We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good friendly and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good friendly and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Upon arrival ask for a quiet room away from the main road. We stayed here Friday and Saturday night as we were visiting Cambridge for the weekend. Next time we would book a Hotel nearer Cambridge as you are unable to walk into the city, despite a very good bus service passing the Hotel frequently. If the Hotel is very busy i.e with coach loads and using the restaurant - it takes a long time to be served. Found that the restaurant and the above area, i.e the bar - very noisy, with people talking out loud and the sound obviously travels.

Room Tip: Make sure that you request a room away from the busy main road which you have to travel on to reach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelAngelo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    429
    334
    151
    104
See reviews for
179
517
39
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rendlesham, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I went to the Cambridge Menzies for a day conference. The lunch food was terrible; no provision for vegetarians at all despite asking for veggy food a fortnight in advance. No herb teas in the break. Room very hot and stuffy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Nina, thank you for contacting me and please accept my apologies if there were any mis-communications yesterday regarding your dietary requirements. Your e mail has been received at our Head Office and they are therefore aware of your concerns. Yesterday we had 4 different conferences at the hotel with over 100 delegates in total in attendance. We literally cater for thousands of guests every week and always have menus designed for any dietary needs and indeed vegetarians and I have to honestly say we very rarely get any negative feedback about our catering offerings in this respect. Lunches are mostly buffets and contain multiple ingredients to satisfy most diets, always offering freshly prepared selections and for our conference lunch yesterday there were over 30 items to choose from including to name but a few - vegetarian dishes, fresh fruit, entrees, breads, carrot and coriander soup and cheese boards.

We were passed your e mail with dietary requests from the event organiser and therefore informed of your request for “yoghurt and fruit” in the morning and a “plated salad with crispbread” for lunch – which I was aware we duly delivered to you. I am sorry we did not have any of the other ingredients you had requested on the day and quite rightly your salad should not have contained onion as you had highlighted this request to us – this was an error on our part and I do hope this was quickly rectified. I know Sumith and Debbie tried to deal with the situation as best as possible and some alternative cheese was offered to accompany your requested plated salad but this was refused.

We do have a selection of fruit teas & infusions available on request and I know from speaking with Debbie she did give you a selection at coffee breaks. I’m sorry on one occasion you could not find a staff member and chose to go directly in to our kitchen, I would always advise against action like this due to any health and safety implications; our bars, reception and business centre are manned all day and numerous operational staff were working and could have helped with this request. We do have permanent tea chests and hot water in the coffee machines set up in our café for conference delegates and I apologise if this area was not brought to your attention.

Finally, the main organiser of the event you attended did leave us her feedback and overall was very satisfied with the day as were all the other conferences we looked after yesterday as I personally spoke with most of the organisers.

Nina, I will also put a copy of this response on Trip Advisor against your negative review which I must say is disappointing to read, especially seeing how you have raised your concerns directly with myself and given no opportunity for me to respond prior to you posting your review.

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Hill hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had booked the hotel for our wedding at the end of August. Stephanie who dealt with us was very good and helped with some of the odd requests we had. Myself and some of the wedding party stayed the night before. We placed our room service order on the door for breakfast but when I woke the next day it hadn't been collected. I raised it with reception who were very apologetic and quickly got us our breakfast. All the staff were amazing especially Stephanie and Debbie (think I have that right, she made the day run smooth). We had access to rooms to put all gifts and to store items in. The food was fantastic and came quickly. The day ran smoothly and from the outside you could hardly hear the traffic of the a14. The hotels DJ was excellent and some of us even bumped into a few famous people to top the day off. Fantastic hotel and I can not thank all the staff there enough for what they did. The breakfast the next morning was lovely, fried breakfast, cereal and bread. Highly recommend this hotel for a normal stay or for a wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweetbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formosa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I are in our 60s and are experienced travelers.We have recently had a 4 day stay at this Hotel.For the first three days it was excellent and close to perfect.From our Room,Breakfast,Evening Meal to the Staff we would have awarded a certificate of excellence.(if we could have)
Sadly on the last evening and Breakfast the following morning the standard dropped alarmingly. The Evening meal was awful and certainly ranks as one of the least enjoyable we have had on our travels. Too many points to mention but the food was cold, a poor choice and small portions. At Breakfast there seemed to be a staff shortage with tables being left uncleared, no pots of tea or coffee being brought to the tables near us, (but some tables did get pots to show the inconsistency) instead we had to catch the eye of an overworked waitress to just get one cup.The service wasn't running well and there didn't seem to be anyone taking control unlike the other days.
In the course of one day our mark dropped from 99 to about 40 and we don't feel that a four star Hotel should have such a large drop in standard.We would expect consistency which is why our overall rating dropped from Excellent to Average.After three days we found it very hard to think that anyone could write a poor review about the the Menzies but we then saw for ourselves how it could happen.
Another point even though neither of us wanted to use the swimming pool, is it was closed for the whole of our stay despite a sign stating it was going to open on day 2.
On a brighter note, the staff were really excellent in ALL areas of the Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Eduardo A, firstly thank you for leaving us your review and I have shared this with my team. It is a real shame that we seem to have not delivered the usual standards on your last night with us and rest assured I will investigate this to understand where the shortcoming were. I'm pleased that overall you had a great break with us and in particular it is nice to read your comments about the staff.

I note your comment about the swimming pool and again apology that it was not repaired in the timeframe we advertised. The pump was due to be flown over from Spain to fit on the Monday, but unfortunately suffered delays with the courier of 48 hours.

Thank you again for leaving us your review and it will be used constructively to review our service levels you have highlighted.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked for just one night. B and B for £77. Very good value. Hotel is popular - at least two coach parties. Friendly welcome from reception staff at check in. Room on first floor - good size, comfortable double bed (two singles) Clean and bright bathroom. Free WiFi easily logged on with iPad. Didn't have evening meal but very good buffet breakfast. Special mention here for Elizabeth - although busy with coach party that had all come down at 7am, at 7.20 we were welcomed with a smile and friendly and attentive service - and an apology if a few things were missing or very low - they weren't and were topped up regularly - good kitchen too. On departure friendly reception staff again.

Only negative point is that it is beside the A14 which is busy 24/7 and road noise is noticeable if window is open. But didn't bother us.

Although not going into Cambridge ourselves I understand there is a regular bus service which is probably best to use as parking in Cambridge is not good. I have used Cambridge Park and Ride services in the past which are good - but you may as well keep car at the hotel and get the bus from outside the hotel.

All in all a very pleasant short stay and excellent value - would highly recommend and would stay again and for more than one night if visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winerunner52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Travelled to Cambridge UK ...my university town...to show my children. The hotel is out of town but the ride is beautiful. Rooms are big. Very beautiful location. Good breakfast. Have a golf course and swimming pool. Excellent value for money. I recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Light-a-candle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cannot fault the level of service from one of the team members. Thibaut's customer service was faultless he could not do enough to look after our group.He remained later than his shift in order to make sure that our group were properly looked after. He is a great ambassador for your business

Business

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tweedaletye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Hill
8.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
4.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
5.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Cambridge

Property: Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Address: Farburn Terrace | Cambridge, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Cambriddge is Located right on the A14, just a mile from the M11 and 5 miles northeast from the heart of Cambridge. The hotel has ample parking, a beautiful golf course, 136 comfy bedrooms, flexible meeting rooms and a lovely health club - it has absolutely everything you need for a successful business trip or relaxing short break in Cambridge. A hotel that has it all Free WiFi throughout. Located just 5 miles from Cambridge city centre Plenty of parking - complimentary when booking your stay direct with the hotel. £10 over night charge otherwise. 136 bedrooms including family bedrooms for up to 5 Brasserie, lounge and bar The Cambridgeshire Golf Course - 18-hole 2 tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, fitness suite and treatment rooms Sauna, steam-room, spa bath Ideal wedding venue for up to 180 guests 10 versatile meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates Sky Sports and BT Sport now available in the bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge Bar Hill, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing