We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent a Getaway here last year and had a wonderful time. it was only £99 for 2 adults, inc breakfast and dinner on one night. The room was warm and comfortable. Easy access by car or public transport.I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Majd1, thank you for leaving us your review and I was pleased you had an enjoyable time with us last year. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    453
    353
    156
    108
See reviews for
196
540
40
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had booked in to stay overnight at The Cambridge Hotel prior to playing golf on Sunday. Service in the dining room was extremely poor and at times was aggressive with no comprehension that the customer is usually right; the menu was extremely limited; knowledge of the menu and the wine list was patchy at best; and at lunchtime in the club house we were informed that there were no baguettes and no paninis restricting choice yet again. I don't know what had happened to their stock control. We were informed by the staff that they were all intending to leave, that the hotel was employing staff whose English was poor and didn't understand customer service and encouraging us to write in and complain. Throughout our time there management was conspicuous by its absence. Not a pleasant experience at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Alan G, I'm sorry that you had some issues with the catering whilst you were staying at the hotel and know you have contacted the hotel later via our website with your feedback. Now I have your contact details I will call you to have a conversation about those issues you have highlighted and I can then address any training with those team members concerned.

It is disappointing that you did not mention any of these points whilst you were staying in the hotel or at check out when Taylor asked you about your stay, I was here Sunday also and we did not get any negative feedback on check out, especially about the catering in fact everyone was very positive and a review was posted prior to yours from a guest staying on the same weekend which was very positive about service and food. I understand we have expectations to deliver and on occasions we can get things wrong, we always have duty managers on shift and typically over the weekends we have 3-4 of them working who could have assisted and resolved had you have let us know of any disappointments. I don't think the title of your review "A hotel to avoid" is particularly helpful or reflective of your entire stay, clearly you had some isolated incidents with the catering and generally we get very positive feedback as you can see from the other reviews posted. I will be in contact with you personally to discuss your feedback.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Hill hotels

Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as I was running a two day meeting there. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff there and the staff in charge of the Conference facilities were always there to help when we needed it. My room was extremely comfortable, the food in the restaurant was stunning and the staff there were knowledgeable and helpful. A fantastic stay and I would recommend this hotel - would willingly use this hotel again for a business trip or for pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Mike E, thanks for leaving us your review and I was so pleased to read that you had a pleasant time with us and your meeting was a success. I have shared your feedback with the team and we do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Fantastic place totally relaxing in every way , staff very friendly and happy to help with anything you need .
Location is fantastic there loads to do around the area via bus/ car .
Will definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Andyr56, thanks for choosing to stay with us and leaving your review. I'm pleased you found the hotel to be a great base for exploring the local area.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Many thanks

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Situated close to the A14 this is a modern hotel starting to show signs of its age. The rooms were a good size with all the amenities you would expect of a hotel of this type. Whilst close to Cambridge it is still quite a drive into the city centre. The service was very good, I had a problem with the food being overcooked and it was dealt with promptly and professionally, so full marks here. The food seemed to lack flavour overall and was disappointing, breakfast was buffet style, good quality but as usual with buffets, eggs rock hard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstirGrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear AstirGrob, thank you for choosing to stay with us and leaving us your review which I have shared with the team. I'm sorry that there was a problem with your main course being over cooked and pleased this was addressed at the time. I have shared your feedback regarding flavour of the meals with the Head Chef however we have not had any other feedback of that nature recently but will keep reviewing with that in mind.

Pleased that overall you had a good business stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A group of friends and myself stayed at Menzies Cambridge at the weekend for 1 night, we had a fabulous time. The staff are lovely and the restaurant food was amazing, I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Arnold32, thank you for leaving us your review and choosing to stay at Menzies Cambridge. I have shared your kind comment with the team and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here two nights for a local conference and was impressed: large clean and very well equipped room with all the amenities expected of a true 4-star hotel: free coffee/tea, water, biscuits and snacks; free Wi-Fi throughout; towel robes, slippers, great toiletries, etc. etc. : excellent value at £100 BB. One small niggle was the considerable gurgling noise from the heating/ air conditioning pipes.

Very good breakfast – traditional but well organised and coping well when busy. Bar service efficient as was the serving of delicious bar meals.

Above all the outstanding aspect was the obvious effort that had gone into staff training. Without exception everybody was friendly, courteous, pro-active and used their initiative. There was excellent, unobtrusive management supervision and great teamwork: somebody needs lot of Smartie points for all the effort that has paid off in this area.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear John, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I have shared your review with the team. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel and staff so welcoming and hope your conference was a success.

I note your comment about a gurgling sound from the air conditioning system in your room and we will check the condenser to ensure no blockage caused this sound.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Menzies Hotels again in the future.

Kind regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Hill
8.5 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,311 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
1,019 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Cambridge

Property: Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Address: Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Cambriddge is Located right on the A14, just a mile from the M11 and 5 miles northeast from the heart of Cambridge. The hotel has ample parking, a beautiful golf course, 136 comfy bedrooms, flexible meeting rooms and a lovely health club - it has absolutely everything you need for a successful business trip or relaxing short break in Cambridge. A hotel that has it all Free WiFi throughout. Located just 5 miles from Cambridge city centre Plenty of parking - complimentary when booking your stay direct with the hotel. £10 over night charge otherwise. 136 bedrooms including family bedrooms for up to 5 Brasserie, lounge and bar The Cambridgeshire Golf Course - 18-hole 2 tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, fitness suite and treatment rooms Sauna, steam-room, spa bath Ideal wedding venue for up to 180 guests 10 versatile meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates Sky Sports and BT Sport now available in the bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge Bar Hill, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing