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 9, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome and advice from owner
Liked least: shared bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2012
It was a pleasure to have such wonderful guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing