We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel- Shame about the service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel- Shame about the service!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here Wednesday 20th February 2013.
This is a very nice hotel, nicely decorated, light and airy. What lets it down unfortunately is the service. Having ordered a meal in the lounge to allow for watching the football on the big screen the staff were clearly under pressure and unfamiliar with their surroundings.They seemed more concerned with receiving payment in advance of the meal. Constant complaints from other guests over delays to their orders accosted me as I was placing my own order. These complaints were unfortunately justified as a simple French Onion Soup and Cheese Omelette took over 90 minutes to arrive and when it did, like the proverbial buses, my starter and main course arrived at the same time! Worse, they were both cold and had clearly been lying for some time despite me enquiring about my order several times prior to eventually being served. Upon talking to the chap behind the bar who also covered off waitering duties, he confirmed a "series of unfortunate events" meant that the staff on duty this evening were all co-opted in from other areas and not the regulars. This is fine if it was a `one-off' but talking to several other regular customers (all now actively looking for alternative accommodation) this is a regular occurence and there is a major disconnect between the kitchen and front of house.Until this hotel sorts out this issue it will continue to leave residents, exhasperated and disappointed. Such a shame as if the service issues/delays can be addressed, everything else should make staying at this hotel a pleasure!

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere if you dont have three hours to kill!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your feedback and firstly please accept my apology for the slow service in the bar on Wednesday. Without making excuses; and your comment was correct about the usual bar staff not being on duty due to sickness, so the bar was manned by staff from a different department albeit they are trained in the bars operation.

We introduced a new menu on monday this week in the Reastaurant which has taken off and proved to be very popular. On Wednesday we had 66 diners all wanting to eat at the same time between 7.30pm and 8.30pm. Usually the Restaurant has a steady flow of diners between 7pm and 9.30pm, but on this occasion and partly due to the Half Term we had many Leisure Guests that wanted to dine earlier from this new menu.

As all the menus are cooked to order, the kitchen was therefore backed up and diners suffered delays until this was cleared. This is certainly not the norm and I do apologise. We do not get many diners ordering 2 or more courses in the bar, the courses were served together and this was an over sight. I'm sorry if the soup was not as hot as you would have liked it when your meal did arrive, I know from speaking with Adam he changed it immediately for you.

Please let me know when you are next here and we would like to treat you to dinner in the Restaurant from the new menu as a goodwill gesture to restore your faith.

Kind regards

Shaun

P.s - I can be contacted via the main reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    428
    334
    150
    104
See reviews for
179
516
39
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a weekend with my wife and baby. The pool is excellent, with a great children section and our baby loved paddling in it. We had dinner in the restaurant one night which was good.

On the second night we ate in the bar, which was quite poor. Bar food was expensive and small portions, they had also run out of some of the vegetarian options and I ended up with a dull roll - I wished I'd gone to Tesco down the road for a quarter of the price and twice the quality!

Overall a very clean and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The room was lovely large and clean, the bed comfy. However as we were told we would be unable to eat in the restaurant until 9:30 we decided to have the lounge menu in the bar. The food finally arrived at about ten, over an hour and a half after ordering it. If we had been told about this wait, we would have driven back into Cambridge and eaten ther howver alcohol had been consumed before we were informed that the restaurant was busy hence the delay. By the time the food arrived we were hungry and tired enough to eat pretty much anything and it was a good job. My smoked slamon was served with stale bread and without a salad, the ciabatta was so hard you couldn't bite into it and the chips and steak merely luke warm. The television system was slightly baffling and the water pressure in the shower was abysmal and the dial virtually impossible to turn - my shared bathroom at university has a more effective shower. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna were however a lovely way to start the day. The staff were reasonably helpful particularly when one of our reserved rooms couldn't be found and it became clear we had been made to pay for one of the rooms twice.
I'm sure the hotel is normally lovely but this weekend the catering seemed to have bitten off more than they could handle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afs349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun V, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for leaving us your feedback and pleased that in general you enjoyed your stay and the hotels facilities and staff. I'm sorry we could not accommodate your dinner time when you wanted it, we do ask at check in if dining is required and I know due to the Valentines packages we had running the restaurant and kitchen was very busy on saturday. Your comments about the bar meals and quality of food have been discussed with our chef and please accept my apology and I do hope we rectified when you made us aware of it at the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bar Hill hotels

Show Prices
Hayfield High Peak
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Menzies in Cambridge excellent. We normally stay in Hilton Hotels. This was much better, more attention to detail. Room spotless.Very spacious. Water and nibbles,bottled water, left in room, excellent quality of shampoo etc., Very comfortable bed. Staff so helpful but not intrusvie.Breakfast very good. Staff in restaurant (especially Jesse) so helpful. Evening dinner superb, except fruit salad desert, a bit sad. I returned it. Was immediately provided with an alternative , plus a free bottle of wine.
I am very fussy about hotels. I like clean and a touch of luxury. I got this at Menzies in Czambridge for a lowe cost. 2 nights for 2 B&B plus dinner on one night for £144. I will return.
If you wish to stay near Cambridge (about 5 miles out parking no problem) stay at The Menzies.
I am not easily impressed. but for what I paid and waht I got I was very impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just had a lovely two day break in Cambridge Mensies hotel. Bus right outside hotel every 20 mins into Cambridge. Lovely day exploring returned to excellent complimentary dinner, so delicious such gracious pleasant staff. Lovely warm swimming pool, steam room and spa all at no additional charge even towels provided for swimming pool free! Amazing breakfast... we had a real mini holiday ... we will return! Thank you all Alvin and Christine

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvinwalenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our second visit to the Barr Hill Menzies and we were not dissapointed. The staff wellcomed us back with open arms and remembered us by name. The facilities are first rate, the rooms comfortable, the food delecious but the jewel in the crown of this hotel are the staff, they really couldn't do enough for us, and we are a demanding group, when you have over 60 delagates at a conference there will always be last min changes and delegate who have special needs. Everything ran like clockwork and the serving staff also helped us spring a special birthday surprise for one of our group.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Sykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very enjoyable stay. Hotel is well located just off the A14 and unbeknown to me, there is a bus stop just outside to whisk you into Cambridge - avoiding the park n ride (which stops at 8.30pm).

the buses run every 20 mins during the day and every hour during the evening.

Rooms are large and comfortable. Hotel was quiet - lacked a bit of atmosphere - but was not untypical of most 4* business hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Timharding999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Hill
8.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
4.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,114 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
972 reviews
5.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Cambridge

Property: Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Address: Farburn Terrace | Cambridge, Bar Hill CB23 8EU, England (Formerly Cambridgeshire Moat House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Bar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bar Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Cambriddge is Located right on the A14, just a mile from the M11 and 5 miles northeast from the heart of Cambridge. The hotel has ample parking, a beautiful golf course, 136 comfy bedrooms, flexible meeting rooms and a lovely health club - it has absolutely everything you need for a successful business trip or relaxing short break in Cambridge. A hotel that has it all Free WiFi throughout. Located just 5 miles from Cambridge city centre Plenty of parking - complimentary when booking your stay direct with the hotel. £10 over night charge otherwise. 136 bedrooms including family bedrooms for up to 5 Brasserie, lounge and bar The Cambridgeshire Golf Course - 18-hole 2 tennis courts, indoor swimming pool, fitness suite and treatment rooms Sauna, steam-room, spa bath Ideal wedding venue for up to 180 guests 10 versatile meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates Sky Sports and BT Sport now available in the bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Cambridge Hotel And Golf Club
Menzies Hotel Cambridge
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge Bar Hill, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing