We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Ohope B&B and Inns
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Tis a pity we only stayed one night.
Delightful welcome from Miria & Taroi. A charming Maori cottage decorated with Maori artefacts.
Booked a sunset cruise in their boat. Amazing experience. We learnt a lot of the local history about the area.Lovely setting. Great cruise with food and drink.
Agree entirely with previous reviews.
Not to be missed

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We had a fun time with these visitors from the UK and look forward to seeing them again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We became surrounded by a for us new culture ( the Moari ) which was of a kindness and warmth that was moving. We felt at home during the 4 days we spent in both the cottage and the room.

The delicious fish dish served us was very, very tasty. We thoroughly enjoyed the interesting conversation we had regarding Moari and European habits over diner.

Miria and Taroy were extraordinairy helpfull in finding our way around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We love being able to share our culture with our visitors and it was a real pleasure to be able to do this with these lovely folk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We arrived by night to this beautiful and magic place. We were welcomed by Miria and Tori with amazing kindness and after a long day driving with 3 teen agers and 2 dogs, we were pampered with a delicious meal and a quiet night. The cottage is a great place to stay. Spacious, comfortable, perfectly clean, wonderful decoration, surrounded by a lovely garden, where our dogs spent a great night! Next morning we discovered the infinite beauty of the beach and the profound history of the land and the people, guided by Miria and Taroi. We were supposed to stay only one night, but everything was too good to leave so soon, so we stayed for two more nights! Lucky us!!!
Staying with Miria and Taori at the Moana Beach Cottage was much more than spending a couple of nights in a perfect B&B. it was a once in a life time experience of spectacular beauty, endless generosity and a unique opportunity of being exposed to the sacred identity of the Tuhoe People. I will be forever grateful for such privilege.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
It was a privilege for us to be able to take our visitor to our beautiful local pa site and to share the Tuhoe Festival of the Ahurei with her and her daughters. The Ahurei is a Tuhoe Festival of kapa haka which takes place every second year at Easter. It is on this year 2013. We look forward to our visitor coming to stay here for another Ahurei perhaps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Miria and Taroi are the sort of people you so rarely meet in life let alone on holiday.

Their home has a warm and spiritual feel about it and they really were so generous, helpful and kind during our stay.

Sadly we were only able to spend two nights with them but the memories and the whole experience will remain with us for a long time.

We hope to return to NZ one day. When we do Moanarua will be top of our list.

Hope to see you again soon - Dave and Marilyn, Bristol, UK.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We get lots of lovely folk from the UK staying with us here at Moanarua and always welcome their return visits and look forward to these visitors making another trip to Aotearoa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a fantastic place. The separate cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay and the beautiful tranquil garden full of native New Zealand plants is just lovely. Miria and Taroi are exceptional hosts, very friendly and helpful. They are extremely proud of their Moari heritage and will spend time with you telling you about the history and culture of the area. You have the use of their hot tub which is in a great position on their deck. The beautiful beach is a stones through away. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipneylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We always enjoy spending time with our visitors, sharing our Maori culture and local stories over a few drinks and nibbles. Good to mark on our world map where our folk come from and hear their stories as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed with Miria and Taroi in January, 2013. They are wonderful hosts, very welcoming, lovely people. The house and garden is beautiful. The homestay is perfect and private but it is a must to spend time with the hosts who are very knowledgable about the surrounding area and Maori culture. Spa pool and BBQ also a must!!.......beach just over the road!! Looking forward to my next stay with them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It is great to see our visitors enjoy the facilities here, whether it is to stroll along the beach, surf or swim. Have a relax in the garden or spa and maybe share a bbq with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping, Östergötlands Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hoasts were great. The personal service and the good company was outstanding. They took a personal interest in our wellbeing and made sure that we saw the very best of their fantastic surroundings and culture. They gave us great advice of places to see and visit and they made sure that we got where we wanted. The location of the beach cottage is fantastic. Situated close to the beach made it easy to take beautiful walks and enjoy full swims. On cloudless days one was able to spot white island smoking way out in the bay of plenty. The location of Ohope is very good if one want's have access to the many beautiful places on the northern island. The national park of Tongariro is only a couple of hours drive away and on the way there one could visit the awesome city of Rotorua with its famous thermal activities.
To sum up I must say that if I could I would with great pleasure revisit Ohope and Mira and Tauro and their wonderful beach cottage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We are indeed fortunate to live in such wonderful surroundings. It is always great to see our guests enjoying this beautiful beach here in Ohope. Ideal for lovely walks, cycling and kayaking as well. Many folk enjoy our boat cruises in the harbour and like to hire the bikes or kayaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohope
5.1 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
336 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
8.6 mi away
Island View Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
Driftsand Boutique Accommodation
0.9 mi away
Ohope Beach Resort
Ohope Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Ohope
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B

Property: Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
Address: 2 Hoterini Street | Bay of Plenty, Ohope 3121, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Ohope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ohope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naumai, haere mai, welcome to a unique Maori cultural experience in a romantic hideaway nestled in award winning gardens between the ocean and the harbour in sunny Ohope. Widely travelled we love sharing stories over complimentary drinks and nibbles. The cottage is fully self contained with King and Single beds, kitchen, en-suite, own entrance and patio area. The Queen room in our home has own toilet and vanity - share other bathroom facilities. Relax in the spa or on loungers in the garden, have a bbq or hangi with us. Continental breakfast for all visitors. Boat cruises, culture/historic cruises, kayak and bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing