We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay - excellent value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good stay - excellent value.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked for just one night. B and B for £77. Very good value. Hotel is popular - at least two coach parties. Friendly welcome from reception staff at check in. Room on first floor - good size, comfortable double bed (two singles) Clean and bright bathroom. Free WiFi easily logged on with iPad. Didn't have evening meal but very good buffet breakfast. Special mention here for Elizabeth - although busy with coach party that had all come down at 7am, at 7.20 we were welcomed with a smile and friendly and attentive service - and an apology if a few things were missing or very low - they weren't and were topped up regularly - good kitchen too. On departure friendly reception staff again.

Only negative point is that it is beside the A14 which is busy 24/7 and road noise is noticeable if window is open. But didn't bother us.

Although not going into Cambridge ourselves I understand there is a regular bus service which is probably best to use as parking in Cambridge is not good. I have used Cambridge Park and Ride services in the past which are good - but you may as well keep car at the hotel and get the bus from outside the hotel.

All in all a very pleasant short stay and excellent value - would highly recommend and would stay again and for more than one night if visiting Cambridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winerunner52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    428
    334
    150
    104
See reviews for
179
516
39
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Travelled to Cambridge UK ...my university town...to show my children. The hotel is out of town but the ride is beautiful. Rooms are big. Very beautiful location. Good breakfast. Have a golf course and swimming pool. Excellent value for money. I recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Light-a-candle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cannot fault the level of service from one of the team members. Thibaut's customer service was faultless he could not do enough to look after our group.He remained later than his shift in order to make sure that our group were properly looked after. He is a great ambassador for your business

Business

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tweedaletye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We paid £96 for a 1 night stay with Breakfast. Checking was fast. Staff polite and very helpful. On arrival we decided to use the Waves facilities. These we found were in a pretty poor state. They are dated and could do with cleaning. The complementary towels had seen better days. The pool itself was far to old to be enjoyable and he Jacuzzi was taken up by a group of 6 women who seemed to be putting the worlds to rights as they didn't budge for the whole to e we were there.
We ordered drinks and snacks. The Sandwich we ordered and paid for was not available and on choosing another which was cheaper no offer of a refund in the difference was offered!
The room itself was adequate. The bathroom could again do with some updating. We requested and paid extra for breakfast in our room. This was 15mins late and cold with the mushrooms seemingly uncooked and the Toast was little more than once warm bread.
Travel by cab to Cambridge centre was £12 by a local company helpfully arranged by the reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okydoky25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I made a group booking for 14 people, which involed multiple rooms as well the use of a function room and dinner in the evening. Every member of staff we dealt with were courteous and extremely helpful. Everything we requested both before our visit and during our stay was done exactly as we asked. Would recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic! and that is for the staff who throughout our two night stay were Fantastic! Our room was big, airy, clean with everything you would expect. Room service was excellent. The hotel was very busy with weddings on both of the nights of our stay but this did not affect our experience of the hotel. This hotel is a great base to see Cambridge as you can leave your car and hop on a bus (£3.90 day return) just around the corner and you are in the centre within 10 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryr072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked two nights in Cambridge over the Bank Holiday weekend and this was the first hotel. The room itself was clean but basic and having settled in we noticed we had a problem with our TV which had a noise bar running across it. We telephoned reception who said that they would send someone up to look. The gentleman who arrived was most helpful, especially when the TV right on cue, decided to work properly. He fiddled with it and told us that if it happened again we were to contact reception. Unfortunately it did happen again on two occasions but eventually the gentleman, who turned out to be the stand in manager, seemed to fiddle with the leads and all was well. He was most apologetic and asked us if we would be dining in the restaurant that evening. As we had already eaten en route to the hotel we advised him that we did not think that we would.
Within an hour we had had a knock on the door with two glasses. We looked at each other and realised that the bottle which should accompany them was missing. A phone call within 5 minutes from the manager and another apology had us laughing especially when he told us that our stay would be a memorable one for him as well as us. Another knock on the door and a bottle of bubbly arrived courtesy of the manager. I would like to say that he was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure that we were happy with the hotel's service.
The breakfast the next day was excellent, although a buffet it was hot and fresh and the waiting staff worked hard to ensure that tables were kept clean ready for the next guests. I was most impressed with the food and the dining room seemed to run very smoothly.
All in all it was a pleasant stay, the only thing I would say is that the room itself was very warm and would have benefitted from an air conditioning unit. The window was only able to let in a small amount of air. Also a fridge would have been a great addition to the room.
Thank you again to the stand in manager, I do not remember his name but he said that he had been sent to the hotel for a period of a month and he originally came from Sri Lanka, he was a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnyhand7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Hill
8.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
4.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,114 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
972 reviews
5.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Cambridge

Property: Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Address: Farburn Terrace | Cambridge, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Cambriddge is Located right on the A14, just a mile from the M11 and 5 miles northeast from the heart of Cambridge. The hotel has ample parking, a beautiful golf course, 136 comfy bedrooms, flexible meeting rooms and a lovely health club - it has absolutely everything you need for a successful business trip or relaxing short break in Cambridge. A hotel that has it all Free WiFi throughout. Located just 5 miles from Cambridge city centre Plenty of parking - complimentary when booking your stay direct with the hotel. £10 over night charge otherwise. 136 bedrooms including family bedrooms for up to 5 Brasserie, lounge and bar The Cambridgeshire Golf Course - 18-hole 2 tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, fitness suite and treatment rooms Sauna, steam-room, spa bath Ideal wedding venue for up to 180 guests 10 versatile meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates Sky Sports and BT Sport now available in the bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge Bar Hill, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing