We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Never fails to impress”
other travelers have booked this property
Log burner in beamed living room, with stairs up to mezzanine floor.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Log burner in beamed living room, with stairs up to mezzanine floor.
View of living room windows giving views to catbells. The large beamed living room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Log burner in beamed living room, with stairs up to mezzanine floor.
View of living room windows giving views to catbells.
The large beamed living room.
The large beamed living room from mezzanine floor.
The large kitchen.
The large kitchen with dining and seating areas.
The large kitchen.
The large bedroom with superking bed, beams, TV and ample storage
The large bedroom with superking bed, beams, TV and ample storage
The large bedroom with superking bed, beams, TV and ample storage
The large bedroom with superking bed, beams, TV and ample storage
Seating area on mezzanine floor, outside bedroom and bathroom.
Seating area on mezzanine floor, outside bedroom and bathroom.
Seating area on mezzanine floor, outside bedroom and bathroom
View from the mezzanine seating area.
The huge shower in bathroom.
The bathroom, with bath and separate shower cubicle.
The Byre.
The Byre.
The Byre terrace onto wildlife garden, Ellas Crag behind.
The Byre terrace onto wildlife garden, Ellas Crag behind.
The Byre terrace onto the wildlife garden.
The Byre terrace onto the wildlife garden.
The Byre.
The Byre, view from the wildlife garden, Skiddaw beyond.
The wildlife garden outside The Byre.
The wildlife garden outside The Byre, with Catbells beyond.
The wildlife garden pond.
The Byre entrance.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newlands Valley, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carolevew...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at The Byre, such a beautiful location and accommodation. Peace and tranquility and just the place to relax, chill and recharge batteries. We will return!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison S
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is by far the best self catering accommodation we have stayed in. The property is beautifully furnished and amazingly spacious for two people. We visit the Lakes every year and had not explored Newlands valley before. The walking was fantastic and the location a perfect combination of rural tranquillity while being close enough to make picking up groceries in Keswick easy. We have already booked a return visit. Absolutely love the Byre!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winscombe
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Reall good standard of accommodation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blackburn
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LSMDorset
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply The Best.......”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in many cottages in the Lake District over several years and this cottage is simply outstanding. I agree with other comments that the photos on the
website do not do this beautiful property justice. It has every facility you could wish for in a cottage and is huge. The views are outstanding from every window and even though we didn't enjoy the best weather during the week of our stay you felt relaxed just watching the scenery from the comfort of the lounge. The owner is very helpful, friendly and nothing too much trouble

All I can say is we are so pleased to have found this exceptional cottage and look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent for Winter getaway”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We reached the cottage after a 8 hour drive from Swindon just as snow started to fall in Keswick. We were pleasantly surprised to find the cottage was warm and there was milk, tea and a loaf of fruit bread waiting for us. Exactly what we needed.

The cottage far surpassed our expectations and the photo's don't do it justice. We were blown away by the size of the cottage as well as the warm welcome we received. There was even a log burner with a healthy log store out the back which meant we could sit down in front of a warm fire after a day walking on the hills.

You can walk straight out of the cottage up onto Causey pike or out onto Catbells. A fantastic location for a cottage and walking holiday. Despite having bad weather for a few days we still had a great week as the cottage was a fantastic refuge after a day on the hill.

We will definitely be coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing