We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended.”
Review of The Rose & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rose & Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Romaldkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent one night at the Rose and Crown and wished we could have stayed a lot longer. The staff are welcoming and helpful, and the rooms are very clean and well furnished. We ate in the restaurant and the food was of very high quality with a good wine list and great service. The highlight of the night was arriving in the bar to find 17 single malt whiskies to choose from!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our selection of single malts. Perhaps you need a few more visits to sample the full selection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    75
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
271
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent a night at the Rose and Crown on our way south from Glasgow to Cambridge. What an excellent overnight.
We were in the courtyard block...comfortable room, and ate in the bar.
Great service, waitresses well organised and pleasant. Food good too. Good wine list. Altogether, a most pleasant experience...one I would repeat.

Room Tip: Go for the courtyard...lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We seem to have the pleasure of welcoming quite a few guests travelling between southern England and Scotland and I am delighted that we provided you with an enjoyable overnight stay. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Rose and Crown is a gem. Old English pub with an excellent restaurant and rooms. Some of the rooms are in the old pub building others are in a new block behind. Meals are wonderful and are taken in a restaurant or in the bar.
Nice welcome, we'll fitted rooms, free wifi. This place beats many an expensive city hotel hands down.

Room Tip: People who don't fancy stairs to bed best use the courtyard rooms. All rooms have a DVD so bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oystermouthensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you like what we have to offer at the R&C. I hope you will be visiting again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Third leg of our UK bike tour. Two hairy bikers stayed at the Rose and Crown mid July. Perfect last overnighter before heading back to the Continent. Fantastic location in a beautiful small village at the foot of the Pennines. The Inn is outstanding. Great bar with good beer and wine list. Nice dining area for those that don't wish to sit in the bar. It's clear that the owners know a thing or two about the hotel business as is reflected in the quality of the decor and layout of the rooms. Food at dinner was OK and very much rustic pub food. Would have preferred a slightly broader choice but thats a minor point and I'm being picky. Breakfast was outstanding! I enjoyed it so much that I came back 2 weeks later with the family for another night!
Looking forward to the next visit

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old stables / annex just behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grant m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Bikers are very welcome at the R&C and we appreciate your kind review. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have since returned. Look forward to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was introduced to the Rose and Crown last week by a family member who had previously visited and had a great experience. Living 45 miles away from the location it is quite a drive for us, although most definitely worth it! I can honestly say I was far from disappointed after having a two course lunch here whilst sat in the beautiful surroundings at the front of the hotel. Not only was the food amazing, the overall experience was a delight, with every piece of effort showing even down to the gorgeous bathrooms! Since discovering the hotel I have been back twice now in the last seven days and already planning another visit! The food is of such high standards and not overpriced like the majority of places nowadays! would definately reccomend this place to anyone and everyone! An absolute delight and a glorious day out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for this review and you are welcome back as often as you would like to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The R & C has everything a traveller could wish for. The dining room is attractive and comfortable, the food happily appetising, the rooms nicely furnished with comfortable beds/an excellent shower, and the service friendly super-helpful and efficient. Help with baggage is immediately offered. All of this in a peaceful and attractive English village which includes a delightful English church. Score: 12 out of 10 (if that were arithmetically possible).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tynwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for this great review and it is very nice to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. When we receive feedback like this it makes all the effort seem that much more worthwhile. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The young lady serving very kindly advised that it was just a few minutes before they were stopping so we chose the sup & a sandwich. I'm always a bit wary of carrot soups as so often they are disappointing but this was absolutely delicious & obviously made with a decent stock. We sat outside as we were walking the Tess Rail trail & didn't feel appropriately dressed for the beautiful dining room we could see inside. The food was gorgeous, the setting charming & we would love to go back for a dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tevoleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your lunch stop at the R&C. For future reference you are fine inside at lunchtime in walking clothes (muddy boots can be left at the porch if needed) and we hope to see you back for dinner sometime soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romaldkirk
11.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
3.7 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
350 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
222 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brunswick House
Brunswick House
#2 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
66 reviews
15.2 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown

Property: The Rose & Crown
Address: Romaldkirk, Romaldkirk DL12 9EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Romaldkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Romaldkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 18th century inn located in the picturesque dales village of Romaldkirk amidst unspoilt countryside. This award winning 3 AA red star hotel offers charm and character with a cosy bar, relaxing lounge and beautifully appointed bedrooms. Guest can dine in the 2AA rosette oak panelled restaurant or more informally in the bar. The service is professional yet friendly and the surrounding area offers excellent walking routes, attractions and market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Rose & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose & Crown Hotel Romaldkirk
The Rose And Crown
Rose Crown Barnard Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing