We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
160
30
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
30
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river cottage lyme regis warm welcome fantastic cooked breakfast set in beautiful countryside homemade shortbread bunk beds b and b full english a great stay two nights jurassic coast large room east devon breakfast room good nights sleep lovely location
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 196 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Kate welcomed us from our arrival and made the farmhouse a home from home. The Inglenook fireplace is stunning along with original stone floors and beams. The silence was blissful and the lanes led you to many public footpaths to enjoy a stroll at the beginning or the end of a day. Kate was great with advice on travel to River Cottage (as we were there for a cookery course) as well as advice on local restaurants and places to visit along the coast. Well recommended and a special place in our hearts for little Maisie the Jack Russell :) Thanks for a great stay. Guy & Lou

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Words will not do justice for Kate's place, its amazing! Me and my Fella had been at River Cottage for Lunch, and i had booked us in at Kate's Farm for one night, Driving down all the little winding lanes was alot of fun, we did get a little lost (not thanks to the sat nave) however one call to Kate and she gave me clear directions and we got there in not time arrving at this quaint little cottage farm, Kate came out the front to meet us at the car, introduced herself and took us both in to a roaring open fire and 3 rather cute little dogs, the Room we were in was HUGE! clean, very wam and comfortable! We then went down stairs to a lovely strong pot of tea and some of Kates homemade christmas cake, sat on a comfy sofa by the fire, Kate joined us and we had a good old chat (youd have thought we'd known her for years) We asked where the nearest pub was so i didnt have to drive... She told us... and then offered to take us AND pick us up!!! how many hoteliers do you know that would do that? AND DIDNT CHARGE EXTRA!! we bought Kate a drink at the pub and then off she went while we had food, then picked us back up, We had a night Cap by the fire and then off to bed,
Breakfast was amazing! Fresh eggs and locally sourced meat, cooked to order, and much tea as i could take! over all i cant reccommend Kate's Farm enough, its like going to a 2nd home, a wonderful wonderful women who does an amazing job, We will definatly return here again and again
Thank you for turning our dissapointing day a River Cottage into one of the best UK breaks ever

Kate and Tom

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossifumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A four-night stay whilst Pam enjoyed a two-day cooking course at River Cottage. Sometimes difficult to travel with two English Spinger Spaniels but not here; very welcoming and very accommodating. I spent most days on the beaches with the dogs, Kate even provided litter bags for me (dont' ask' it is just something I do!) when I ran out of my own supply. Fantastic lounge with a great fireplace and roaring fire. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of orange juice (always an indication of a good host). A great place to base yourself for seeing this part of the world; if you have dogs, it is the best place to base yourself. Well done Kate and Ed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We found this family friendly B&B back in August when we wanted to visit River cottage with our children for my girls birthday. I looked at the accommodation available in the area and no-one would really cater for 2 adults & 3 children and even if they did, the price was well over the top.

I saw the family bedroom displayed at Kates Farm, and thought 'perfect'. On our arrival, Kate was very friendly and wanted to get to know you as a family. There were also dogs there which my kids loved....The bedroom was perfect for the five of us and the children loved the secret area in the fireplace and the bunk beds. Also to make it even better, even though no TV in the bedroom, there was one downstairs and the children could just go and watch it; but not only that there was free Wi-Fi which enable us to watch films via the internet at night time with the children before bed

Breakfast was pre-ordered at night and freshly cooked in the morning when you got up and I felt at home with my grilled full breakfast & fresh cup of coffee. It was real family friendly & I would say that if you wanted a place to stay in that area, get in touch with Kate

Room Tip: Perfect family room which would suit families of 5 and an excellent price for what you get :-)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had the most wonderful time here - it's not dog friendly it's dog loving as my friend put it - so right! Kate's Farm is a home from home and has a separate guest lounge with log fire - which was lovely to sit near. There are only a few rooms, so it had such a wonderful family feel and made us all so welcome. Kate has her own three dogs who are adorable and rule the roost, but are exceptionally welcoming and we were soon part of one big pack on a short walk out around the B&B.

It was a perfect stop for Lyme Regis and Axminster, for River Cottage Veg. Homemade breakfast - delicious. Kate's own chickens provided the eggs!

Highly recommended, will most definitely be back when I visit friends in the area! Thank you Kate and family!

Sara and Ernie

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, but if you have a dog, then the double downstairs might be best as you have access to the garden easier - and an en suite, but my room upstairs was fabulous - everything you needed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaharrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews