We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fab owner and dog friendly break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Musbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Musbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed with Kate over Easter in the garden room with our chocolate Lab Mazzie and Daschubd Jack Russell Cross Toffee... A great time was had by all.. A very rare find.. a dog freindlier place you could not wish to find.. Kate was so welcoming and even dog sat for us whilst we went up to River Cottage HQ.. Hot drinks and home made shortbread in front of the amazing inglenook fireplace that never goes out..always burning and welcoming you whatever time of day... really lovely to sit around and chate to other guests in the evenings.
The Garden room is perfect for dogs as it has direct access out into the garden and then out on lovely walks round the lanes, fileds or nature reserve just a stones throw from the B and B.
A hearty locally sourced breakfast - fabulous porridge and lots of choice..we even had cadbury creme eggs left by the Easter Bunny at our place settings on Easter Sunday.
A great location for exploring East Devon and Dorset - Lyme Regis and Charmouh were lovely -Charmouth Beach at Kate's recommendation for the dogs was great as it is long and sandy.
Kate couldn't have done more to make us feel truly at home and the dogs loved it...
We would definitely recommend Kate's b and b to anyone looking for a relaxing, home from home break and look forward to visiting again one day.. Thanks for everything Kate.
Lou, Rich, Bump, Toff and Maz x x x

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouChatwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly Katecwith tea / coffee and biscuits
We had 6 Adults and an infant in our group
Katevwent out of her way to accommodate us as her family room was already booked
Our rooms were very clean and cosy
Her breakfast is fantastic - local fresh produce
This is a great B and B and I recommend it to all

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had to arrive late, informed Kate of our late arrival, no problem at all. When we got in the door we were offered a cup of tea, some how that turned into wine and brownies. YUM. Much appreciated. Ended up chatting to Kate for quite a while. An extremely hospitable host very accommodating. We ended up having a lovely room with massive double bed, which was really very comfortable. Further sleeping arrangements were made for one of us to stay two extra nights due to work locally. Again Kate couldn't promise us anything but pulled it out of the hat.

Breakfast, our orders were taken in the evening and we were asked what time we were going to be getting up. Fresh eggs, local sausages and bacon. Again Yum.

Three beautiful dogs, a promise of one puppy next year. Think there is a waiting list. Damn.

We would recommend to friends and family and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Kate made our overnight stay very welcoming and relaxing. We were greeted with tea and coffee and drinks for the children....and some lovely shortbread. The children loved the playroom and settled quickly in the family atmosphere. It was a refreshing change to be able to relax in the guest lounge during the evening so as not to disturb the sleeping kids just upstairs.
Breakfast was lovely, accomodating every family members tastes!
Thanks Kate..restored my confidence in family B&Bs.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arfonandruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Kate was exceptionally kind and accommodating to us all weekend. There was a great selection for breakfast with fresh eggs from the garden. My husband delighted with the large open fire and our lively dog played happily with Kate's three. We made ourselves at home lazing on the sofas at night with wine before heading to bed in the large family room upstairs.

We brought bicycles, walked on the beach (Charmouth being dog-friendly) and spent a day at River Cottage which was about 10 minutes driving. We bought some handmade pottery following one of Kate's recommendations.

Exceptionally homely. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Kate and her beautiful dogs. She made us all feel welcome with tea and biscuits on arrival. There was a lovely fire in the living room, where we were invited to sit and relax. Kate was very helpful with organising us a taxi to to the River cottage canteen. The house itself is very charming. I hope that I am lucky enough to get one of the puppies from the next litter!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Kate was very kind and helpful to us during our stay, Offering us tea or wine on arrival she led us up to a charming and large family room. We had broken down on the way there and were helped by Kate to source a mechanic that she new in the area. There was always a fire lit in the inglenook, where we could sit and relax if we wished..Our dog was looked after whilst we went out to dine at the Canteen. Her farm is placed in a most delightful position away from the hubbub of city/town life. Many walks are on her door step. We chose to walk from Charmouth to Seatown over the golden cap. A must for any who enjoy breathtaking views of our beautiful countryside and coast line
The breakfasts are not to be missed, with fresh eggs from her chickens and local bacon and sausages. We hope to go again to enjoy Kates hospitality once more. Thanks Kate you made a potentially trying weekend most pleasant xx

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lower Bruckland Farm, Musbury, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Musbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Musbury
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in over 95 acres of rolling Devon hills, 3 miles from the sea, a Grade 2 listed farmhouse over 400 years old, a relaxing base from which to explore the Jurassic Coast. Choose from the large ensuite family room, the double ensuite garden room, or the double room. A traditional full English breakfast ( with eggs from Kate's chickens ) is served in the guest lounge with it's huge inglenook fireplace, real log fires! beams and stone flagged floor. Children and dogs welcome. Ample off road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast Musbury, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing