We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such lovely hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
OceanSpray Homestay
Ranked #3 of 9 Ohope B&B and Inns
Lapland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such lovely hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

My husband, our one-year-old son and myself went travelling for two months this northern winter and this was the nicest place we stayed at. We only stayed one night, but it felt like we were part of the family and we really want to go back and stay for a couple of weeks. You will not be disappointed with this place! Toys for children, home made brownies, all kinds of breakfast food, fantastic location and lovely hosts - what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franWhakatane, Owner at OceanSpray Homestay, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for your great comments about our Homestay. We really enjoy making our homestay a home away from home, and providing for a family, with toys for children, and things to do for them. Giving great hospitality with home baking and sharing a meal, is a great part of our homestay. Thank you for choosing our Homestay, here at Ohope Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

We were travelling to Whakatane for strawberry-picking at Julian's Berry Farm and chose to stay along Ohope beach.

We stayed in a lovely cottage with 2 rooms. Frances had thoughtfully packed her fridge with everything we needed - from wholemeal, white bread to precooked bacon. There were many books, magazines, CDs and videos and the kids enjoyed playing with the many toys that were also available there. Almost everything you need, she has thought about it :)

John and Frances were hospitable and allowed us to tag along to see them fish their snappers which they were reeling in from the sea. She even offered to cook us some of the fish that evening.

It was a truly wonderful experience and we would definitely recommend staying with them should you go to Whakatane or Ohope.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YNWA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

I had booked this Homestay for two nights and ended up adding an extra night I enjoyed it so much!
I was given the cottage on the property which consisted of a lounge room/ full kitchen, a queen room, a twin room, bathroom, toilet and laundry. The kitchen was fully stocked and Frances (upon hearing I am vegan), had provided me with soy milk, heaps of fruit and vegies and a felafel mix! She also made me dhal one night just cos she thought I might like it!
The cottage had SKY TV, electric blankets and free wireless internet also.
Frances and John are extremely friendly and generous hosts and the location is perfect - right on the beach. Despite it raining during my stay - I really enjoyed the chance to relax and cook a meal in a comfortable environment.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
225 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

This is a gem of a place. We had the 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom downstairs apartment and it was perfect. Clean, well appointed, quiet, our own area outside, use of the gorgeous area upstairs on the deck, the beautiful long ohope beach just steps away over the dunes, but, best of all, the amazing hospitality of Frances and John.
The fridge was very well stocked for a full breakfast and the cupboard included homemade cookies as well and after day one Frances made a special trip to restock with things she knew we loved...fresh fruit, tons of stuff for breakfast that could also be used for lunch, and we also took advantage of her willingness to do dinners and we had fresh fish caught by john as well as smoked fish he had prepared and caught and lots of other goodies and wine...just a superb meal both nights......Anything we even thought about wanting, Frances anticipated and provided for us.
This is a beauttiful self contained apartment, perfectly located on the beach, with all the amenities of your own home and gracious hospitality I have never encountered anywere else, EVER...
We would go back to New Zealand just to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairann2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stayed at Ocean Spray for 1 night this weekend. We were very impressed with the apartment and delighted to find all the provisions for a substantial breakfast waiting for us. Frances has thought of everything, lots of little treats like choccies, a bottle of wine and even a decanter of Port!! The bathroom was well stocked with towels, lotions and shampoos etc and the bed was very comfortable.
The place is well set up for a longer stay and as a former resident of Ohope, I would recommend a week or so. There are kayaks to use and you are literally a few steps away from 11Km of safe, sandy beach. A paradise for children.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — It's location and our friendly host!
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay longer!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ruthzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2008

May 2008. Victoria, Australia.
Having recently returned from a very pleasant trip to New Zealand, I must sing the praises of B&B accommodation there generally. In particular we enjoyed a stay at Oceanspray Homestay at Ohope Beach - a short drive from Whakatane in the Bay of Plenty. We (two people) had the sole use of the downstairs self-contained apartment, consisting of three bedrooms and two bathrooms, with own private lounge. A very well equipped kitchen, with extra-special breakfast supplies and complimentary wine. It was so comfortable and beautifully presented - our hostess Francis - had thought of everything. Even presented us in the morning with the paper and freshly baked bluueberry muffins. Considering the rate-of -exchange and the breakfast included, it was very good value.
Such a warm welcome and good company without being intrusive - like visiting a good friend/relation - made us resolve to make a return visit. No more hotels for us - just good B&Bs.

Helpful?
1 Thank mg1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2003

My wife and I stayed at the OceanSpray for one night as part of our honeymoon. We had the downstairs apartment which had three bedrooms, and a common area that included a kitchen. The rooms were clean and well maintained.

The hosts, Frances and John, work hard to maintain a home like feel.
The shelves contained a wonderful collection of interesting books.
Subjects ranged from children's books, to tourism books, to light reading. There was also a stack of magazines and an encyclopedia. In the TV cabinet, there was a large collection of movies on tape.

The beach was just over the dune from the back door. We collected quite a few sea shells. The next morning John was taking the kayak out to put out fishing lines. Whakatane is a few kilometer drive and has many eateries, and attractions.

With the kitchen facilities, we were given cereal, yogurt, bacon, eggs, and cheese; and were expected to cook our own breakfast. It fits right in with the homey atmosphere, but some might want more full service accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen-Ost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ohope hotels
1.7 mi away
Beachpoint Apartments
2.8 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Aquarius Motel
Aquarius Motel
#7 of 9 in Ohope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Moanarua Beach Cottage B&B
0.5 mi away
Seaview Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#2 of 9 in Ohope
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OceanSpray Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OceanSpray Homestay

Property: OceanSpray Homestay
Address: 283a Pohutukawa Avenue, Ohope 3121, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Ohope
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ohope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our slice of paradise at our Beachside Homestay. Within our two level home, downstairs - is a 3 bedroom self contained apartment with kitchen/lounge, two bathrooms (one is an ensuite). Modern decor, quality furnishings, and 3 TVs, DVDs. Comprehensive breakfast foods are supplied into the apartment for self help. Come upstairs to our living space and enjoy the wonderful sea views from our decks and our warm hospitality/home baking & complimentary wine. Families warmly welcomed, with toys,books,beach gear, two kayaks. A peaceful beachside retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing