We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT B&B IN IDEAL LOCATION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spillers Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spillers Farm
Ranked #1 of 4 Musbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PAISLEY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“PERFECT B&B IN IDEAL LOCATION!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

From the time we arrived when Keith carried our bags from the car - until the day we left – we couldn’t have met a friendlier couple!
Our stay at Spiller Farm was completely perfect! Couldn’t have picked a nicer B&B....
We chose to stay here due to the close proximity to River Cottage (10 minute drive) and staying at Spiller Farm was ideal.
Clean, fresh and spacious Bedroom with everything you need at hand. Even a mini fridge which Brigit fills with fresh milk each day! Large, airy bathroom with a lovely view of the farm.
On arrival, Keith was extremely helpful – proving us with local information on where to eat, advice on the best way to get to River Cottage etc . He also told us we were free to help feed the orphaned lamb - which was a lovely experience for us, as we wouldn’t normally get the opportunity to do so!
The farm is full of lovely friendly animals, especially Merryck the dog – such a lovely nature and is happy to walk you around the farm.
We have stayed at many hotels, B&B’s - however the breakfast at Spiller Farm was by far the best we have ever had! Keith’s bacon and sausage (cooked freshly on his Aga) was absolutely delicious and we couldn’t leave without buying some to take home with us! Trying duck eggs were a first for us and we fully agreed with Brigit – after duck eggs – you don’t want to eat hen’s eggs again!
Also the jams are homemade by Keith and don’t leave without buying some to take home!

Staying at Spillers Farm really made our first visit to Devon extra special. It's a lifestyle to be jealous of!
We would recommend to anyone and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lb171986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
223
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

What a fabulous place, a smallholding set in the Devon countryside with lambs, sheep, hens pigs and a private lake full of ducks and geese. Bridgit and Keith make their guests feel like they are their house guests with a truly warm welcome, which makes you feel youve been part of the farm forever. The rooms are spacious ,clean and comfortable, the breakfast fab, and you know its travelled no further than their land (for all your food milers out there) To add to the friendly feel Merrick the dog will show you round the farm and insist on you taking him for a walk to his favourite place: the lake and Sila the cat will quite happily keep you company and even have a doze on your bed with you. We only had one night due to work commitments , but the pressures just slid away .....I gave no hesitation in recommending Spillers farm as the ideal place to stay in the West Country . And last but not least it is central for visiting , Lyme Regis, Seaton, Beer, Axminster and other gems.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingenue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phatmatt2685
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

This is without a doubt one of the nicest places we've ever stayed at. The small holding provides a very working rural environment which makes for very pleasant surroundings. The service provided by the owners is extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast is about as fresh as you can get, most if not all of the ingredients being grown/bred on the farm itself.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phatmatt2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

We picked this B&B from the recomended list on the River Cottage website after booking a Friday Night at River Cottage. It is very convenient for River cottage, only a short distance away, and for those who are heading to River Cottage because they like good food that has been farmed responsibly&locally then this is the place to stay - yummy fresh breakfast straight from the animals on the farm, you cant really get better then that! Was great to be able to wander round and see the animals on the farm, and the setting is very nice, you really feel away from it all.

Had a great nights sleep in the lovely room, very clean &comfortable,had everything you would need and some nice thoughful touches. Bridget and Keith the owners were lovely, very welcoming and helpful - we had a great day out the day after our night at River Cottage, following their recomendations of local places to see, all very close - Lyme Regis first thing in the morning was gorgeous, lots of great views driving round the area and Beer was another lovely place to visit. Definitly recommend and would go back, there is also a very spacious self catering cottage that would be great for a family / group.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieroseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

We had booked to go to River Cottage that evening for dinner, which is a 10 minute taxi drive up the road from Spillers Farm....so an ideal location. Booking in advance is advisable as there aren't many firms about. We happened to share a taxi to River Cottage with another couple who were staying at Spillers.

We chose Spillers basically for its location and organic produce. Our hosts were lovely, Bridget and Keith, and they cooked a wonderful breakfast in the morning, you even get a choice of eggs - bantom, hen or duck...wonderful. All their produce is from their farm and they are self sufficient too. They made sure we were comfortable when we arrived and showed us around the farm to get acquainted with the pigs and piglets, geese, chickens and Kellogg the farms cockerel. We were also shown around the grounds by their dog..he was fun.

Definately highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcoops123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stumbled across Keith and Bridget's place couple of years ago and haven't stayed anywhere else in Devon since (unless they couldn't fit us in) The informality and helpful friendly atmosphere make it a truly relaxing place to stay. We also love seeing the animals and keeping track of their progress. The breakfast is great and with the farm shop you get a chance to stock up on their own or local produce. Location wise it is great for the Devon/Dorset coast, Axminster and around. We would like to keep Spillers Farm to ourselves, but feel obliged to let others know how good it is.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodhouse03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

I stayed at Spillers Farm as I was taking part in a course at River Cottage HQ. Keith and Bridget were lovely hosts and instantly made me feel comfortable. Room was great, bed was comfortable, and there was information about the local area in the room so you didn't feel you needed to go searching for it. Being able to wander around the small holding was also a highlight. Breakfast was delicious and the best bacon I have ever had! As a solo traveller I felt more than comfortable staying at Spillers.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank FER21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musbury
2.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Prestoller House
Prestoller House
#1 of 12 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B
Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B
#1 of 7 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.2 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spillers Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spillers Farm

Property: Spillers Farm
Address: Spillers Farm Seaton Road | Axminster, Musbury EX13 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Musbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Musbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in some of East Devon’s most spectacular countryside, Spillers Farm B&B accommodation and holiday cottage is a haven of peace and tranquillity. Nestling in the beautiful village of Musbury, near Axminster, in the Axe Valley - an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty - Spillers Farm B&B is a working smallholding, ideal for those going to Hugh Fernley-Whittingstall's River Cottage HQ. A recommended bed and breakfast and accommodation provider for River Cottage HQ and The River Cottage Canteen in Axminster, Spillers Farm is one of the closest B&B's to each, being just a a five minute drive away from both. It is also ideal for those wishing to explore the East Devon countryside and the coast, being just a few miles from the Regency seaside town of Sidmouth and fossil-hunting on the Jurassic Coast at Lyme Regis where celebrity chef Mark Hix has recently opened Mark Hix's Oyster and Fish House. Spillers Farm offers the visitor numerous options for a relaxing break. Stay for one or two nights' B&B in our comfy bedrooms, or for a week in Cassie's Cottage, the spacious, self-contained Devon self-catering holiday cottage. All our own produce in our breakfasts - home-reared rare breed sausages and hand-cured bacon, free range eggs, organically-grown tomatoes. We also sell the best quality pork, sausages, bacon and ham from our own rare breed pigs, succulent roasts from our own lambs and fresh eggs from our free range hens or ducks, so why not take some home with you?Working smallholding on the Devon and Dorset border. Five minutes from River Cottage HQ and 10 minutes from Lyme Regis. Gorgeous unspoilt views, private lake. Farm Shop and Tea Rooms on site using and selling own produce. Also self-catering cottage sleeping six. Guests are welcome to row round or picnic by the lake or help out feeding the animals(hand-bottle feed our lambs in the spring), or just relax in the comfy en-suite rooms. Dog friendly in cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Spillers Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spillers Farm Musbury, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing