We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
Review of Swinside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swinside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband our dog and myself stayed for two nights on a voucher deal. The Swinside Inn is a gem of a place to stay. Staff were very friendly, helpful and nothing to much trouble, Food was excellent as was breakfast. We had a fantastic room with beautiful views on both side. We would definately stay again and indeed hope to during the summer months. Oh and forgot to mention the roaring fires so very welcoming. Well done the staff and owners of Swinside Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARYMO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    51
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
111
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the Swinside Inn for a long weekend. First impressions are that the place could do with a tidy up. But we could not fault the place. The food is not fine dining but reasonably priced with a good selection and good sized portions. The rooms are basic and as others have posted not all rooms have views of the fells. We were in Dalehead which is a family room but is very spacious. It is ideally placed to explore the surrounding fells. With a number of walks from the door. The staff were friendly, the bars cosy and warmed by open fires / log burner. Would definitely stay again. Whilst there heard that the people who are running the nearby Farmers pub are going to be running the Swinside in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie4B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great weekend in a lovely place. Room immaculate roomy and breathtaking views. Breakfasts okay for what you pay for. Friendly staff. Nice bar and our daughter loved playing pool! Would defo stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whales1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I found a good deal for two people for a two nghts stay at the Swinside Inn. Having been for food before i knew what it was like downstairs. Our room, Barrow, was lovely & clean, the bed was comfortable & the shower was hot & had great views of Causey Pike & Barrow. I agree with a previous reviewer, i think there should have been some kind of menu or just a leaflet to say what was on the breakfast menu. The brekfast was hot & ample but i'm sorry to say that the sausage was awful. The black pudding was very thin & cooked a bit too long for my liking. The second morning, both of us opted just for cereal & toast. The staff were very pleasant. I would stay again but wouldn't have the cooked breakfast

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. It may cost a bit more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I first stayed at this inn 18 years ago and stopped staying several years ago after several bad changes in management ruined a wonderful venue.

My husband and I stayed at The Swinside over the New Year holiday and were delighted to find it has been restored to its former glory.

Clean,warm,friendly,great food, good beer and positioned in an outstanding area of natural beauty.

We stayed in what has always been our favourite room, Catbells room, but book early as everyone wants it due to the fantastic views from the panoramic windows.

We aren't animal lovers,however this appears to be a dog friendly pub as well as being popular with walkers and due to the family rooms available it's great for those school holidays.

Just a 15 minute drive into busy Keswick and lots of low level as well as the favourite higher level walks close bye.

A gem!! Thank you to the current managers who have done an excellent job restoring it to such high standards in the current financial state of the country. Well done.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scousegrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2013

lovely place to stay have a fire place, selection of food and drinks and a snooker table. Helpful and friendly staff Good service overall. Very clean and cosy. Great place for summer. Nice views outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Using the Robinson room not a very good room if you want a room with a view. Other than that lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attehea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The TV didn't get a reception and the advertised WIFI didn't reach our room. The breakfast was probably the worst we have ever had! Poor quality ingredients badly cooked. I had a poached egg which was raw! There was no breakfast menu so it was get what you are given. We had bar meals too and they were dreadful! but there isn't anywhere else to eat in the valley. Such a shame because the setting is great and we had very good walks. May I suggest that the chef is sacked and someone else takes over the buying of ingredients.....even Aldi is better quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50something54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Very sorry to hear about your visit, I have personaly used the information that you have provided to work with the staff in getting every aspect of our business right.
I hope this will not put you off from visiting us again.

regards

Ben Henderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
2.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Inn

Property: Swinside Inn
Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, over 300 year old, lakeland pub,with bed and breakfast rooms. We're a short walk from Derwentwater and the iconic Catbells. Traditional bar with open fire places. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to explore the lake district, with mountain views from some rooms and all bars. We also have a six bedroom holiday let available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swinside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Inn Keswick/Newlands Valley, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing