We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B with a difference - the best of being Maori” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Ohope B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“B&B with a difference - the best of being Maori”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Moanarua Beach Cottage, Ohope is lovely and private and set in a beautiful garden that has won awards. Very friendly welcome with drinks and nibbles early evening with hosts Miria & Taroi and then homemade muesli with our breakfast. The wonderful sandy swimming beach is only three minutes walk away so we had lovely swims and a spa. We thoroughly recommend this B&B & will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Enjoyed those refreshments in the garden and those great swims!
Look forward to more of them with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
48
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed with Miria & Taroi for a week in December 2012, when we visited Ohope for our son's wedding. Our hosts were wonderful and looked after us extremely well. The cottage was ideal and we highly recommed it to everyone. Miria & Taroi could not do enough for us. Wish we could have stayed longer with them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANN-BRIAN103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We appreciated the review from this lovely UK couple and hope to see them again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed in this lovely B&B while in Ohope for a wedding. Miria and Taroi were so friendly and welcoming, I would have liked to spend more time socialising with them both. The room was spacious, light and comfortable, well appointed and in an excellent location being handy to the beach for swimming and a short drive to nearby restaurants. Thanks to both our hosts for their help with recommending local eateries and where to get a last minute haircut! Happy to recommend and hope to return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We enjoyed your visit and appreciate your review.
Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Moanarua has everything you could possibly need and more. The hosts are a lovely friendly couple who made us very welcome from the moment we arrived. The cottage is well appointed, light and roomy, and is set in a lovely garden. Very importanly - the bed was really comfortable. We loved having a dip in the spa pool on the deck overlooking the ocean before going to bed every night. The welcome drinks and nibbles were a treat as was the homemade muesli and freshly stewed fruit for breakfast . Bikes, kayaks, boat trip and hangi all options which impressed. We can't wait to go back there again.!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Kia ora Lisa
Thank you so much for that very lovely review!! I really do appreciate your kind words. It was certainly great having you to stay!! And we look forward to your visit with Jen and hope for weather just like this - glorious day today!! Enjoy your time at Waikenae and get in some more swims!! We are just off for one right now.
Arohanui
Miria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Excellent location - very close to great beach and wonderful harbour; Incrediable hosts - extremely welcoming and accommodating and think of everything that might be needed; Lots of activities available - bikes, canoes, boat trips; Home-made food included for breakfast and very relaxing surroundings in a beautiful garden. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsal003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moanarua, Owner at Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Kia ora ano David

Just sending a quick thanks again from ther Trip Advisor response page - for the wonderful review you wrote!
Also to ask if you would mind sending your address as I like to keep them on my records for everyone so that I can associate location with visitors - helps me have a fuller picture.

Kindest regards
Miria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohope
5.1 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#3 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
Seaview Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ohope Beach Resort
Ohope Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Ohope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beachpoint Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B

Property: Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
Address: 2 Hoterini Street | Bay of Plenty, Ohope 3121, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Ohope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ohope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naumai, haere mai, welcome to a unique Maori cultural experience in a romantic hideaway nestled in award winning gardens between the ocean and the harbour in sunny Ohope. Widely travelled we love sharing stories over complimentary drinks and nibbles. The cottage is fully self contained with King and Single beds, kitchen, en-suite, own entrance and patio area. The Queen room in our home has own toilet and vanity - share other bathroom facilities. Relax in the spa or on loungers in the garden, have a bbq or hangi with us. Continental breakfast for all visitors. Boat cruises, culture/historic cruises, kayak and bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing