We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I should really keep this a secret”
Review of Swinside Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swinside Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

What a find ! Clean, comfortable and welcoming with a huge breakfast ! Nothing to complain about here I even received a birthday present, much appreciated. Adjacent to a great pub too. Thanks Jo we'll be back :-)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cussine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Swinside Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 131 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Fantastic location in the heart of the Lake District. Comfortable room, excellent breakfast and warm hospitality. What more can you ask for. Oh yes, good weather! But had great time despite the rain. Looking forward to a return trip, hopefully in a dry spell.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent one night at Swinside Farmhouse following a walk around Buttermere, it is a really welcoming place with spotlessly clean & cosy well equipped bedrooms and the most delicious breakfast served by Jo who was really smiley and helpful, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jendav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location - brilliant views.

Rooms are cosy, bed is VERY comfortable and rooms are well looked after and quirky!

Jo is a lovely host, and cooks a great full English!!

Had a lovely stay and will be returning x

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andie_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We called in the Swinside Inn for some lunch while out walking our 2 dogs. We order food which was lovely. The steak baguette was Devine. I had the jacket potato with baked beans. It came with a really fresh side salad which was really nice to. It was a great choice for us as they allowed dogs in. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlejippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just returned from our stay at Swinside farmhouse and could not fault it. The setting is relaxing and quiet. Jo is very welcoming and keeps the accommodation very clean, well maintained and comfortable . The breakfast was excellent and we would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our second visit and found it every bit as good as the first time. Jo and the girls made us feel very welcome. Bedrooms and breakfast room were spotless. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. It is very handy for touring and we will certainly stay here when next in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
2.1 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
545 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
415 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
635 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Farmhouse

Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands Valley
Price Range: $103 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swinside Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiniside Farmhouse is in the Newlands Valley. It has three letting bedrooms all of which are en-suite and tastefully decorated. It is in the ideal location with some fantastic walking and cycling. The views are breathtaking all around, especially on the top of Catbells and Derwentwater is just a stone throw away. The market town of Keswick is just 3 miles awaywith all amenities. There is an Inn across the road that do bar meals and also more eating placea in Portinscale and Braithwaite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swinside Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Farmhouse Keswick/Newlands Valley, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing