We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punga Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Punga Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Endeavour Inlet
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thoroughly disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

We were invited here with friends who have already submitted a report ( see rogeralexandria).
We agree with their damning observations. The whole place was thoroughly run down and certainly did not match expectations raised by their website. We were moved to alterative accommodation at our expense but still found it unsatisfactory in many ways.
I see the management thought we must have arrived tired; this is not the case. We were not walkers but had had a leisurely trip from Picton by water-taxi. I suspect only exhausted walkers could appreciate the place!
The management also say that they gave our complaints long and detailed consideration but were unable to satisfy us. It is true we were unsatisfied, and left as soon as we could the following day (having intended to stay two nights0, but if they had had such deliberations it was not evident to us. We were courteously treated by the lady at the desk but the person we took to be in authority appeared sublimely unconcerned about us.
On a more positive note, the restaurant provided a very good breakfast and the young ladies who served it were absolutely delightful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jocaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    92
    48
    26
    34
See reviews for
52
133
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

This is a fine place to stay while walkign the Queen Charlotte Track. The rooms are a bit yucky, and the whole resort feels tired but there are limited options. Sleep wise would definitely recommedn taking earplugs as when we were there a party was going on on the beach until late and the noise resonates through the whole resort. The food was pretty good at the beach cafe but there isn't really anywhere to buy lunch stuff -they can provide you with a packed lunch for $18 (~£9) which is what we had to do. This felt like a total rip off. So if you can take your own breakfast and lunch food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMarlborough, Owner at Punga Cove Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
It is interesting to read your expressions of disappointment with your stay at Punga Cove. We, too, are disappointed that you did not mention any of your concerns to a staff member or management during your stay. The Boatshed Cafe has an excellent reputation for serving quality food and we are pleased you enjoyed it. While we do supply packed lunches (at the same price as other accommodation venues on the Track) we also have the following available in our small shop - bread, butter or spreads, cheese, fruit juice, muesli bars, apples and, on request, sandwich supplies such as ham, salad. We also often supply guests with just sandwiches instead of a full packed lunch - providing the guest talks to us about their requirements.

The Boatshed Cafe/Bar closes at 10.00pm and all efforts are made to ensure there is no disturbance such as loud music to other guests. On one occasion, there was a pre wedding gathering of 35 people on the foreshore with a BBQ. This was a mixed group of friends and family members including granparents. On request of management, all music was stopped at 9.30pm with the Boatshed closing at 10.00pm.

Qualmark has given Punga Cove a rating of 4+ stars - how can the rooms be yucky?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Endeavour Inlet hotels

Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

In 3 months touring both islands of New Zealand, we have never encountered accommodation so filthy, squalid and generally sub-standard. Our visit, intended to be a special trip with our New Zealand hosts, was ruined by the huge disparity between the advertised facilities on the website and the reality of what we found here. We began in the Lodge...filthy kitchen worktops, grimy blackened outdoor chairs, missing light fittings, a large hole in the wardrobe door, apparently due to a stag night!!. On complaining we were moved at our expense to the 'Champagne Suite',...more missing lights, broken locks and non-closing doors in the shared bathroom, more grimy, torn outside chairs. 2 out of 4 of us suffered stomach complaints after eating the tartare sauce in the cafe...our partners did not eat it and were fine. The manageress seemed totally uninterested in our complaints.
The owners of this place, if they are interested at all, should be ashamed. We could not get out quickly enough!! Photographic evidence supplied on request!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogeralexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMarlborough, Owner at Punga Cove Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Your review shows your disappointment in your accommodation after a long touring holiday in New Zealand - when you arrived, you, your family and friends, were obviously tired and finding it difficult to relax. Your coments have been raised at management meetings and remedies put in place. However, we must state that on the day after your departure from Punga Cove, there were lengthy discussions with management and staff regarding your visit, and it was emphasized how difficult it had been for staff to satisfy your requirements, no matter what they did.

The Boatshed continues to offer a range of lunch dishes with several evening options. The Boatshed is enormously popular with frequent compliments to the staff on the quality of the meals. There have been no issues or problems with the tartare sauce or other condiments.

We trust the conclusion of your holiday gave you and your friends a chance to relax and unwind as you travelled New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Having spent a wonderful weekend here a year ago with friends in a lovely suite, we came out on a lunch cruise, looking forward to a great afternoon.. Sadly the weather turned on our arrival and it began to rain, so we ate outside and got damp under a sun shade, as the seating in the jetty bar was very uncomfortable and the stale cooking smells were overwhelming. The bar staff as always, were very friendly and helpful, but we were very disappointed with the state of the whole place and feel it needs a serious overhaul. We recall that during our last stay (when the weather was stunning) the pool was far too cold to swim in and still isn't heated. After our mid-day lunch (which was nowhere near the same standard as food we ate last time) we sat outside cold and damp until our pick up time of 5pm .There was nowhere to sit that was warm, comfortable or inviting and everywhere was very tired, with broken things, generally run down and frankly dirty. The leaflets on the bar show a very different place to the one we saw and bore no resemblance whatsover to the reality of the place. Come on Punga Cove, clean up your act and show us what a beautiful resort you can be!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aab62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMarlborough, Owner at Punga Cove Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
We note that you are from Blenheim and your comments are appreciated as we want to improve our place as much as you want it improved. We would like to meet you and listen to your comments as we feel you have ideas that would contribute to this improvement.

The Boatshed menu is exactly the same as last year. The regulations imposed by the Council have made it very difficult for us to operate as they have restricted the type of service we like to offer.

Please email your contact details and I shall be in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We paid over four hundred dollars per night for two nights in January. It was the most disappointing experience. Firstly, would not recommend the drive, the road is very winding and narrow, an average speed of 25/30kph all the way, and in some parts half the road had been washed away from the floods, nervewracking trip!
The place is extremely steep and confusing to get around. We were most looking forward to a spa as it was raining when we arrived, but it was out of action and had been for a week already 'waiting for parts'. The pool is not heated, not even by solar. The penthouse suite and the rest of the place too, is so dated and tired, it has probably not been upgraded since the early nineties. On the balcony of the suite outside the bedroom lay a broken umbrella, there was a raw light fixture missing the cover on the bathroom ceiling, the kitchen vents were filthy, the place had not been dusted in a long time. The bed did not get made, (over four hundred a night? man were we suckers). The 'shop' onsite where you can buy essentials is so expensive, prepare to pay about $5 for a moro bar, and same for a can of watties spagetti. Everyone we encountered behind the counter at reception were disinterested and borderline rude, but the man there does a good job and the girls who waitress at the cafe and restaurant were nice too. Overall, a dump that desperately needs at the very least some time and attention, because even if funds dont allow an upgrade there is just no excuse for the lack of effort and maintenance put into pretty much every aspect of this place. I wouldnt care so much if the price fairly reflected the quality of the place. I understand that the location is remote and spectacular, but it does not in any way make the price okay, considering the standard.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rorenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellerMarlborough, Owner at Punga Cove Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
In response to your review of your January stay at Punga Cove, which was just after the worst storm Marlborough had experienced for years, the road was closed for six days and when opened, restricted to one way traffic with drivinig with extreme care. Marlborough district Council has still n ot completed repairs to the roads.

You mention outdoor furniture that were demolished during the storm have all been replaced, including the umbrella. During the 36 hour power outage, several light fittings and the spa were affected by power surge and these have all been replaced by tradesmen from Picton.

It is regretable to learn of your disappointment with your accommodation particularly as we have just farewelled a couple who booked the Penthouse for four days and extended their stay twice to a total of 10 days and have booked to come back next year.

It does concern us that the room had not been serviced. In the Shop, Moro bars are $2.50 and Baked Beans/spaghetti from $3.50 - $5./00 per can. We have had amazxing comments about our staff this year and their helpfulness and friendliness so this must have been a bad day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

Having stayed at Furneaux Lodge the previous evening we did not appreciate the Punga Cove Resort being very poorly signposted. We missed the resort and ended up walking further up the hill and then back down. The receptionist wasn't very welcoming and said that a few people had missed the sign too! If so why not make it more obvious? Anyway the resort is in need of some much needed investment money. Everywhere is tired - the spa wasn't working. The food available was not cheap and not particularly brill. Steep location. Overall disappointing

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BugnBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PungaCove, Owner at Punga Cove Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to draw our attention to disappointing aspects of your stay at Punga Cove. Following your arrival, we did make contact with the Department of Conservation again telling them of difficulties experienced by walkers at the junction of the track and the signage (or lack of this). As we explained on your arrival, we were disapointed you had to travel the extra distance, and we are not able to erect any signage on Department of Conservation land. We are copying your report to DOC and hope this will help their dicision to improve signage. Perhaps you, too, would like to make contact with the Department on this issue.

It is true, we are situated on a fairly steep hillside - this is typical of the Marlborough Sounds. However, this very steep hilside affords our guests remarkable views from their accommodation and the Restaurant. When waklking the Queen Charlotte Track, one must climb the very paths of Punga Cove to continue on the Track - the QC Track is steep, also.

We have been very disappointed this season in that the spa was not working for a time. You must have been looking forward to using the spa as there is not this facility at Furneaux Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

Stayed here on second night of Queen Charlotte track. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. Having the option of eating up high in the restaurant or down by the jetty in the boatshed was great. My room overlooked the bay and jetty and was just superb. It was clean and comfortable and I would definitely stay here again if I was doing the track again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elladael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PungaCove, Owner at Punga Cove Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your visit to Punga Cove. Our Team are very pleased that you had an enjoyable experience and that staying at Punga Cove assisted in your enjoyment of this very special part of Marlborough. We trust your holiday continued so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Endeavour Inlet
7.7 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
4.4 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
3.1 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#17 of 83 in Marlborough Region
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
11.2 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punga Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punga Cove Resort

Property: Punga Cove Resort
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Marlborough Sounds, Endeavour Inlet, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Endeavour Inlet
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Endeavour Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Punga Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Punga Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punga Cove Hotel South Island
Hotel Punga Cove
Punga Cove Resort New Zealand/Marlborough - Endeavour Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing