We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, food could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good service, food could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Situated close to the A14 this is a modern hotel starting to show signs of its age. The rooms were a good size with all the amenities you would expect of a hotel of this type. Whilst close to Cambridge it is still quite a drive into the city centre. The service was very good, I had a problem with the food being overcooked and it was dealt with promptly and professionally, so full marks here. The food seemed to lack flavour overall and was disappointing, breakfast was buffet style, good quality but as usual with buffets, eggs rock hard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstirGrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear AstirGrob, thank you for choosing to stay with us and leaving us your review which I have shared with the team. I'm sorry that there was a problem with your main course being over cooked and pleased this was addressed at the time. I have shared your feedback regarding flavour of the meals with the Head Chef however we have not had any other feedback of that nature recently but will keep reviewing with that in mind.

Pleased that overall you had a good business stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    429
    334
    151
    104
See reviews for
179
517
39
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

A group of friends and myself stayed at Menzies Cambridge at the weekend for 1 night, we had a fabulous time. The staff are lovely and the restaurant food was amazing, I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Arnold32, thank you for leaving us your review and choosing to stay at Menzies Cambridge. I have shared your kind comment with the team and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here two nights for a local conference and was impressed: large clean and very well equipped room with all the amenities expected of a true 4-star hotel: free coffee/tea, water, biscuits and snacks; free Wi-Fi throughout; towel robes, slippers, great toiletries, etc. etc. : excellent value at £100 BB. One small niggle was the considerable gurgling noise from the heating/ air conditioning pipes.

Very good breakfast – traditional but well organised and coping well when busy. Bar service efficient as was the serving of delicious bar meals.

Above all the outstanding aspect was the obvious effort that had gone into staff training. Without exception everybody was friendly, courteous, pro-active and used their initiative. There was excellent, unobtrusive management supervision and great teamwork: somebody needs lot of Smartie points for all the effort that has paid off in this area.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear John, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I have shared your review with the team. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel and staff so welcoming and hope your conference was a success.

I note your comment about a gurgling sound from the air conditioning system in your room and we will check the condenser to ensure no blockage caused this sound.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Menzies Hotels again in the future.

Kind regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed on a saturday night, before attending a christening. The staff were very helpful, polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was of a good standard. We ate an evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant, which were both a great deal and good food. We also used the Lounge terrace for a drink on the saturday afternoon, a lovely setting. If we visit Cambridge again will certainly use this hotel.

I had read some negative reports on here before we went, but found no problems at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear jumar14, thanks for choosing to stay at Menzies Cambridge and leaving us your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I have shared your feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Menzies in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just come back from a golf tip to this hotel. The golf course and facilities were very good, however the catering service was poor. After our round the golf lounge could not serve us any food so sent us to the hotel lounge at the other end of the building. The food there was much more expensive and took over 30 minutes for a couple of tuna sandwiches to arrive - hardly anyone else there and no apology for the wait. Two others had tuna panini which had very little filling and was cold. Go for the golf but take your own lunch!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank N2979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear N2979, I was sorry to read your review regarding the catering last weekend. As a local golfer from Ely visiting the course we really do value your feedback and it is a shame that you did not speak to the pro shop or duty manager at the time. All our food is freshly prepared and it was very busy last weekend, so sorry if there were any delays with your sandwiches. Usually when dining in the Golf bar food is served within 10-25 minutes depending what is ordered and certainly I apologise if sandwiches took 30 minutes in the Gallery bar. There are obviously occasion within golf catering whereby you never know how busy you may be as golfers are very transient, so on occasions we do have peaks which can cause slight delays. The Golf bar is open daily, but stops serving food 30 minutes prior to closing time and then all golfers are directed to the Gallery bar for any refreshments. I appreciate that this may cause inconvenience on occasions if you go to the Golf bar near to closing time wanting a bite to eat and then get diverted to another bar and I do apologise for this. All of our opening times are published around the golf club however last Sunday I know we had our Golf bar chef take poorly and food was stopped slightly earlier as we had to close the Golf bar at 3pm (normally 5pm) which I can only presume was the day you visited the course and clearly this was an isolated incident.

I'm glad you enjoyed the golf course and rest assured on your next visit you will see catering as per normal.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Hill hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I were treated to a spa break by our son and his wife and although only a one night stay we both enjoyed the experience. We were booked in for dinner, breakfast and treatments in the Waves spa. Our room was spacious enough, clean and with a super king size bed. All of the staff were friendly and efficient - especially those in Waves, who really looked after us very well indeed. I am surprised at previous negative comments about the restaurant service and food. OK- it is not particularly imaginative but was nicely presented and of a good standard for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear luckjohn, thank you for leaving us your review and choosing to stay with us in Cambridge. I have shared your comments with the team, especially the Waves staff and pleased you enjoyed the hotels facilities and had a nice short break with us.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay at this hotel. The hotel staff were all very friendly and polite. Our rooms were spacious, bright and clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. We travelled into London during our stay here and it was easily accessible from the hotel. Would recommend this hotel and will definitely return again in the future as great location and good value for money.

.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Karen T, thanks for leaving us your review and firstly choosing to stay at Menzies Cambridge. I'm glad you had a great few days with your family and the hotel proved to be a good base for exploring locally and London.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Hill
8.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
4.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
5.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Cambridge

Property: Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Address: Farburn Terrace | Cambridge, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Cambriddge is Located right on the A14, just a mile from the M11 and 5 miles northeast from the heart of Cambridge. The hotel has ample parking, a beautiful golf course, 136 comfy bedrooms, flexible meeting rooms and a lovely health club - it has absolutely everything you need for a successful business trip or relaxing short break in Cambridge. A hotel that has it all Free WiFi throughout. Located just 5 miles from Cambridge city centre Plenty of parking - complimentary when booking your stay direct with the hotel. £10 over night charge otherwise. 136 bedrooms including family bedrooms for up to 5 Brasserie, lounge and bar The Cambridgeshire Golf Course - 18-hole 2 tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, fitness suite and treatment rooms Sauna, steam-room, spa bath Ideal wedding venue for up to 180 guests 10 versatile meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates Sky Sports and BT Sport now available in the bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge Bar Hill, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing