We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful country inn”
Review of Swinside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swinside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a weekend away with a Groupon voucher, three adults and two dogs. We had a family room - Causey Pike. The room was ok - no hair dryer, lights in the annexe were either all on or all off including the main overhead one. It was ok but a side light of some sort would have helped at night. The beds in here are bunk beds so not great for an adult but we managed. The bathroom was ok but could've done with a really good clean. It's not like it was horrendously dirty but the windows needed cleaning on the inside and there was grime round the edges, the mirror wouldn't stay upright either. There was a distinct lack of sockets to plug things into so bending down to use the kettle socket I found that it was all grimy. Most people have cameras, phones, iPads...come on, get a plug or two in there! Just an observation rather than outright criticism.
So, yes, we'd two dogs and we always take their own beds and blankets and they're not allowed on the beds without a blanket. There was a brown blanket on the bed so we rolled in back only to discover that it was thick with dog hair. Now I don't mind a bit of dirt, I can easily deal with things like that at home but I don't like other peoples dirt and I don't like other peoples dog hair and that made our stomachs roll. So other people had let their dog sleep on it, that's not a problem but please let the new guests have a new and clean blanket!
The room was seriously chilly but there was an extra radiator and it was a very old place. The TV was awful, barely a signal so kinda hard to watch.
The breakfast was different on day two to day one. We had black pudding, fried bread and a mushroom on day two, they were absent on day one! Both breakfasts were still excellent and cooked as you waited.
All in all, we'd a lovely time here. The bedroom definitely needed a spruce up and for a B and B it needed a few things looking at, but the friendly staff, excellent food and gorgeous views made us overlook the tired room. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.
A couple of extra sockets needed.
A hair dryer....which was advertised as being present
A clean blanket on the bed
Maybe an extra blanket or two in the wardrobe at this time of year in case it's chilly
Side light in the annexe
Otherwise great place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Swinside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 167 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband our dog and myself stayed for two nights on a voucher deal. The Swinside Inn is a gem of a place to stay. Staff were very friendly, helpful and nothing to much trouble, Food was excellent as was breakfast. We had a fantastic room with beautiful views on both side. We would definately stay again and indeed hope to during the summer months. Oh and forgot to mention the roaring fires so very welcoming. Well done the staff and owners of Swinside Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARYMO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the Swinside Inn for a long weekend. First impressions are that the place could do with a tidy up. But we could not fault the place. The food is not fine dining but reasonably priced with a good selection and good sized portions. The rooms are basic and as others have posted not all rooms have views of the fells. We were in Dalehead which is a family room but is very spacious. It is ideally placed to explore the surrounding fells. With a number of walks from the door. The staff were friendly, the bars cosy and warmed by open fires / log burner. Would definitely stay again. Whilst there heard that the people who are running the nearby Farmers pub are going to be running the Swinside in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great weekend in a lovely place. Room immaculate roomy and breathtaking views. Breakfasts okay for what you pay for. Friendly staff. Nice bar and our daughter loved playing pool! Would defo stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whales1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I found a good deal for two people for a two nghts stay at the Swinside Inn. Having been for food before i knew what it was like downstairs. Our room, Barrow, was lovely & clean, the bed was comfortable & the shower was hot & had great views of Causey Pike & Barrow. I agree with a previous reviewer, i think there should have been some kind of menu or just a leaflet to say what was on the breakfast menu. The brekfast was hot & ample but i'm sorry to say that the sausage was awful. The black pudding was very thin & cooked a bit too long for my liking. The second morning, both of us opted just for cereal & toast. The staff were very pleasant. I would stay again but wouldn't have the cooked breakfast

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. It may cost a bit more but well worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I first stayed at this inn 18 years ago and stopped staying several years ago after several bad changes in management ruined a wonderful venue.

My husband and I stayed at The Swinside over the New Year holiday and were delighted to find it has been restored to its former glory.

Clean,warm,friendly,great food, good beer and positioned in an outstanding area of natural beauty.

We stayed in what has always been our favourite room, Catbells room, but book early as everyone wants it due to the fantastic views from the panoramic windows.

We aren't animal lovers,however this appears to be a dog friendly pub as well as being popular with walkers and due to the family rooms available it's great for those school holidays.

Just a 15 minute drive into busy Keswick and lots of low level as well as the favourite higher level walks close bye.

A gem!! Thank you to the current managers who have done an excellent job restoring it to such high standards in the current financial state of the country. Well done.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Scousegrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

lovely place to stay have a fire place, selection of food and drinks and a snooker table. Helpful and friendly staff Good service overall. Very clean and cosy. Great place for summer. Nice views outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Using the Robinson room not a very good room if you want a room with a view. Other than that lovely...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attehea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,133 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
636 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
761 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Inn

Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands Valley
Price Range: $126 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, over 300 year old, lakeland pub,with bed and breakfast rooms. We're a short walk from Derwentwater and the iconic Catbells. Traditional bar with open fire places. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to explore the lake district, with mountain views from some rooms and all bars. We also have a six bedroom holiday let available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swinside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Inn Keswick/Newlands Valley, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing