We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Punga Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Punga Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Endeavour Inlet
Nelson
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shame about the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Quite honestly a great location but just too tired to command $185.00 per night. Hard working staff... but not enough cleaners and they really should do something about that galley kitchen at reception... filthy!

The restaurant is just too expensive too. Not sure if the chef is up to producing the dishes on the menu... very dry vegetarian option and mushrooms uncooked and sent back. They need to get the basics right!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MainlanderNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    96
    50
    27
    34
See reviews for
52
140
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed here the second night of our walk on the Queen Charlotte Track and were the only guests that night. We were met by the friendly receptionist and shown to our unit. We had a two bedroom unit with a good size living room and kitchen. Some of the furnishings were a little dated, but the rooms were comfortable and clean. The beds were comfortable and had electric blankets.

We did not get a chance to walk around the resort, as by the time we had showered and changed after our arrival, it was dark outside. The resort is on a hillside, so it is a climb to get to the restaurant and rooms. And more climbing to get back on the track in the morning.

Since it was not their busy season, there was a limited menu for dinner, Our meal was delicious and good value for the money. The woman working in the restaurant was very personable. Because we wanted to get an early start in the morning, we opted for a cold breakfast of muesli, fruit salad, and yogurt. This was delivered to the fridge in our unit, along with our packed lunches, while we were eating dinner. Both were ample to get us through our day's walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Because it was the off season and the area's backpackers were closed, I was put up in a Tui Chalet for $65 for my first night of the Queen Charlotte Track. For $65 it was a reasonable price, but I'd have been very disappointed if I'd paid the regular $180. It's very basic accommodation, and the location doesn't justify that much of a premium. The place is just old and needs serious renovations to be brought out of the 1980s. I think that the plastic shower faucet was older than I am. The shower door was broken. A light was burnt out. The duvet covers had stains. On the plus side, the owners were very nice people.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

I stayed there for a few weeks and even worked there for some time.. the staff are NOT friendly the manager has no clue whats going and does not seem to care.. The owners are very rude.. The place is not that clean. I was there and watched guest check into dirty rooms that had not been cleaned. There are much better places for the price in the same area. Do yourself a favor and skip Punga Cove all together!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrivers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Endeavour Inlet hotels

shanghai
Level Contributor
529 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

We were due to stay at this resort having booked a couple of days ahead of our planned arrival. Unfortunately my husband's sister died very unexpectedly the next day and once we had time to plan ahead later that evening I phoned and getting no response, emailed to explain what had happened and to cancel our booking for which they had taken a deposit of 114 NZ. I rang again the next morning to make sure that they knew we had had to change our plans and why. I also asked if it would be possible to have the deposit refunded and was told no, as we hadn't given enough notice. I can accept that there are times when deposits are lost but to be told we hadn't given enough notice when you have just told some one that a close relative has died very unexpectedly is less than helpful and indeed unpleasant.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

This place, although well placed on the Queen Charlotte Track and views over the Sounds, is dire. It is over priced and grotty.
We stayed in a 2 bed backpackers dorm which was horrible- the material lining was rotting from the wall, the room wasn't clean and the few furnishing in the room were broken.
It is though Punga Cove Resort are trying to be all things to all people- providing backpackers, suites, families, chalets accommodation whilst cutting corners to scrimp and saving along the way then charging over the odds for shoddy accommodation which doesn't come close to expectations.
The previous night we stayed at Furneaux Lodge in a backpackers room (with crisp white towels and tea coffee making facilities provided) they had a range of well presented, well priced, clean tidy accommodation, with impeccable customer service to boot (cheaper than Punga too). In comparison to this Punga Cove Lodge was depressing- the sprawling development, the poor quality of the accommodation, lack of customer service, having to pay extra for linen, no wash up liquid in the kitchen -the little things.
There was a BBQ the night we stayed again over priced for little quality - $30 for a precooked sausage, a steak, some chicken and the over used mesculan salad leaves. Staying in the sounds and paying $30 I would expect seafood- mussels, salmon etc. Luckily we had our own food!
The saving grace of Punga Cove Resort is the Boatshed Cafe & Bar on the Jetty serving a good range of beers from kiwi micro breweries. Apparently the pizzas are good too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
419 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

Yes I read the reviews. It is a little tired, but there are some swanky new expensive units if you are that way inclined. We stayed in the backpacker units. They were totally suitable and clean. Each unit had its own room. Shared bathrooms, kitchen and lounge are in separate buildings. There were two showers for the nine units, but it wasn't a problem while we were there.
The spa was lukewarm, and the pool cloudy (they tell me its the filtration, but that seems strange). However, we made full use of many of the other activities - table tennis, badminton, hammocks, lovely seating on the waterfront, free dinghy. The kayaks were expensive to hire so we didn't use them. The boatshed cafe on the jetty over the water was wonderful. Great pizzas and not too expensive. In summer they have a BBQ each evening ($30 for 3 meats, baked potato and salad). We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was very pricey. But the cafe was totally suitable.
We enjoyed the large grass area on the waterfront.
The accommodation is spread out and its a steep walk from the water to backpackers - a warning if you don't like hills.
The staff are what you expect in an isolated spot like this - mainly young foreign nationals who are there for a short while to earn money. Polite, but not friendly. There was one girl at the cafe with 13 clients and the poor thing was doing everything pizzas, chips, drinks. She did it well.
We were walking the Queen Charlotte track and the punga cove was a welcome oasis. Good showers, clean and comfortable. Staying in the backpackers we noticed at check in that we were given VERY vague instructions to our unit (we got lost 4 times trying to find it and had to ask along the way), but the more expensive units were shown to their lodgings (and passed us trying to find our place, but the receptionist offered no help). We found that a bit off. At least a map would have helped. And yes, there are no keys. No kids prices either - so we passed on the BBQ as our young daughter doesn't eat much.

However, overall we enjoyed our stay and would go again. But just don't expect the ritz.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Endeavour Inlet
7.7 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
4.4 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
3.1 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#20 of 82 in Marlborough Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
11.2 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Cove Resort

Property: Punga Cove Resort
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Marlborough Sounds, Endeavour Inlet, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Endeavour Inlet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Endeavour Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Punga Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Cove Hotel South Island
Hotel Punga Cove
Punga Cove Resort New Zealand/Marlborough - Endeavour Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing