We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly relaxing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Musbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Musbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We chose Kate's place because it was perfectly located for Lyme Regis, Hugh's Canteen and Seaton. We were initially a little concerned as Kate welcomes dogs and I thought the rooms may smell, this wasn't the case and the only aroma was the sweet smell of apple wood smouldering in the inglenook. Because we booked late, our family of five stayed in the smaller family room without the en-suite, but the room was big enough and the journey to the bathroom (which only we could use) was short. The whole house was very clean. At lunch times we came back to Kate's so our youngest could sleep, we then picniced under a tree in the garden, listening to the chucks and watching the swallows. In the evenings the children slept (within earshot) upstairs whilst we drank wine and chatted to fellow guests in a large comfortable lounge. We brought back a takeaway once and Kate provided all the necessary plates etc. She often joined us in the evenings in front of the fire and if you ever get to meet her most charming friend, Ed, don't forget to ask him to tell you his egg story!

Room Tip: All good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostinnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    29
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
70
77
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

From the moment we arrived with our two dogs and the warm welcome we all received from Kate we relaxed. Such beautiful and tranquil surroundings, our stay felt as if it we were house guests at a country (farm)house party in the company of old friends - amazing! Kate is a fantastic host and nothing is too much trouble for her. Already trying to plan for our next visit later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wbridgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Spent 2 nights at this excellent bed and breakfast accommodation set in beautiful countryside.Kate was an excellent host,nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts are the best we have experienced.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andybolderston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Kate is a most charming and hospitable host; you really feel as if you are in the comfort of your own home. A most welcome pot of tea and biscuits and chat was provided on arrival. My room was cosy and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in! A good night's rest followed by an excellent breakfast set me up perfectly for my day at nearby River Cottage. I would highly recommend Kate's Farm to anyone who wants home from home comfort in peaceful, tranquil, beautiful countryside whilst being very close to local towns, tourist attractions and the fantastic coast. I only wish I could have taken more time out and stayed longer. Thank you Kate!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

From the minute we arrived I knew we had picked a fab B&B. Kate was there to welcome us, show us our roomas and provide a much needed pot of tea and biscuits, it immediately felt like we were visiting an old friend. Dog lovers will immediately take to Kate's 3, I know my partner became very attached!
We stayed at Kate's Farm as we were visiting River Cottage HQ for dinner. Kate had advised on a good taxi service for us (book in adavance of the day) and we had a fabulous evening enjoying all things Hugh F-W. On return to the B&B Kate was there to welcome us and we all sat by the roraing fire and enjoyed a tipple and a good chat.
Our room was wonderful, we were in the family room so it was big for our needs but still so cosy and very clean. Breakfast the next day was super, Im only sorry we couldnt eat more but we had rather over endulged the night before!
I would definitely recommend a stay at Kate's, we just need to work out when we can go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo_La_Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed for one night when we were visiting River Cottage.

Kate was great and sooo welcoming. We are doggie people and loved her 3 dogs.

Room was good - shower was fantastic.

Breakfast was lovely and just what we needed that morning.

Would defnitely stay again when next in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

I would whole heartedly recommend Kate's Farm to anyone looking for a top quality bed and breakfast in Devon.

We stayed in the large family room and there was plenty enough room for my family of five. The room was comfortable, decorated nicely and had lovely views of the countryside. It had a shower room which was extremely clean (no mean feat I bet with a 400 year old property!)

On arrival Kate was very welcoming as were her three friendly Jack Russels. She served tea and juice for the kids with biscuits which was very nice after a long drive. The guest lounge is so cosy, with a traditional log fire and kids play den Wichita they loved.

Kate showed us to the room and then sat and chatted with us in the lounge while we had tea. She took our breakfast order (pretty much whatever you want) and asked us what time we wanted it which was nice.

The breakfast was absolutely perfect and Kate sent me home with some of the fresh eggs that she let the kids pick up from the chicken coop.

I left my iPhone charger there and she sent it up to my home, which was a very nice touch. There is free wifi throughout the house.

I could not be more complimentary and will definitely stay here again with my family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garybright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Musbury
1.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
5.0 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spillers Farm
Spillers Farm
#1 of 4 in Musbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wyke Farm Bed & Breakfast
Wyke Farm Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 47 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lower Bruckland Farm, Musbury, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Musbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Musbury
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in over 95 acres of rolling Devon hills, 3 miles from the sea, a Grade 2 listed farmhouse over 400 years old, a relaxing base from which to explore the Jurassic Coast. Choose from the large ensuite family room, the double ensuite garden room, or the double room. A traditional full English breakfast ( with eggs from Kate's chickens ) is served in the guest lounge with it's huge inglenook fireplace, real log fires! beams and stone flagged floor. Children and dogs welcome. Ample off road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kate's Farm Bed & Breakfast Musbury, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing