We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River cottage”
Review of Spillers Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spillers Farm
Ranked #1 of 4 Musbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“River cottage”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at spillers farm must say Keith and Bridget made us feel very welcome in their home.The room was well decorated very clean and comfortable ,it's in and ideal place for river cottage which we had booked for the Friday .The breakfast was very tasty so well done to you both .
Rohan and linda

Room Tip: Ensuite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
230
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

After a horrendous period of hectic work for several months myself and my fiancee were both in desperate need of a break. Spiller's Farm was JUST what we wanted, and needed. Beautiful location and wonderful atmosphere. The breakfast is out of this world, the kingsize room had lovely views, and the bed was super comfortable.
Being interested in the "Good Life" ourselves, it was lovely to see a working farm and to visit all the animals. Merryck is an excellent walking guide!
Thank you Keith and Bridget for a wonderful stay. :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were recommended to the special deal Spillers Farm run in conjunction with the River Cottage Canteen which was great value and a really nice mini break! We were made most welcome by Keith and Bridget who are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. Definitely want to do it again, hopefully in better weather next time when we can look around the farm more, meet the animals and go to the lake!
Great breakfast with bacon and sausages from their own pigs and Keith's homemade jams!
We will be back! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KatieKBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, Chippenham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Great reception from Keith and Bridget. Cosy rooms and wonderful home cooked breakfast. Very attentive service from start to finish. Amaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazzzzzziiiiiiiinggg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popodomalopoudos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Bed & Breakfast in their self catering accommodation is excellent!!! Spotlessly clean well equipped plus excellent breakfast with home produced food. Nothing is too much trouble for Keith & Bridget, Lovely Braces Keith :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget T, Owner at Spillers Farm, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks For this lovely review Molly and in particular for mentioning Keith's braces. He is particularly proud of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Keith and Bridget have a rare ability to make every guest feel completely at home. We chose Spiller's to be close to River Cottage. My husband and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and the Day Experience was one of our treats. (It was fantastic). We hadn't expected the quality of hospitality we found at Spiller's, we stayed two nights which should have been a week. Having met the piglets we settled into our beautifully comfortable room (with ensuite and rural views) before launching off to explore the area with Keith's excellent directions. Apart from River Cottage, there is much to enjoy in the area, we loved Lyme Regis and could have spent days exploring the Jurassic Coast. Breakfast at Spiller's will keep you going for most of the day, with home-produced meat cooked in the aga and delicious home-made jams ,all enjoyed under the watchful eye of a picture-book cat. So if you like to feel warmly welcomed in a beautiful area, by a couple who are wholeheartedly committed to offering the very best quality B&B, go to Spiller's - it is a happy place.
Caroline and Neil Lawrence, Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CaroJamberoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We are very happy to recommend Spillers Farm B&B to anyone wanting great accommodation close to River Cottage HQ.

Thank you Keith and Bridget for a very warm welcome, excellent breakfast and sharing your piece of paradise. And a special mention to Keith for the mini tour of the farm animals - we hope all 11 piglets are happy and healthy!

Hope to visit again in Summer/Autumn 2015.

Regards Ron and Carol Tanner - Canberra, Australia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musbury
2.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
350 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
157 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
636 reviews
4.2 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
39 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spillers Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spillers Farm

Property: Spillers Farm
Address: Spillers Farm Seaton Road | Axminster, Musbury EX13 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Musbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Musbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in some of East Devon’s most spectacular countryside, Spillers Farm B&B accommodation and holiday cottage is a haven of peace and tranquillity. Nestling in the beautiful village of Musbury, near Axminster, in the Axe Valley - an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty - Spillers Farm B&B is a working smallholding, ideal for those going to Hugh Fernley-Whittingstall's River Cottage HQ. A recommended bed and breakfast and accommodation provider for River Cottage HQ and The River Cottage Canteen in Axminster, Spillers Farm is one of the closest B&B's to each, being just a a five minute drive away from both. It is also ideal for those wishing to explore the East Devon countryside and the coast, being just a few miles from the Regency seaside town of Sidmouth and fossil-hunting on the Jurassic Coast at Lyme Regis where celebrity chef Mark Hix has recently opened Mark Hix's Oyster and Fish House. Spillers Farm offers the visitor numerous options for a relaxing break. Stay for one or two nights' B&B in our comfy bedrooms, or for a week in Cassie's Cottage, the spacious, self-contained Devon self-catering holiday cottage. All our own produce in our breakfasts - home-reared rare breed sausages and hand-cured bacon, free range eggs, organically-grown tomatoes. We also sell the best quality pork, sausages, bacon and ham from our own rare breed pigs, succulent roasts from our own lambs and fresh eggs from our free range hens or ducks, so why not take some home with you?Working smallholding on the Devon and Dorset border. Five minutes from River Cottage HQ and 10 minutes from Lyme Regis. Gorgeous unspoilt views, private lake. Farm Shop and Tea Rooms on site using and selling own produce. Also self-catering cottage sleeping six. Guests are welcome to row round or picnic by the lake or help out feeding the animals(hand-bottle feed our lambs in the spring), or just relax in the comfy en-suite rooms. Dog friendly in cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Spillers Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spillers Farm Musbury, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing