We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Style”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Musbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Musbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Country Style”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Charming building with great character, walk in open fire place, very homely vibe. Kate & Ed made our trip to Devon very easy. We traveled with our 9month daughter, and the little extras were beyond nice. Little toys for baby to play with, cot bed supplied, baby cutlery and bowls, use of bath (not part of our room package) for baby. Just so nice, restful, and a great sense of calm to be had. Thank you both for the wonderful warm welcome, chats, hospitality and for making it a lovely stay.
Lorraine, James & Baby Lana (Cork, Ireland)

Room Tip: The family room, is exactly as it is called. Can sleep 5 adults, or 2 adults & 3 kids etc. Has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollylana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    29
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
70
77
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Kate's farm as part of a road-trip of the south coast. We chose it as it is conveniently located for the River Cottage Canteen. The B&B is in a beautiful, very peaceful setting. Kate was very friendly and welcoming. She has a very dry sense of humour which we found endearing. She served us tea and biscuits in the garden when we arrived and very helpfully organised a taxi for us into Axminster. She even offered to collect us after our meal which we thought was kind. Great breakfast, particularly the lovely eggs, organic porridge and wide range of preserves. We'll stay again if returning to either of the River cottage restaurants

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicksmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex uk
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break at Kate's Farm. We booked all the bedrooms- so arrived with children, dogs the works, but Kate was welcoming and unphased! The location and farmhouse are beautiful, a perfect base for exploring the area. Despite the dreadful weather we had a great time at Lyme Regis crabbing and eating fish and chips and searching for Fossils at Charmouth. We arrived back to a luxury fire (even though it was June we were freezing and soaked!) Having so many of us of varying ages, 3 -75 yrs, we were so pleased to have a sitting room to use as a central area to play board games, hang out by the fire and order a takeaway to eat in! The children loved collecting the fresh chicken eggs and the breakfasts were so tasty! Thanks Kate for your great hospitality.and for making us so welcome.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Kate's B&B is just amazing. We have stayed here four times and just couldn't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting this area. Kate doesn't just go the extra mile for her guests it's always seemed to us that she is prepared to go the extra ten miles. Kate herself is everything you would imagine her to be; warm, friendly, generous and just genuinely delightful. The rooms are spotless and very comfy. The lounge is warm and relaxing with a fire place you could live in. The cherry on top of the sundae is the breakfasts. Trust me, you wont need to eat for quite a while after one!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilF67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Kate's Farm. Each time we go, we get the same warm welcome from Kate. The location is idyllic, the farm is beautiful and the fire is cosy. She even has a little nook near the fire full of childrens' toys which appears to be a hit with every child. Kate uses local produce for the sumptuous breakfast which is always served with your choice of beverages, toast (often with hand-made jams or marmalades) and a smile! We have stayed in different rooms and never been disappointed with the quality and homeliness. We cannot recommend Kate's hospitality enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casualtyofchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Very genuine welcome from Kate she was concerned we were happy and comfortable in the Garden Room.
Lovely welcoming fire to enjoy tea and shortbread on arrival in an original Devon farmhouse. We were enroute to a day's workshop at River Cottage so perfect locatation.Only sad we were not returning to experience a second home cooked breakfast. Thank you Kate hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is the 3rd year that we have stayed at Kate's whilst my husband and kids compete in The Grizzly. Kate is always so welcoming and relaxed from the time we arrive on the Friday night to our check out on Sunday. The cooked breakfasts are too good to resist. Our kids love playing with the animals...an extra puppy this year, collecting hens' eggs and exploring the lake opposite. The other guests have been interesting and friendly, and there's a huge inglenook fireplace which is great to sit around and enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The family room is a good size and towels etc are clean and plentiful. My husband has always booked in advance because we don't want to miss out - it's a great base from which to do The Grizzly, explore the fossil strewn beaches, check out Branscombe and Lyme Regis and dine at the nearby River Cottage. Plus, I don't know how Kate does it but every time we've visited, the sun has shone!

Room Tip: Family room has a double bed, a bunk bed and a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZurichTraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musbury
1.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
314 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
149 reviews
5.5 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
414 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spillers Farm
Spillers Farm
#1 of 4 in Musbury
401 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B
Wyke Farm Cottages and B&B
#1 of 7 in Axminster
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lower Bruckland Farm, Musbury, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Musbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Musbury
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in over 95 acres of rolling Devon hills, 3 miles from the sea, a Grade 2 listed farmhouse over 400 years old, a relaxing base from which to explore the Jurassic Coast. Choose from the large ensuite family room, the double ensuite garden room, or the double room. A traditional full English breakfast ( with eggs from Kate's chickens ) is served in the guest lounge with it's huge inglenook fireplace, real log fires! beams and stone flagged floor. Children and dogs welcome. Ample off road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast Musbury, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing