We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swinside Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swinside Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Loads of great walks from the doorstep: Catbells, Maiden Moor, High Spy, Derwentwater and many more. Welcoming, friendly owners, great breakfast. Excellent pub across the road for food. Lovely quiet spot yet only just out of Keswick so easy to get to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 916Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    18
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
61
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
halifax
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Just a 2 night weekend stay with the wife. Absolutely perfect location for the North West lakes. Great walks and accross the road from a decent pub serving good value food. The farmhouse is very quiet and comfortable the breakfast was tasty and sets you up for the day. Jo makes the guests feel very welcome. We will definately return. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank djt1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We spent a great weekend at Swinside Farm, enjoying time together, relaxing in the beautiful surroundings, and doing some fell walking too. Jo made us extremely welcome, especially when we arrived in the midst of a birthday party and on a weekend when all the neighbours were working together at another neighbours wedding. We didn't feel in the way and were very well looked after.
The breakfast is fantastic - be warned - it's easy to outface yourself!
We would very much like to visit Swinside again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJanet_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

FANTASTIC B & B
Wonderful visit. Very comfy bed in a large room (Room 1) in a lovely quiet area. Jo was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was the best we’d ever had, plenty on the plate using excellent ingredients, don't plan on having lunch!. We will be visiting again and again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Arrived at 1 am due to traffic and Jo was waiting for us and made us feel welcomed. Breakfast is tasty with offers of more coffee or toast. I loved the fresh fruit and have been eating a bowl of berries every morning since our stay. Rooms are very new and clean and the sheets are so soft - made it tough to get out of bed in the morning :)! There is a pub across the road, I say road, but you could throw a pebble at it as it's so close. Which has a pool table, TV screen and good food. Perfect after a day climbing Catbells or driving along the coast - which you can do easily from this B&B. If we were to go back to Keswick, we would stay here again for sure! Oh and the views - you are smack in the middle of gorgeous!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very clean and comfortable accomadation with a delicious breakfast that will keep you full all day. Rob and Jo are doing an excellent job of looking after their guests. We would definately go back. Thank you.

Room Tip: The're all good, just go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FitzFamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Really super B&B. Warm and comfortable. Spotlessly clean and very nicely furnished. Good size bedroom and lovely big bathroom with shower. You won't need anything to eat all day if you have the full English breakfast. There's everything on it with very generous portions of good quality ingredients. There is also plenty of fruit and lighter options. Nice breakfast room/lounge if you want somewhere to sit other than your bedroom.
The farmhouse is situated down a little country lane. Very quiet, about 4 miles out of Keswick. It's nice for walking. The pub opposite the farmhouse is perfectly situated. We had a good meal there. Very reasonably priced and good quality country food.
Can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in twin room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
2.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Farmhouse

Property: Swinside Farmhouse
Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swinside Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiniside Farmhouse is in the Newlands Valley. It has three letting bedrooms all of which are en-suite and tastefully decorated. It is in the ideal location with some fantastic walking and cycling. The views are breathtaking all around, especially on the top of Catbells and Derwentwater is just a stone throw away. The market town of Keswick is just 3 miles awaywith all amenities. There is an Inn across the road that do bar meals and also more eating placea in Portinscale and Braithwaite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Swinside Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Farmhouse Keswick/Newlands Valley, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing