We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis to return each day during our busy schedule”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Ohope B&B and Inns
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“An oasis to return each day during our busy schedule”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The accommodation was immaculate and the creative and unique decor made our stay a very pleasant one. We loved the homemade muesli, pickles and jams. The hospitality shown to us was beyond our expectations. Totally awesome experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
A lovely couple who had returned home after 5 years working in Japan. It was a wonderful opportunity to share our cultural experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Miria and Taroi's Place. They showed us a lot about Maori Culture.
The Cottage is comfortable and very clean. We liked at this stay, to be by ourselves. Ohope is a lovely Village with a great Beach. The sunsets there are very impressing.
We were part of their Adveritising at Maori TV.
Florian & Kurt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Always enjoy being able to share our culture. These visitors were here when we had a film company come to profile our cottage and the cultural experience we offer. Was great to have these visitors with us at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Best b&b in Aotearoa (New Zealand) by far! Hosts Miria & Taroi make you feel like whanau (family). Moanarua is uniquely Maori and its hosts offer great insights on local history, culture and adventures tailored to your interests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We enjoyed hosting this charming young couple and hope that they will choose Moanarua for another break away from the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I were in Ohope for a wedding and had the very good fortune to stay at Miria and Taroi's fabulous B&B. As we arrived with just enough time to get dressed and go to the wedding, we didn't get to have a chat with them till the next morning. It was a great treat to be invited to join them for a coffee on their deck. We had a lovely time and found out what a small world we live in.
We would happily go back and would also recommend to any of our friends that Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B is the place to stay if in Ohope .
Fabulous stay and Fabulous people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We really enjoyed having these vistors - more folk here for a wedding! And yes we would have loved them to have been able to stay for longer but look forward to their next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My whanau and i stayed for 2 nights ( wished we could have stayed longer) as we were very impressed with the friendliness and charm of our hosts Taroi and Miria, the little extras they provided e.g. evening drinks at the bar with nibbles etc were a lovely addition to our stay. They were always available to chat with us (which helped us extend our knowledge of fascinating Maori culture) or to go fishing, walking on the beach and so on.

Nancy H

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finkynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We did enjoy all the fun activities with these folk - sisters and a brother all coming together for a holiday before birthday celebrations for one of the 'girls'. Whilst Taroi took the bro out fishing the 'girls' and I enjoyed walking on the beach taking photos and reading our 'cards'. We enjoyed some 'fishy' meals together. It was all very good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I came to Ohope for work purposes and had the very good fortune to be introduced on my first day in Ohope to the exceptional Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B and hosts Miria and Taroi. As other visitors have stated: "staying with Miria and Taroi is much more than spending a couple of nights in a perfect B&B". As far as I am concerned it is definitely a not to be missed experience! My stay (and I was fortunate enough to have been able to spend about 10 nights with them over a period of time) was filled with lots of laughter, endless generosity and rich learning. The environment is beautiful and the hosts are incredibly intuitive to your needs. What a magical combination!!! I have told all my friends and family that they must come and stay here. And as I am here for work purposes - courtesy of Miria and Taroi's local connections I am now settled into a little unit of my own across the road from them so the laughter, the swims and the learnings are able to be continued. A huge thank you Miria and Taroi for including and connecting me to this area and for making me feel so welcome,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifebeinit_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are so lucky to make friends and find amazing connexions with our visitors. For this visitor we quickly discovered many of these. In fact two of her brothers were in the same year and friends at secondary school with my brothers! Time and time again we find that indeed there is just 2 degrees of separation or less! This is one of the things that makes hosting a rewarding and special experience. I am also very happy that this visitor is staying on for several months and has moved close by to a larger flat to accommodate her ongoing work so we are able to keep in touch and have been having great fun on our newly aquired boogie boards - htough today it is too stormy! Time to catch up on reviews instead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I only wish we could have stayed another night to get to know the lovely welcoming down to earth hosts Taroi and Miria. We went for a wedding and were so impressed with our accomodation. The bed was super comfortable!! It was clean, welcoming, homely and the hosts are lovely!! We arrived while they were out and they made sure we would be okay before they left and in the morning welcomed us into their home for coffee and a chat. I will tell all my friends about this gorgeous B&B and its feature is its uniqueness.

Room Tip: The cottage was really cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
It was great to host this lovely couple. We do get lots of folk who come here for weddings. Ohope is such a popular location for weddings and our cottage is also a favourite for honeymoon couples - a bit of a romantic retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohope
5.1 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
338 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crestwood Bed & Breakfast
Crestwood Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Whakatane
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
8.6 mi away
Island View Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
Beachpoint Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B

Property: Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
Address: 2 Hoterini Street | Bay of Plenty, Ohope 3121, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Ohope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ohope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naumai, haere mai, welcome to a unique Maori cultural experience in a romantic hideaway nestled in award winning gardens between the ocean and the harbour in sunny Ohope. Widely travelled we love sharing stories over complimentary drinks and nibbles. The cottage is fully self contained with King and Single beds, kitchen, en-suite, own entrance and patio area. The Queen room in our home has own toilet and vanity - share other bathroom facilities. Relax in the spa or on loungers in the garden, have a bbq or hangi with us. Continental breakfast for all visitors. Boat cruises, culture/historic cruises, kayak and bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing