We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Father's Day lunch”
Review of The Rose & Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Rose & Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Romaldkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We just had the most delicious lunch here. My kids are young and fussy eaters and they had clean plates at the end of the meal and took no cajoling at all...unheard of! The staff were very friendly and service spot on. Best food I've had in a long time....we are plotting our return already!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your lunch and your kind review is much appreciated by the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 457 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

On a tour around Cumbria and Teesdale recently on our motorbike, we called at the Rose and Crown at Romaldkirk - an historic coaching inn.

We were impressed by the comfortable and wellcoming bar overlooking the green, and the service and friendly attention we received from the staff.

As it was a beautiful day, we opted to sit outside at the front of the hotel, the tables each carried a colourful planted pot of flowers. As one of the hotel's car parks is at the front of the hotel, the new owners, I learned, have thoughtfully installed well planted and maintained wooden flower boxes in order to separate the parking from the seated area.

We picked up a brochure, reading about the new owners who are local to the area, and will definately be visiting again to take up one of their special offers!

Room Tip: I would suggest that visitors speak to the staff who I feel sure will be more than welcoming and acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshirebeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Teesdale is a great area to explore by motorbike and as a biker myself you are very welcome at the R&C. Thank you for your appreciation of the improvements we have made to the front sitting out area and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend hoping for boutique/gastropub experience and were very disappointed. Our room in the main house was small, two huge armchairs at the end of the bed didn't. help. The bed was comfortable but only polyester/cotton sheets were available so no 200 thread luxury for our £140 per night B and B. The dining room serves only a five course meal, so no picking and choosing from an a la carte menu and the very limited bar menu was our only option. Breakfast was an improvement despite the fact that the dining room lighting was so subdued that it was impossible to read the "complimentary", but charged on the bill, newspaper.
We understand that this pub has recently changed hands and we were left the feeling that the new (absentee) owners are operating on the principle of getting the maximum and giving the minimum
and leaving the business to be run by a bevy of charming but ultimately ineffectual young ladies.
Most of the reviews seem to be for lunch, which from our experience would appear to be the way to go at the Rose and Crown.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

I will always address justified criticism but on this occasion I must express frustration at a review that makes inaccurate claims and assumptions. Dinner in our restaurant is four-course a la carte, not five-course fixed as the review suggests. More importantly, as the new owners we are in no shape or form 'absent' but are working extremely hard to deliver the highest standards and are investing in constant improvements. I also find the sexist comment claiming our staff to be 'ineffectual young ladies' insulting and unacceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having discovered this beautiful Inn on a prevous visit to the area I called in to assess a possible future visit. The michelin accolades on the reception wall, the impressive publicity on offer, the pleasant member of staff, gorgeous dining room and olde-worlde charm swung it for me. The trip advisor reports nailed it. We had to eat there.

So with my partner and four friends we booked in for an evening meal. Our ladies felt the 4 course dinner would be too much food for them so we ate in the Brasserie - Our expectations were very high - The staff were lovely; friendly and helpful but the food that came out of the kitchen could only be described as 'pub grub' and not very good at that. We were all disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank therovingreporter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal in the brasserie. The style of food that we serve in the bar/brasserie is intended to be more informal than we serve in our fine dining restaurant and I believe that our prices are fair as we still use high quality ingredients. Apologies if on this occasion the style of food was not what was expected and hopefully we can welcome you back to try the restaurant which may be the dining experience you were hoping for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel, but enjoyed an excellent lunch in the bar. It has lovely old-world decor and atmosphere, and friendly, helpful staff. Perfect place to have some food after a long walk from the village. They even welcomed our dog!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flywrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated by the whole team and we hope to welcome you (and your dog) back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We visited on the first day of our wedding anniversary celebrations and were suitably impressed. The service was attentive & quick; the food representative of the 2 rosettes awarded (fish & chips and a burger- the 3 way cooked chips were excellent especially as normally I am not a fan, but today I'm a convert!!!) any criticisms- not really, maybe just that the tartar sauce wasn't as strong as I'd like, but overall very very good!
4/5

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymousecriticke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

I am pleased to hear that your wedding anniversary celebrations got off to a good start with an enjoyable lunch. Thank you for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were in North Yorkshire on a Sunday so we made our way to the Rose and Crown. I know One always goes on about this pub when we are up North but it really has so much old world charm and elegance, couple this with first class service and cooking there is not much else to wish for a Sunday lunch. My wife started with Smoked Salmon, and I went for Sautéed button mushrooms, garlic and brandy cream followed by Roast Beef with all the trimmings, and to finish Bread and butter pudding with vanilla custard. This establishment is well worth a detour off the A66 the country side is quite wonderful and the food is excellent we will be visiting again later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGJR, Owner at The Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for visiting us again for Sunday lunch and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Your kind reviews are much appreciated by the team and we look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romaldkirk
11.7 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
7.8 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
235 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
20.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose & Crown

Address: Romaldkirk, Romaldkirk DL12 9EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Romaldkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Romaldkirk
Price Range: $126 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose & Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 18th century inn located in the picturesque dales village of Romaldkirk amidst unspoilt countryside. This award winning 3 AA red star hotel offers charm and character with a cosy bar, relaxing lounge and beautifully appointed bedrooms. Guest can dine in the 2AA rosette oak panelled restaurant or more informally in the bar. The service is professional yet friendly and the surrounding area offers excellent walking routes, attractions and market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rose & Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose & Crown Hotel Romaldkirk
The Rose And Crown
Rose Crown Barnard Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing