We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathkinness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansedale House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great little find”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A big thank you to Douglas and Elaine the owners for looking after us so well the last two days.

Very clean, fresh and lovely room. We had a great welcome from our hosts. We will be back again to stay when we are visiting St Andrews University to visit our Daughter.
We would reccomend this B & B to all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
119
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We've been here for just one night, and we loved it!
Tha room was great, perfect, very cozy and clean. The bathroom was also very big and very clean!
Everything in this b&b is just perfect: all the details are at the right place and the breakfast was gorgeous!
Tha host was very welcoming, she gave us full of informations!
It is not in St. Andrews, but 2 miles away, so you actually need a car to reach St. Andrews, but this b&b is absolutly worth it!
We only had a small problem with hot water: it ended and we had to wait 30 minutes to had it back, but it was not a big deal, since everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadja858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Doocot 31/8 & 1/9/12. The massive amount of positive comment in the reviews is totally justifiable, great hosts, very comfortable and spotlessly clean, excellent breakfasts. We will certainly return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyinRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malia, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Mansedale House is an excellent Bed & Breakfast. We travelled with our daughter and stayed in a family room which was very clean and spacious. The rooms are nicely decorated and we immediately felt as if at home. The breakfast is very good and the hosts are extremely helpful and make you feel welcome! Its location is ideal to explore the east coast of Scotland.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SarahBet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

From a great reception upon arrival to farewell. Everything is excellent: Quality of the rooms, the breakfast is fantastic, your host makes you feel welcome and is always open to give advice on the region.

Location is quite and good for people on a golf trip!

Room Tip: Family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Tripadvisor rarely let's us down and Mansedale was no exception. From first email contact with Douglas, to the greeting from Elaine and then the stunning room and fantastic breakfast, this must be one of the best B&Bs in the UK. Our room comfortably fitted the four of us in style and comfort. It was spotlessly clean with contemporary fittings but it was still cosy. Breakfast was well cooked and presented and proved to be the icing on the cake of a short but memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I had the privilege to stay for three wonderful nights at the Mansedale House. Dougie and Elaine were the perfect hosts and are the warmest and friendliest, too. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Warm and friendly, helpful and kind, they fully deserve the comments that other guests have posted. Our room, (The Laroch) was ultra clean and comfortable and superbly well appointed. The king-sized bed was brilliant, as was the magnificent bathroom. The other accommodations looked fabulous, too. The breakfasts were "to die for" and I tried both their traditional and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. My wife, being a veggie had ample to choose from too and was very impressed by the standard of choice and cooking. Believe me, we have stayed at countless establishments over the years and this breakfast is just the best. I even joked that I could eat some more and Elaine DID offer , without hesitation, some more! I refused course, the breakfasts are more than ample to set anyone up for the day ahead in the most delightful of settings. One of the touches that made my wife and I even more happy was the magnificent gazebo in the garden. It was lovely to have a glass of wine or a gin and tonic and chat away the lovely day we'd just had. Also, before we ventured out in the late afternoon, just sitting there with a glass of wine was the perfect way to set up the evening. The gardens are beautifully kept and their obvious love of it simply oozes. We will definitely be booking there sometime next year - if it's not full! We have already recommended this wonderful place to friends and family. As my title suggests, Mansedale House and the hosts Dougie and Elaine are better than best. And deservedly so.

Room Tip: I can't honestly comments on any of the other rooms, as we have not stayed in any of them, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathkinness
1.4 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,119 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,058 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St. Andrews
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Andrews
358 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 16 in St. Andrews
666 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
Knockhill Farm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Strathkinness
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansedale House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansedale House B&B

Property: Mansedale House B&B
Address: 35 Main Street, Strathkinness, St. Andrews KY16 9RY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Strathkinness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strathkinness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing