We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Punga Cove Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Bay of Many Coves(Arthurs Bay)
$589
$294
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$108
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$63
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Sunnyvale Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$95
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$93
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picton Beachcomber Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
$77
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$278
$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$77
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
155
116
57
30
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
116
57
30
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen charlotte trackbar cafedrying roompacked lunchsteep climbthe penthouseby water taxiqc trackframe chaletvenisonbeautiful spotwine listhot tubwelcome sightremote locationback packersmarlborough sounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 392 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Punga Cove Resort is very basic and run-down.
Rooms are basic but OK.
Public toilets, pool, spa, restaurant etc are very tired and in need of maintenance/rebuilding. They smell!

We walked from Furneaux Lodge (a wonderful property) to Punga Cove on NYE and chose the NYE Bar-B-Q dinner at the Boatshed Cafe. Terrible quality food for $40/head.

Next 2 nights were at Peppers Portage which was excellent, making the comparison even more stark.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We arrived as a group of 8 after a long and muddy days walking to find that our booking of over 3 months had been reduced from 3 rooms to 2 rooms + backpacker accommodation as the room we had booked was "structurally unsound" and no longer available. There was no apology for this rather an attitude of "what are you going to do about it". None of our party were happy with backpacker accommodation after a long walk (with some sickness and injury) When pressed and told that this wasn't acceptable the owner of the hotel finally said (again with no apology) "well we will move the staff out of the room then and you can stay there"! So not unfit for habitation - just being used as staff quarters. The room did indeed have an extremely sloped and disorientating floor and a booking should never have been taken for it!
The unfriendly and unhelpful attitude continued with each encounter with the front desk staff and the owner and we did overhear that 2 other couples also turned up to find that there was no room for them either. Completely inexcusable for a lodge in the middle of nowhere in the middle of a long walk. I believe one couple was magically found a room and the other couple was forced to stay in bunk beds.
Thankfully, they didn't charge us for the room ( they had only cleared out one room for us...) but what would have been better than a free room is a room that we didn't have to argue about to get.
The food was great, the restaurant staff helpful and friendly - the chef cooked for the kids to order. However, I would seriously advise staying away from this place. The owner was unfriendly, rude, dishonest and really put a dampener on what was - apart from this - a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms were lovely but the other room we were given after arguing with the manager was extremely sloped and one of the rooms was full of one displaced member of staff's possessions. I don't think it is offered any longer.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phemepheme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PungaCove, Owner at Punga Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Without a doubt, not providing accommodation to meet guest expectations is a reflection on management. However, we absolutely believe that apologies were given. Perhaps, on reflection, we should not have accepted this booking for a peak season date even three months out, when accommodation was at a premium. Because of this the owners' accommodation was allocated. We do not like utilising this building as it was affected in the earthquakes - the owners have no problem using it as it is in a lovely location. You are absolutely correct in that you were not charged for this accommodation.

You write about overheard parts of conversations with the implications of several accommodation difficulties. This proves how information gathered in this way can be misconstrued. The fact is that one couple left very happy - after a misunderstanding of language. So many of our guests do not have English as their first language.

In conclusion, the enormous damage caused in the public domain proves that making an extra effort of providing free of charge accommodation does nothing to alleviate a guest's dissatisfaction. Clearly, the message is that we should not try to accommodate all guests when accommodation is at a premium. To create customer satisfaction, we have often sought accommodation from local homes to help people out. We will no longer do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our stay at Punga Cove was good apart from one small aspect which tarnished our initial impression somewhat. Arriving after a very cold and wet 3 hour tramp from Furneaux Lodge, we were soaked to the bone and looking forward to a nice hot shower, and warm, dry clothes. However, our bags had not arrived with the transfer of packs from Furneaux Lodge so one of the owners called Beachcomber Cruises and Furneaux Lodge for us to try and track them down. However, after the initial phone call and being told that both the boat company and the lodge would have a look around for them and call her back, she proceeded to leave the reception to show some other guests to their room, leaving us freezing cold and dripping in the reception area to wait for God knows how long. While she was out, we heard the phone ringing and almost picked it up ourselves as we assumed it would be someone calling about our bags! We told her the phone had been ringing when she finally came back 10 minutes later but she said she'd give them some time to call again and would we like to "go and sit somewhere" while we waited!?! We were really cold and pretty annoyed by this point - despite it not being Punga Cove's fault that our bags hadn't turned up, they weren't exactly going out of their way to help us locate them and it really didn't seem to be a priority for them. I resorted to having a shower in our room (thankfully it was ready for us by the time we checked in) and wrapping myself up in a blanket to keep warm, as I couldn't get back into my soaking wet clothes. Half an hour later, my husband went back to the reception to follow up on the search for our bags and the other owner was there and with a quick phone call to Furneaux Lodge, our bags were located and it was arranged for them to be transferred asap. Again, it wasn't Punga Cove's fault but I'm sure the whole debacle could have been resolved much quicker in the first instance.

We stayed in a tui chalet which was nice and cosy, with a spacious bathroom and extremely comfortable bed. The shower was a bit on the small side and the A frame design of the chalet did make it feel like there wasn't a lot of space in the room overall. Would have been nice to use the sundeck on our chalet if the weather had been nicer. We also noted there were lovely deckchairs at the beach as well as kayaks and there was a nice pool and spa pool as well. The drying room was much appreciated too, and was full up on the day we were there due to the terrible weather.

The whole resort is built on a hill and it's quite a hike up to the restaurant at the top. We had a nice meal for dinner but the service was very, very slow. And it seemed even slower at breakfast time, when we waited 45 minutes for 2 cooked breakfasts to be ready.

Overall it wasn't a bad experience but not quite the level of service and quality you might expect for the price you pay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at Punga Cove Resort over New Years 2013/14. We got a water taxi from PIcton which took a couple of hours as we were the last to get dropped off. Cougarline water taxi was OK. Cost us about $200 total for a return trip for us both.

We got there around 1.00 pm and hour room was not ready by 2.00. The owners did shout us a beer and wine in the Boatshed Cafe to help ease the wait. Good on them.

We booked the best room in the place (I think) i.e. room #18. Was a really nice room and couldn't really fault it. Nice view. Was expensive so it should have been!!

The whole resort was in need of a bit of TLC. It wasn't BAD but the upkeep and general service delivery could definitely be improved upon. We had a look at the restaurant and we didn't get good vibes from it so we gave it a complete miss and ate the food we took with us. Would be expensive to do otherwise - be warned.

The greater area of Queen Charlotte Sound is indeed a beautiful area and thoroughly worth visiting. There are many different accommodation options around the track and I would suggest visitors consider others before staying at Punga Cove. I am not saying don't stay there, just do some homework.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onlinegeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wonderful room, very well appointed and comfortable. Terrific hot tub just outside. Of course, brilliant views in all directions. We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We ate at the Jetty Cafe, which has good meals at affordable prices, a great selection of the beautiful local Cab Sav wines, and a brilliant location on a balmy evening. Highly recommend this place -we had a lovely stay as part of our walking trip.

Room Tip: The units right up the top are nearest the 2nd hot tub.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews