We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and friendly”
Review of Swinside Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swinside Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our second visit and found it every bit as good as the first time. Jo and the girls made us feel very welcome. Bedrooms and breakfast room were spotless. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. It is very handy for touring and we will certainly stay here when next in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 134 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old building that is well maintained. Rooms are a tad small but that is to be expected with a 200 plus year old building. The only thing I would suggest is that the carpet is removed from the bathrooms. I know I used to see this years ago in the UK. But it is unsanitary in my opinion. I should add that the bathrooms were very clean though.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalnomad12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We wanted to explore Newlands so looked on trip advisor and what a gem we found. Good sized clean and tidy room with a warm shower. The breakfast was excellent. The pub over the road has fantastic meals. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boothbyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Nice people, small rooms, very good breakfast with a lot of fresh fruit. A bit noisy with small children playing in the house. Beautiful location outside a village but with a pub on the other side of the road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stunning location. Excellent accommodation, in small but perfectly formed rooms, beds comfy, very clean. The best breakfast, very attentive service from Joanne. It will help the owners if this is booked directly with them, then no booking charge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dingdongs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had three day stay 13/14/15th June Jo made us feel at home the accomodation is absolutely immaculate, quality of breakfast could not be bettered anywhere, this is the best b&b we have ever stayed in.We have visited now over 10 yrs and has been a perfect stay on every occasion.

Room Tip: Quiet location overall all rooms are sized as expected for a Cumbrian farmhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just back from our last holiday with Jo and Rob. The best place to stay in the Lake District. We have stayed at Jo and Robs farmhouse on our visits to the Lakes for the last 10 plus years. They are fantastic and friendly hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Lovely spotlessly clean farmhouse which has been constantly modernised and well maintained over the years with comfortable cosy beds ensuring a great nights sleep. Breakfasts are wonderful - fresh fruit, cereals, choice of cooked breakfast, all excellent quality and guaranteed to set you up for a days walk on the fells or around beautiful Derwent Water, all within walking distance - just leave the car in the car park! The Swinside Inn is a 30 second walk away for an evening meal but the Farmers Arms in Portinscale, just a short drive away, gives a 10% discount on food for Farmhouse guests .Keswick is also just a short drive away if you need shops. We will be back soon Jo!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 258SueReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
2.1 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
554 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
644 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,150 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
551 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinside Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinside Farmhouse

Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands Valley
Price Range: $103 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swinside Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiniside Farmhouse is in the Newlands Valley. It has three letting bedrooms all of which are en-suite and tastefully decorated. It is in the ideal location with some fantastic walking and cycling. The views are breathtaking all around, especially on the top of Catbells and Derwentwater is just a stone throw away. The market town of Keswick is just 3 miles awaywith all amenities. There is an Inn across the road that do bar meals and also more eating placea in Portinscale and Braithwaite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Swinside Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinside Farmhouse Keswick/Newlands Valley, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing