We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing......but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Booked and stayed two nights at this hotel. It was a very unpleasant experience.

We were visiting family who live in a nearby village and the hotel seemed the ideal place to stay - convenient and four star.

We booked into our room (227) Saturday afternoon and then went off to visit family. A wedding was taking place at the hotel and when we return later that evening the public areas of the hotel resembled a chimpanzee's tea party - food strewn across the floor, up the stairs and on the landing.

We spent the night being constantly woken by loud glugging noises coming from pipes.

Sunday morning breakfast was an unpleasant experience. 10 minutes spent waving my hand in the air trying to catch the eye of the waitress with the tea and coffee before I could get my one cup of tea (after that had been drunk, hand had to go back up in air again.......). 5 minutes stood by the toast machine whilst it turned out aneamic looking bread the first time round and burnt toast the second time round....gave up on that. Tried the cooked breakfast and put in my mouth something no other person should have to ever experience - a fried egg that was not completely cooked -ugggghhhhh!

Against our better judgement, we had invited family to join us for dinner at the hotel on our last evening. We thought that the evening restaurant couldn't be as bad as the breakfast. We were given laminated A4 sheet menu (very Little Chef) with a very poor choice available. The food that arrived was just heated up and tasteless - very disappointing.

Having filled out a guest questionnaire pointing out the problems we had encountered we received a letter from Jonathan Worsdale, Operations Manager who offered his apologies and had looked into our problems.

The glugging in room 227 was due to a problem with gas in the air conditioning system and the maintenance team were going to be looking into it. The procedure in respect of service during breakfast was also going to be reviewed.

We hadn't been offered the a la carte menu due to the large amount of inclusive offers that the hotel do the menu on offer is not the full a la carte menu. (Although we would have happily paid any extra for the a la carte menu. We did wonder why our guest who were not staying at the hotel were not offered a la carte).

FINAL THOUGHT......

It is good to know that Menzies hotel do look into any adverse comments on their questionnaires and take the time to look into the problems. We have been assured that this was an isolated case and have been offered a complimentary night (DB&B) back at the hotel. Initailly, we weren't keen to repeat the experience but will be taking them up on their offer later this week......I shall keep you posted

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Booboo_Galore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Thank you for leaving us your feedback and I'm sorry that certain aspects of your stay were not to our normal high standards. I know we have followed up with you regarding the various points highlighted and as you mentioned we do value every guests feedback and strive to offer the highest levels of customer service.

I'm pleased that I was able to meet you personally on your return visit in August and that you had a fantastic stay second time round.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future and thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your time spent with us.

Hopefully at some point you will find the time to update your review following your repeat visit.

Kind regards

Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,421 - 1,427 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

Fourteen Golfers were very happy, The course was in good condition, Greens were excellent. The food in the restaurant wasnt great in the evening but the buffet breakfast was good. The staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Thank you for leaving us your review and I'm pleased to read that you had a great break with us and enjoyed the golf course. Your comments regarding the food at dinner have been reviewed with our Head Chef and new menus have been implimented recently. I'm pleased you enjoyed the breakfast - we get regular great feedback about the quality and choice at breakfast and this has been passed to the breakfast chef.

Regards

Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I stayed in this hotel and found all the staff to be lovely. The hotel is a excellent base for a comfortable quiet stay dispite them being very busy. It was nice and peaceful. I was impressed with the breakfast and spa and the rooms were basic but clean with all the things you needed. The location is good with easy access into Cambridge with a regular, cheap public bus service if you do not wish to pay for a taxi.

One thing they do need to improve is the booking system. When we came to check in we had specifically asked (and rang twice over the past two weeks) to confirm that we would have a number of twin rooms as well as double as a number of the party had not met before and I have a medical condition and so really did not wish to share a bed. Unfortunately they were unable to provide this, though we were offered pull out beds.

This placed a very polite reception staff member in a difficult position and upset members of the party. We would have booked separate rooms or extra rooms at another hotel if they did not have the room for the whole party with the requirements we were expecting.

Dispite this I would consider staying again, I cannot praise the staff highly enough they were very pleasant and worked extremely hard.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eelliso0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2010

Thank you for kindly leaving us your comprehensive review of the hotel and it's facilities. I'm glad that overall you had great time with us and enjoyed the hotels health club and spa and the buffet breakfast.

Please accept my apology that we did not have all the twin rooms to meet your needs, but I'm pleased to read that we resolved the issue with adding beds to double rooms where needed and our receptionist dealt with the group in a friendly and professional manner.

I do hope you find the time to visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed for a friends hen party arrived on the Friday and left Sunday. We arrived Friday had lovely twin rooms all fully appointed with irons hairdryers etc beds clean and very comfy bathroom clean and enough room! Staff all helpful in letting us know how to get to town etc.. We used the spa and treatments on the Saturday lovely staff and nice pool area with jacuzzi and steam room unfortunately the sauna was out of order but not too fussed! Only small complaint rooms hot and we could hear the road in the distance with the window open but not too bad and the corridor we could hear people coming back later than even us! lol But really recommend it the breakfast was fab!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essex_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2010

Thanks for choosing the hotel for your Hen Party weekend and I'm glad you had a great time. I'm pleased you found the hotels rooms to be well equipped and had an enjoyable time in the health club and spa. Yes, the weather was great and yes as you mentioned in made the rooms warmer into the evening, but we do have fans or air conditioned rooms available on request.

We do hope to see you again in the future and thank you for choosing the hotel.

Many thanks

Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed here to visit relatives nearby, and couldn't have done better with easy access from the motorway and free parking. As we are in Dubai a lot, we miss a traditional fry-up with bacon, and the buffet breakfast was lovely. Dinner service also very good, staff very friendly, and were allocated a room that met all our requests. Used the gym but didn't have time to use the pool. It seemed petty to have to produce a £1 coin to use the lockers.

The hotel seems to be used for weddings at weekends, and there seemed to be several going on during our stay, but this did not affect us at all. Downside of our stay were the old fashioned rooms, and lack of a room safe. Overall, a pleasant stay and would return for the breakfast alone!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2010

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and in particular have highlighted the food quality and plentiful buffet breakfast we offer. We do have 3 different grades of bedrooms to choose from, perhaps next time you vist you will try our contemporary deluxe rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

everything went as we hoped on our big day and Laura and Shelley were brilliant and made sure everything went as it should.food was fantastic and the room I stayed in with my son the night before was spotless and had great tv to keep him happy that night.
cannot fault anything and would strongly recommend this as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEDALTONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2010

Thank you for leaving us your review and I'm pleased that your big day was enjoyed by all. I will in particular pass your kind comments on to Shelley and the team who looked after you so well. Thank you for your feedback regarding the food quality, again we have shared this with the kitchen brigade.

Thank you for choosing the hotel for your wedding day and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks

Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We spent 3 nights bed breakfast and evening meal at this hotel at the end of June and found the food and the accommodation first rate.
The staff and service were very good and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is well placed for visiting Cambridge and surrounding area and we would not hesitate in using it again.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TelandMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2010

Thank you for posting us your review, in particular your comments regarding the food quality and service. We have recently been awarded a Rosette from the AA for the food produced by our team of skilled chefs, so it is great to continue to get this type of positive feedback to share with them.

We hope you will return again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Hill
4.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,422 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,068 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,215 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Cambridge

Address: Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range: $92 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Cambriddge is Located right on the A14, just a mile from the M11 and 5 miles northeast from the heart of Cambridge. The hotel has ample parking, a beautiful golf course, 136 comfy bedrooms, flexible meeting rooms and a lovely health club - it has absolutely everything you need for a successful business trip or relaxing short break in Cambridge. A hotel that has it all Free WiFi throughout. Located just 5 miles from Cambridge city centre Plenty of parking - complimentary when booking your stay direct with the hotel. £10 over night charge otherwise. 136 bedrooms including family bedrooms for up to 5 Brasserie, lounge and bar The Cambridgeshire Golf Course - 18-hole 2 tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, fitness suite and treatment rooms Sauna, steam-room, spa bath Ideal wedding venue for up to 180 guests 10 versatile meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates Sky Sports and BT Sport now available in the bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge Bar Hill, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing