We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Punga Cove Resort
Nearby Hotels
Bay of Many Coves(Arthurs Bay)
$611
$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$108
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$63
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Sunnyvale Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$95
$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picton Beachcomber Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
$77
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$278
$269
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$77
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
155
116
57
30
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
116
57
30
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen charlotte trackbar cafedrying roompacked lunchsteep climbthe penthouseby water taxiqc trackframe chaletvenisonbeautiful spotwine listhot tubwelcome sightremote locationback packersmarlborough sounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 392 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our stay at Punga Cove was good apart from one small aspect which tarnished our initial impression somewhat. Arriving after a very cold and wet 3 hour tramp from Furneaux Lodge, we were soaked to the bone and looking forward to a nice hot shower, and warm, dry clothes. However, our bags had not arrived with the transfer of packs from Furneaux Lodge so one of the owners called Beachcomber Cruises and Furneaux Lodge for us to try and track them down. However, after the initial phone call and being told that both the boat company and the lodge would have a look around for them and call her back, she proceeded to leave the reception to show some other guests to their room, leaving us freezing cold and dripping in the reception area to wait for God knows how long. While she was out, we heard the phone ringing and almost picked it up ourselves as we assumed it would be someone calling about our bags! We told her the phone had been ringing when she finally came back 10 minutes later but she said she'd give them some time to call again and would we like to "go and sit somewhere" while we waited!?! We were really cold and pretty annoyed by this point - despite it not being Punga Cove's fault that our bags hadn't turned up, they weren't exactly going out of their way to help us locate them and it really didn't seem to be a priority for them. I resorted to having a shower in our room (thankfully it was ready for us by the time we checked in) and wrapping myself up in a blanket to keep warm, as I couldn't get back into my soaking wet clothes. Half an hour later, my husband went back to the reception to follow up on the search for our bags and the other owner was there and with a quick phone call to Furneaux Lodge, our bags were located and it was arranged for them to be transferred asap. Again, it wasn't Punga Cove's fault but I'm sure the whole debacle could have been resolved much quicker in the first instance.

We stayed in a tui chalet which was nice and cosy, with a spacious bathroom and extremely comfortable bed. The shower was a bit on the small side and the A frame design of the chalet did make it feel like there wasn't a lot of space in the room overall. Would have been nice to use the sundeck on our chalet if the weather had been nicer. We also noted there were lovely deckchairs at the beach as well as kayaks and there was a nice pool and spa pool as well. The drying room was much appreciated too, and was full up on the day we were there due to the terrible weather.

The whole resort is built on a hill and it's quite a hike up to the restaurant at the top. We had a nice meal for dinner but the service was very, very slow. And it seemed even slower at breakfast time, when we waited 45 minutes for 2 cooked breakfasts to be ready.

Overall it wasn't a bad experience but not quite the level of service and quality you might expect for the price you pay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at Punga Cove Resort over New Years 2013/14. We got a water taxi from PIcton which took a couple of hours as we were the last to get dropped off. Cougarline water taxi was OK. Cost us about $200 total for a return trip for us both.

We got there around 1.00 pm and hour room was not ready by 2.00. The owners did shout us a beer and wine in the Boatshed Cafe to help ease the wait. Good on them.

We booked the best room in the place (I think) i.e. room #18. Was a really nice room and couldn't really fault it. Nice view. Was expensive so it should have been!!

The whole resort was in need of a bit of TLC. It wasn't BAD but the upkeep and general service delivery could definitely be improved upon. We had a look at the restaurant and we didn't get good vibes from it so we gave it a complete miss and ate the food we took with us. Would be expensive to do otherwise - be warned.

The greater area of Queen Charlotte Sound is indeed a beautiful area and thoroughly worth visiting. There are many different accommodation options around the track and I would suggest visitors consider others before staying at Punga Cove. I am not saying don't stay there, just do some homework.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onlinegeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wonderful room, very well appointed and comfortable. Terrific hot tub just outside. Of course, brilliant views in all directions. We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly. We ate at the Jetty Cafe, which has good meals at affordable prices, a great selection of the beautiful local Cab Sav wines, and a brilliant location on a balmy evening. Highly recommend this place -we had a lovely stay as part of our walking trip.

Room Tip: The units right up the top are nearest the 2nd hot tub.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay here for Christmas Eve and day and were looking forward to some r&r after the first week of our road trip of New Zealand. At 300 dollars a night we expected excellent service, amazing food and wonderful scenery. The scenery was awesome shame about the rest.

We chose to drive up via the road which takes about an hour on very windy road. Not for the faint hearted or those who get car sick but we made it in the pouring rain.

On arrival we parked in the car park at top of very steep hill. The sign tells you to come to reception and someone would come and help
With bags. We did as instructed.

Having booked months previously no
One seemed to be expecting us and we were left hanging around for 20 mins until the owner Ralph came in and looked annoyed we had left out bags in the car.

The accommodation was amazing with wonderful view. The food was awful. We sent Xmas dinner aback as it was horrible as did another
Couple. The staff spent most of the time apologising or treating the place like they were on holiday themselves. Yes it's Christmas but surely guests come first? The jacuzzi was cold and
Cloudy so we have it a miss.

The toilets on the way into the restaurant smell awful. The restaurant itself needs a makeover.

The only saving grace was the view. That's all I'm afraid you're paying for.

Owner never even apologised as we Checked out for terrible Christmas Dinner. The waiter was So embarrassed about it he never charged us.

Shame on the owners. This place ain't cheap but the service and food is. Heartbreakingly disappointed. Memorable for all the wrong reasons.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Well where do I start...........

The veiw was one of the most spectaucaluar vista's I've seen on my South Island Tour,
The food was A++ realy and not overly Presumptious yet very Scrumptious. Service at the restruant was good but definitly had a bit of kiwi Flair add to it. Did i mention the veiw lol
The propietiours bev and ralph where helpful about the area and very gracious hosts. boat shed bar and cafe in a postion to die for all in all one of my must see and do locatoins in this new year very surprised by the other reviews and comments our familys expreince A+++

Room Tip: the further up you are the better the veiw but the bigger the hill defnitly ask the helpful staff!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travler5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews