We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rose & Crown
Nearby Hotels
$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor House Hotel(West Auckland)
$61
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brunswick House(Middleton in Teesdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teesdale Hotel(Middleton in Teesdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jersey Farm(Barnard Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
368
81
21
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
368
81
21
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosy barbarnard castlewine listroaring firemolton brown toiletriesbeautiful villagelocal walksby the glasspretty villagecountry pubsuperb foodresidents loungebar menucourtyard roomhigh force waterfallthe main hotelnice toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 482 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Popped in mid ramble, as the weather had taken a turn for the worse. Sat in Bar, having discarded muddy boots at door. Both had the Ploughmans, which was lovely - the Honey Roast Ham was superb, and the date chutney really tasty. Followed this with Rhubarb and Ginger cheesecake, with sticky ginger croutons, which was also a delight. Add in a lovely pint of Black Sheep, and it was the perfect pick me up before heading out to get soaked again.

Will definately return for a more refined eating experience one evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank QuakerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Glad to hear that we provided you with a welcome respite during your walk in the area and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

food was overpriced, small portions, catered more for restaurant than for bar meals. overall a bit let down as it had a good name. had a meal in a small village a few miles away the next night and it was great.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Sorry to read that you did not feel that the portion sizes were large enough for you. We will certainly look into this as we don't want anyone to leave us who is not completely satisfied!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent one night at the Rose and Crown and wished we could have stayed a lot longer. The staff are welcoming and helpful, and the rooms are very clean and well furnished. We ate in the restaurant and the food was of very high quality with a good wine list and great service. The highlight of the night was arriving in the bar to find 17 single malt whiskies to choose from!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our selection of single malts. Perhaps you need a few more visits to sample the full selection!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent a night at the Rose and Crown on our way south from Glasgow to Cambridge. What an excellent overnight.
We were in the courtyard block...comfortable room, and ate in the bar.
Great service, waitresses well organised and pleasant. Food good too. Good wine list. Altogether, a most pleasant experience...one I would repeat.

Room Tip: Go for the courtyard...lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We seem to have the pleasure of welcoming quite a few guests travelling between southern England and Scotland and I am delighted that we provided you with an enjoyable overnight stay. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Rose and Crown is a gem. Old English pub with an excellent restaurant and rooms. Some of the rooms are in the old pub building others are in a new block behind. Meals are wonderful and are taken in a restaurant or in the bar.
Nice welcome, we'll fitted rooms, free wifi. This place beats many an expensive city hotel hands down.

Room Tip: People who don't fancy stairs to bed best use the courtyard rooms. All rooms have a DVD so bring discs for the kids. Kid friendly but also a great romantic venue.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oystermouthensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you like what we have to offer at the R&C. I hope you will be visiting again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews