We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel for our Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Cambridgeshire
1 review
“Fab Hotel for our Wedding”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We have just held our wedding at the Menzies Hotel and cannot speak highly enough of the hotel and staff, nothing was to much trouble for them to make our day so special. All our guests have complimented us on the venue, food and staff. Special mentions must go to Amanda the wedding co-ordinator, Amanda on banqueting, Lech who was an absolute star on the day and Rob the duty manager. Rooms were fantastic, only negative is the rooms were very hot and could do with Air Con. If we do it again it will be at the Menzies!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNewlyWeds_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Thanks for leaving us your review and I'm pleased to hear you all had such a good time. I will share your comments with Amanda, Amanda, Lech and the rest of the team.
I do hope to see you all again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    452
    353
    155
    107
See reviews for
196
538
40
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We had a wonderful time here at our Sons wedding. Would recommend this venue to anyone. The staff were very attentive and kind. A few rooms did have a problem with being rather hot,others did have aircon. The food was terrific both at the reception and at breakfast the following day .The children were well catered for with their food and again nothing was to much trouble. A big thank you Menzies for giving us and our guests such a great day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashleigh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your son's wedding with us, your review has been shared with the team who made the big day so memorable.
I note your comments about bedrooms being warm and can confirm our Executive rooms all come with air conditioning.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Just had our whole wedding at the menzies hotel on the 5th june 2010,the staff were outstanding.They couldn't do enough for us or our guests.A big thanks to Amanda & Lech you were brilliant.Everybody at the wedding commented on how wonderful ALL the staff were.They really made our day extra special.Everything was perfect with the hotel can't fault anything.Would recommend this hotel to everyone is planning a wedding.Thanks again to all at the menzies hotel from Amanda & Lee

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandalee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Thank you for leaving us your review and I'm pleased that your big day was so memorable and you all enjoyed your time at the hotel. I have passed your special thanks on to Amanda and Lech and the rest of the team.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Stayed with friends for a golfing weekend Excellent course and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys playing a superb course. I had the pleasure of meeting Robert Parker ,the hotels deputy manager, who ensured we had an ejoyable stay.Will return to this hotel again both for golf and a retreat with the wife!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandapopsSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
Thank you for choosing The Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club and I’m pleased you had an enjoyable golfing break with us. I will pass on your comments regarding the golf course to the team who maintain it in such great condition. I’m pleased that you personally met Rob who ensured you were well looked after all weekend, your kind comments have been shared with him.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

As I was meeting a girlfirend, I booked a twin room through Booking.com, however apparently you have to call and request a twin room and we ended up with a double bed! The receptionist wasn't particularly helpful and as the hotel was full we were stuck with it. Be warned.
The room was clean but had an ancient hairdryer. I called for a decent one to be brought up which took 2 phonecalls and about 20 mins, not great service.

The dinner menu was produced as one sheet of paper, by this time covered in marks which wasn't too professional looking. Dinner was OK but not great value for money at £25 each.
This was my first stay in a Menzies hotel - never again

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank McCloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
Thank you for leaving us your review and I am sorry that you did not get the room type needed. When using this website they sell the double and twin rooms as the same, sleeping 2 persons. You would need to add in the comment on the booking should you wish to specify a certain room type. Usually we are able to accommodate any room changes on the day, but unfortunately as the hotel was fully booked on twin rooms when you arrived we were unable to, please accept my apology for this.

I note your comment relating to the hairdryer in your room and whilst common for hotels to have these styles, we have replaced the majority of them here. We have a selection of rooms where there are a few older ones, however new ones with hair styling attachments can be requested from reception. I'm sorry it took so long for your requested one to be delivered.

Since your visit we have changed our menu at the weekend to offer more variety and value and certainly should not be giving out menus that are marked or worn. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

If you would like to discuss your experiences at the hotel personally, please feel free to contact me. We constantly strive to exceed our customers’ expectations and I'm sorry that we did not achieve this on your visit. If you wish to return again in the future I would be more than happy to oversee your reservation personally to ensure your experience is enjoyable. We value all feedback and I thank you for your review.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Hill hotels

Show Prices
London
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We were not disappointed with this hotel during our long weekend stay.

The rooms were very clean with a very comfortable bed and good bathroom with all the toiletries we could wish for plus lovely towelling robes.

We made good use of the leisure facilities which all added to a very relaxing weekend. The golf course was interesting and of a very good standard.

The food was very good with plenty of selection on the menu and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

This is a very comfortable hotel with some five star touches at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPatsyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for leaving us your review and I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Your kind comments in relation to the service level and food quality have been shared with the team.

Thank you for choosing the Menzies Cambridge Hotel & Golf Club and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We were looking for a hotel with a golf club attached and found the Menzies Cambridge Hotel and what a lucky find it was! We were a group of 4 couples celebrating a "special" birthday for one of our party and this hotel turned out to be just "perfect". What a wonderful time we had! Our deluxe rooms were lovely, nice towels and towelling robes along with complimentary bottled water, twix and pringles - plus wine and strawberries. Felt truly pampered - old cliché I know, but, little things really do matter!

The golf course was a "good test of golf" and was enjoyed by the golfers in our party. We made full use of the pool/jacuzzi/sauna - all lovely. The bar and restaurant were perfect for a relaxing lunch/dinner. The dinner menu was good and the food very tasteful and plentiful - served by very pleasant friendly staff.

Rob Parker was on hand the whole weekend - he couldn't have been kinder and his staff were amazing - so verey professional and friendly. The only thing Rob couldn’t sort out for us was the terrible weather! Still cannot do everything I suppose!

The Hotel is a little way out of Cambridge but there is bus stop 2mins away with a frequent service into the city.

We left the Cambridge Hotel feeling very relaxed and all commented on the perfect relaxing weekend we had had in Cambridge – so thank you!!

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmgr1, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for leaving us your review and I'm pleased you had a great time with us, it was good that I got to meet you all too.

I have passed your comments to the team and in particular to Rob who I know went out of his way to make your few days with us memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a Menzies Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Hill
8.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
4.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,161 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
1,016 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Cambridge
Ramada Cambridge
#1 of 1 in Boxworth
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Cambridge

Property: Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Address: Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Cambriddge is Located right on the A14, just a mile from the M11 and 5 miles northeast from the heart of Cambridge. The hotel has ample parking, a beautiful golf course, 136 comfy bedrooms, flexible meeting rooms and a lovely health club - it has absolutely everything you need for a successful business trip or relaxing short break in Cambridge. A hotel that has it all Free WiFi throughout. Located just 5 miles from Cambridge city centre Plenty of parking - complimentary when booking your stay direct with the hotel. £10 over night charge otherwise. 136 bedrooms including family bedrooms for up to 5 Brasserie, lounge and bar The Cambridgeshire Golf Course - 18-hole 2 tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, fitness suite and treatment rooms Sauna, steam-room, spa bath Ideal wedding venue for up to 180 guests 10 versatile meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates Sky Sports and BT Sport now available in the bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge Bar Hill, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing