We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Ohope B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“should have stayed longer”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Moanarua is a lovely character cottage owned by a friendly Maori couple and only a 100 metres walk to beach. Taroi and Miria are a very hospitable couple and we enjoyed very much joining them for a drink plus nibbles on their balcony and leaning their views from the Maori perspective.
After this we walked to Ohope Beach where Miria lent me her boogie board to catch a few waves and Taroi easily obtained some "mussels" like Pippies from the sand below the surf. Our only regret is we didn't stay longer to avail ourselves of the options such as fishing with Taroi or using kayaks or going on Sunset Cruise. Will stay longer next time.
Richard H.
Australia

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardandSuzie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We would loved to have had these folks stay longer too. It is always good for us when folk stay at least two days.so we can get to know each other better and give them the opportunity to discover all the great things available in our region
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
48
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Last minute trip over to the south cape, looked on trip advisor found this wonderful bed and breakfast and booked it. Cute and private with a wonderful greeting and then snacks and wine and a dip in the hot tub before bed. The beach here is beautiful and the area is safe and enjoyable. Could have stayed longer. Really interesting learning how the home was transformed into a bed and breakfast. Loved learning about the Maori culture,Would stay here again. They even went out of their way to accommodate my husbands food allergies.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaMJ6643EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Most enjoyable and interesting to meet these folk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We initially booked the cottage because it was listed as "dog friendly"' but it turned out to be extremely people friendly as well. Miria and Taroi are the hosts with the most! We really felt genuinely welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Great homemade food, comfortable bed, cultural knowledge and information, cozy cottage, beach across the street for dog runs, sunrise walks and swims...PERFECT! We cancelled another reservation to stay longer. Will definately be returning.
Josie, Gregg and Zeus

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We had a wonderful time with these folk and with their gorgeous dog, Good times socialising and having fun in the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

What a treat to stay in the cottage, the owners are just fabulous so welcoming and caring. I loved the home made treats like freshly made muesli yogurt and stewed rhubarb was divine.
The spa was a treat and the location is amazing. I cant wait to go back again if you want to be pampered and relax then look no further than Moanarua cottage.

Room Tip: Cottage was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
A lovely young couple with lots of stories to share. A most enjoyable time with them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Ahhh. My arrival met with a few obstacles! I've almost completed my 6 week, 1300 mile push bike adventure around the North Island! What a joy it was for me to arrive at my private bach (pronounced "batch" in USA lingo!) The hot tub and hors d'oeurves were divine. My hosts were attentive, yet discreet. A winning combo while traveling, I think. Complete bliss and privacy, yet close to everything needed. A night of rest before heading onward around the East Cape! Stay here! It's paradise!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We really enjoyed meeting an intrepid traveller - admired her adventurous spirit and shared some wonderful stories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuakau
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at the cottage in the beautiful garden of Miria and Taroi as I needed to take some time out from my hectic schedule. This was the perfect place to do this. The cottage was immaculate, the bed very comfortable, the garden picturesque and the hosts so hospitable. What more could I have asked for...? I especially enjoyed our conversations, the wonderful food and a definite highlight was when I decided to take the boat cruise with Miria and Taroi. To be noted is the knowledge of the local area and Maori culture which this couple has and their willingness to share this. Also their interest in me, my experiences and plans. One more thing I must add was their beautiful relaxing spa pool. A must recommend for all of the above.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Always wonderful to have the feed back from our visitors!
We do love hearing all their interesting stories and sharing our own with them too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed with Miria and Taroi this past week and had a wonderful experience! They were exceptionally kind, welcoming, and wonderful hosts! We had very interesting conversations related to their background and Maori culture. Highly recommended! Breakfast and afternoon tea and homemade snacks were wonderful! If possible, stay in the cottage as it's private and self contained. We stayed in their home, it was very clean. The private toilet is across the hall and the shower is shared with the hosts. Loved the community of Ohope Beach too....so beautiful!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Although we were unable to accommodate these folk in the cottage which is lovely in that it is very private and fully self contained - their staying in the Queen room of our home meant lots of together time to chat. This we really did enjoy with mutual interests in culture, education and travel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohope
5.1 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ohope Beach Resort
Ohope Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Ohope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seaview Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
Beachpoint Apartments
3.1 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#2 of 9 in Ohope
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B

Property: Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
Address: 2 Hoterini Street | Bay of Plenty, Ohope 3121, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Ohope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ohope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naumai, haere mai, welcome to a unique Maori cultural experience in a romantic hideaway nestled in award winning gardens between the ocean and the harbour in sunny Ohope. Widely travelled we love sharing stories over complimentary drinks and nibbles. The cottage is fully self contained with King and Single beds, kitchen, en-suite, own entrance and patio area. The Queen room in our home has own toilet and vanity - share other bathroom facilities. Relax in the spa or on loungers in the garden, have a bbq or hangi with us. Continental breakfast for all visitors. Boat cruises, culture/historic cruises, kayak and bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing