We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic snorkeling and not crowded at all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mu Ko Surin National Park

Mu Ko Surin National Park
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Khuraburi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Middelfart, Denmark
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic snorkeling and not crowded at all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had one night at Kuravuri Greenview Resort and joined their 3 days / 2 nights at Surin islands. Since we booked almost 6 months in advance through mail they managed to get us one of the few bungalows on the island. Only half an hour drive to the greenview pier where we got our snorkeling gear and got on a big speed boat. Not very many people.
We snorkelled 4-5 different places each day, and got more and more pretty and interesting. We were picked up at the beach by longtailboat and were only 8-10 people on the boat. Saw many new sea animals. Turtles, sharks, lionfish, nemo, triggerfish, moraine.
Breakfast was pretty small and plain but the thai set menu for lunch and dinner was very tasty and good. Almost the same every time but we didnt expect anything fancy on an island like this.
We had a serious and informative guide during our days - mister Abdul. Thanks.
The bungalow was primitive but we were very happy to have 2 bedrooms ( we are 2 adults and 2 children) and a toilet and shower. Of course no wifi and only elextricity during evening. Our friends slept in tent and it was quite unpleasent for them.
The beach by the tents and bungalows was fantastic. In fact we could find corals and many fish, clams and moraine on very shallow water. And we were not to many people there. Very calm and quite in the evening.
There is a little shop where you can buy beer, soda and chips but thats about it. Bring a little fruit or bread from the mainland or what you like.
It is very funny to go crab hunting at the beach when it gets dark. Also you can see lemurs in the trees. At some of the snorkelling spots we could feel small stingers in the waters but it was not so bad. The children forgot it quickly because it was so exiting.
Very sad when we had to leave. Would love to go back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Lone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    34
    7
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Don't stand on the coral!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

As an avid snorkeler I had identified the Surin Islands as being my best chance of some decent snorkeling during our stay in Khao Lak, arranging the trip with Khao Lak Vista before we left.

The travel time from Khao Lak to the pier is well over an hour, with another hour in the speedboat before arriving at the islands, it can be very bumpy!

The view of the islands is really beautiful, with the water being every shade of blue you could imagine, lined by white sands and lush forests, it really is picture perfect. Unfortunately, that was about as good as it got for me. I found the reef quite underwhelming, maybe this is because I have been spoilt for marine life during trips to the Red Sea and the Maldives, but there was little colour and much less fish than I had hoped. If you do not have extensive snorkeling experience you may find the islands offer plenty to see, I have posted a link to my FLICKR album further on in this review to help you decide.

What really, really, disappointed me, is the crazy number of people standing all over the rocks and coral, as clearly seen in my pictures. This is NOT acceptable and all tour operators MUST ensure their guests tow the line, otherwise there really will be nothing left to see! The lunch offering is ok but I would advise taking your own snacks if you are fussy in any way. You can camp on the beautiful beach behind the restaurant and as the journey was so long and tiring, I wish we had stayed a night or two to enjoy the islands more. I am also sure that they are probably better snorkeling spots that the bigger boats cannot reach.

I did find nemo, which had been my goal for the day so it wasn't all bad! You can see more pictures here:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/jodytyper/sets/72157640832195295/

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Jody2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful sights, but already saturated with tourists”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Beautiful beaches, and the national park is very well maintained. But it is just too much plain exploitation already, packed with tourists who were all thinking that Koh Surin is less frequented than the other Thailand islands.... diving trips must be booked from mainland, or you will find yourself snorkeling 3 hours boat away from the office that sells the diving sessions, mainland.

Koh Pratong is 30 minutes away from mainland, and less frequented already, although it goes very vey quick.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 123thailand2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Beautiful, beautiful islands. Calm waters make snorkeling perfect and there are so many different kinds of fish and coral that you can hardly believe it. Not nearly as many tourists here as on he Similan Islands. Can highly recommend that you go by Kuraburi Greenview Travel!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“WOOOOOOOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place is paradise!! When you arrive on the boat and the dark blue sea turns into turquoise shallows you know you've reached heaven on Earth. Best place to snorkel in all of Thailand, we saw black tip reef sharks and green sea turtles. The snorkelling trips are SO cheap at 100 baht per person, that's the cheapest in all of Thailand and they take you to some wonderful seascapes. There is just so many fish!! Enjoy :D :D :D

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank thomfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mu Ko Surin National Park also viewed

 
Khuraburi, Phang Nga Province
Khuraburi, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Mu Ko Surin National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing