We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect in every way”
Review of Spillers Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spillers Farm
Ranked #1 of 4 Musbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect in every way”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at Spillers Farm last summer and we were lucky enough to return this summer also, as our friends bought us a night at Spillers Farm and a meal at River Cottage as a wedding gift. Bridget and Keith are so friendly and welcoming and they really looked after us during our stay. This time we stayed in a different room to before but it was equally as lovely, spacious, comfortable and relaxing. Keith’s cooked breakfasts are the best and clearly served with the pride that they deserve. If you’re looking to stay close to River Cottage then we strongly recommend Spillers Farm. We cannot fault the location, accommodation or the hosts. It’s absolutely perfect in every way. Many thanks to Bridget and Keith for another fantastic mini break :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary_Sam_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
225
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South west united kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were in need of a get away for a night and decided to come to spillers farm as it wasn't too far from us. We were not disappointed.. The king suite was so nice! With amazing views of the lake and the farm animals. Bridget and Keith are both lovely people, and Merryck the dog was so friendly! He took us for a walk to the lake, which is his favourite place, it really was a short but sweet stay. We thoroughly enjoyed it.. Thanks again Keith and Bridget, we'll definitely be back!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessicaarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget T, Owner at Spillers Farm, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you to Jess for this lovely review. We were really pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was great to meet you and Jo and we hope to see you again at Spillers in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stopped over to visit River Cottage, which we gather is a lot of their business!

Very friendly greeting, pleasant room, fine breakfast of farm-produce food.

Sleep was slightly affected by their (very large) dog attempting to exit through the kitchen catflap at around 4.00 a.m. - it succeeded at the expenses of destroying the lower door panel and almost becoming permanently framed! Excellent cabaret, if a little late at night!

Room Tip: In warm weather, avoid front-facing rooms - it's a fairly busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-JBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget T, Owner at Spillers Farm, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are very grateful to this reviewer for his kind words and his recognition of the work that we put in to make all of our guests' visits relaxing and enjoyable. we must apologise once again for our dog's middle of the night antics! He was caught short and thought going through the cat flap would be a good option. We can assure future guests that he won't be doing that again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Paul and i have just returned from Spillers Farm and it was like being with pops and ma in the Darling buds of may. Bridget and Keith could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. The farm was a haven of tranquility. We loved going for a stroll round the lake , where we watched ducks, moorhens and many dragonflies flying round the lily pads. We were met by the lambs, who thought we had some milk, but loved a cuddle instead. There were benches and seats to sit and take in the breathtaking views and scenery. Our room had the biggest bed ever and it was like climbing into a giant marshmallow. The window view was stunning with lovely chairs to sit and read or just watch the labrador having a rest on the lawn. The room was beautifully equiped with make up wipes, face wipes, tissues, hairdryer, shower gel, body lotion, ear buds, ear plugs, skin pads, many types of tea, coffee, chocolate, milk, biscuits, sweets and bottled water .We went to devon to have dinner at River Cottage HQ, which was a totally amazing experience but our overnight stay was made extra special by Bridget and Keith at Spillers Farm. Breakfast was cooked in the Aga and was delicious, with home made jams and marmalade on thick hunks of white and brown bread to follow. This lovely couple made us so welcome and everything they did showed they really cared about their guests experience. We cannot praise them highly enough and certainly would recommend Spillers Farm to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget T, Owner at Spillers Farm, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Many thanks to Paul and Elaine who have summed up everything we try to do here at Spillers and have perfectly captured the feeling of wandering around our grounds and lake. Thanks also for noting how much we put into the rooms, we try to offer lots of added extras and it's always nice for us when it is appreciated. Paul and Elaine were lovely guests and we look forward to seeing them at Spillers again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Second time we've stayed here this year - didn't disappoint again! We stayed as we visited River Cottage HQ for lunch - Spillers Farm is ideally located, approx ten mins away by taxi. Keith and Bridget are great hosts, made us very welcomed and the breakfasts are fantastic. Will definitely stay again in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_and_Hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We found Bridget and Keith ( the owners) to be very helpful. They gave us lots of tips on where to go and what to do. They have a lovely lake which they encourage you to use. It has seats around it for you to enjoy. Watching the wildlife, Billy the fish, Swans and Coots! Walking through the meadow with lambs!! The room was very comfortable with a lovely big bed. The breakfasts were a little disappointing !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget T, Owner at Spillers Farm, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are grateful to Janice for visiting Spillers Farm and for her kind review. We are disappointed that she found our breakfasts disappointing, a fact of which we were totally unaware. She seemed to be a very satisfied guest during her stay, so it's always disappointing when we find out via Tripadvisor a few weeks' later that guests were not entirely delighted with all aspects of their stay. Our breakfasts consist of sausages made from our own free range rare breed pigs and bacon from the same, which is hand cured in sugar and salt here on the farm and hand-cut by Keith. Plus our own tomatoes (when in season). All of this is roasted in the AGA. There is no oil or frying involved. There are also eggs (poached on the AGA or scrambled) freshly laid by our own free range hens or ducks. We also offer a range of our own home made jams, made by us from the organically grown fruit that we grow on the farm. Our bread is delivered daily from a local baker. And we offer tea, coffee, toast, jam, orange and apple fruit juice on an ad lib basis (i.e you can have as much as you like). We pride ourselves that we offer a breakfast that is truly low in food miles and that you can see the animals that have produced your breakfast secure in the knowlege that our welfare standards are incredibly high. We are only sorry that for Janice this fell short of the mark for some unknown reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Such a friendly, chatty couple. Really enjoyed meeting them and looking around their lovely farm. Very comfortable bed, and breakfast delicious! Also did an amazing cookery course at River Cottage HQ.

Room Tip: Was no problem sharing the bathroom. Felt as if you were at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosiedavis81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musbury
2.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
153 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
36 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lyme Tree House
Lyme Tree House
#2 of 2 in Raymonds Hill
56 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spillers Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spillers Farm

Property: Spillers Farm
Address: Spillers Farm Seaton Road | Axminster, Musbury EX13 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Musbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Musbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in some of East Devon’s most spectacular countryside, Spillers Farm B&B accommodation and holiday cottage is a haven of peace and tranquillity. Nestling in the beautiful village of Musbury, near Axminster, in the Axe Valley - an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty - Spillers Farm B&B is a working smallholding, ideal for those going to Hugh Fernley-Whittingstall's River Cottage HQ. A recommended bed and breakfast and accommodation provider for River Cottage HQ and The River Cottage Canteen in Axminster, Spillers Farm is one of the closest B&B's to each, being just a a five minute drive away from both. It is also ideal for those wishing to explore the East Devon countryside and the coast, being just a few miles from the Regency seaside town of Sidmouth and fossil-hunting on the Jurassic Coast at Lyme Regis where celebrity chef Mark Hix has recently opened Mark Hix's Oyster and Fish House. Spillers Farm offers the visitor numerous options for a relaxing break. Stay for one or two nights' B&B in our comfy bedrooms, or for a week in Cassie's Cottage, the spacious, self-contained Devon self-catering holiday cottage. All our own produce in our breakfasts - home-reared rare breed sausages and hand-cured bacon, free range eggs, organically-grown tomatoes. We also sell the best quality pork, sausages, bacon and ham from our own rare breed pigs, succulent roasts from our own lambs and fresh eggs from our free range hens or ducks, so why not take some home with you?Working smallholding on the Devon and Dorset border. Five minutes from River Cottage HQ and 10 minutes from Lyme Regis. Gorgeous unspoilt views, private lake. Farm Shop and Tea Rooms on site using and selling own produce. Also self-catering cottage sleeping six. Guests are welcome to row round or picnic by the lake or help out feeding the animals(hand-bottle feed our lambs in the spring), or just relax in the comfy en-suite rooms. Dog friendly in cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spillers Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spillers Farm Musbury, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing