We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed two nights on a Travelzoo deal, great value ,easy access from M11. Included room upgrade to executive room which had extra bed in so good size. Restaurant disappointing as no ambience at all. Buffet breakfast ok, plenty of choice, often needed replenishing and had to ask staff. Evening meal on Friday from menu was good, house red very drinkable. However Saturday night we were greeted with a buffet !! Not what we expected at all as had chosen our meal the previous night from the menu. However the F and B Manager saved the day and let us have our menu choices after checking with chef. The Reception staff were great too, good advice about getting the bus to the city rather than driving and trying to park. Bus stops outside hotel. Never played golf course but walked it and looked in good condition, only 8 people on there playing. Unfortunately never tried Spa or pool either so cannot comment, but open to public.

Room Tip: Asked for quiet room, but 216 over the entrance area so wasn't quiet ! Also if function rooms be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiesquirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights to deliver a training course. The training rooms and break out areas were ideal for our purposes and the conference team were on the ball providing good support throughout our event. In fact all the staff I came into contact with during my stay were friendly and helpful. My room was fairly typical of modern hotels of this standard, it was clean, comfortable, if a bit on the small side with an en-suite to match.The food was plentiful on the conference package we were on and there was enough variety each day.The food was not gourmet, but it was well cooked and presented, Service in the restaurant was good and the kitchen was able to accommodate our varied timetable. A good venue

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is really easy access from M11, and what a delight it was. The rooms are very comfy with comfortable beds, free wifi access and HUGE fluffy bath towels! That sounds a bit trite but it is rare to encounter bath towels that you can wrap yourself in. The leisure facilities were good with a very helpful member of staff on duty. Which brings me to the staff - what a lovely bunch of people, especially the lady who greeted us at breakfast and lunch, who, when she asked if we had slept well, really looked as if she was interested. The food was plentiful and well cooked, I was here for a conference and, apart from one or two hiccups, we could not have been made more welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

More like a motel than a hotel but very good value particularly if you buy a package deal. Very comfortable room and reasonable bathroom with nice towels. No real aspect from the room though. The best thing about the hotel was the staff. They were all extremely friendly, helpful and smiley. The breakfast was good and plenty of it, dinner was OK not anything special but nicely cooked basic food. Overall the hotel was outstanding value and free parking was also a plus. Not far into Cambridge and you can catch a bus if you wish into the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the hotel to the road - much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolAnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is located about 8 miles north of Cambridge on the A14 which changes to the M11 after a few miles towards Cambridge itself.
The hotel is a typical modern hotel.Our room was not very large with a small undersized bath.Very warm room with faulty thermostat on the radiator which as reported on leaving.
Breakfast very good,evening meal has a quite a small menu.Not altogether a bad fault as the larger menu can bring its own problems in the kitchen.Evening dinner nothing special,but acceptable.
The hotel is situated at Bar Hill which is a modern housing and industrial development,not every persons choice as nothing much to do in the immediate area unless you play golf or use hotel pool and exercise facilities.
The area does however sport the largest Tesco store in the UK about 500 yards away if you are really bored.
Quite easy to negotiate the journey to the city and pick up the park and ride at a choice of points.
We chose the Trumpington park and ride after taking the M11 junction no.11 turn off.About 12 minutes by car.
Good facilities at this park and ride,clean coaches and a good point to start a journey into the old part of the city.
Journey costs £2.60 one way from the ticket machine or £2.90 from the driver or if you have a bus pass it is free of charge after 9.30am.
Cambridge has certainly got the park and ride facility sorted very well indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent two nights here with a couple of friends on a £99 per night deal from Travelzoo. Mothe deal was accommodation, breakfast, three course dinner and a glass of prosecco. Can't argue with those prices.
However, food was OK but not brilliant, fo example belly pork dry, a bit tough and no crackling. Service friendly but amateurish
Good sized room but we could not get the over bath shower to work. On checking out the receptionist acknowledged that the controls are "very hard to use"
We were woken both nights by noises from the air conditioning system.
All in all a pleasant weekend but I would have been unhappy paying full price.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our rooms were basic but fine. Certainly not 4*, but nothing wrong with them.We had a package deal that included two nights accommodation, 3 rounds of golf, 2 breakfast & 2 dinners. £178 total Outstanding value!

The staff were all particularly nice and helpful.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ashok P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Hill
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,081 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Lolworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Cambridge
Ramada Cambridge
#1 of 1 in Boxworth
510 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Cambridge

Address: Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range: $87 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Cambriddge is Located right on the A14, just a mile from the M11 and 5 miles northeast from the heart of Cambridge. The hotel has ample parking, a beautiful golf course, 136 comfy bedrooms, flexible meeting rooms and a lovely health club - it has absolutely everything you need for a successful business trip or relaxing short break in Cambridge. A hotel that has it all Free WiFi throughout. Located just 5 miles from Cambridge city centre Plenty of parking - complimentary when booking your stay direct with the hotel. £10 over night charge otherwise. 136 bedrooms including family bedrooms for up to 5 Brasserie, lounge and bar The Cambridgeshire Golf Course - 18-hole 2 tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, fitness suite and treatment rooms Sauna, steam-room, spa bath Ideal wedding venue for up to 180 guests 10 versatile meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates Sky Sports and BT Sport now available in the bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge Bar Hill, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing