We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
49
27
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
27
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner swimming pool one night phnom penh off the beaten track cardamom mountains get away fish nestled away eco lodge first night cycle tour stunning views lovely staff few kilometers early morning beautiful nature
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 85 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to stay at Memoria. Overall, the property is gorgeous and peaceful. This is an excellent place to relax. Most of the noise comes from the birds and wildlife in the area.

The owner and the staff are very attentive and friendly. I appreciated the time the owner took to come over and chat when we were in the restaurant. He takes special interest in the well being of his guests and is very proud to show off the gardens surrounding the property or talk about the history of the area.

The resort is set up over a spacious property so that you don't feel like you are staying right next to all the other guests. In fact, if not for meal time, I hardly saw or heard the other guests except for mornings and evenings. The pathways are laid out so that you are able to stroll along rather than just go from one place to another. Every part of the resort has new sights to see and appreciate.

The downside of the resort is that the room we stayed in is that some things seem to be poorly planned. The bathroom could used better planning and fixtures as the shower head is not very easy to use and sprays out like little knives. The sink outside the bathroom was adorably heart shaped but leaked underneath creating a pool of water when used too much. The room is very minimalistic using wood bedframes and shelves in a tasteful design. Unfortunately, the insects are eating them away leaving piles of dust. The sliding glass door never locked allowing anyone access even if the main door to the room was locked. The curtains seemed like they were a last minute addition as parts were pinned and the length was uneven. The resort is still a work in progress.

The plus side to Memoria is that it's outside of town, but not too far. There's plenty to see and do when it comes to nature and outdoors. Be sure to plan your tour itinerary as soon as possible so that arrangements can be made in plenty of time. If you enjoy serious trekking, you're in luck, as it's very easy to arrange. If you like offroad dirtbike riding, then this is also an option, but make sure you come prepared with your own gear and helmet as it's likely not to be available.

If you're more of a low impact visitor, then there are several fruit farms, orchards and plantations close by to visit. Additionally, the local pagodas are a great place to see everyday life of Cambodians, particularly during special occasions and festivals. Additionally, there are several other Cambodian-style resorts to enjoy. Getting there can be a bit adventurous unless you have a car.

The great thing about the resort is that you can just hang out at the pool or in any one of many cottages or gazebos on the property. There's a lovely little library with some history books and DVDs to borrow if you want to watch a movie in your room.

If you are not familiar or do not enjoy Cambodian food, then you had better bring your own snacks. Memoria has an excellent kitchen that makes only Cambodian food. It is delicious, but may not suit every visitor's palate.

Room tip: Rooms are very spacious and comfortable with most a short walk to the reception and restaurant.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onlyincambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prim s, Owner at Memoria Palace & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Greeting from Memoria Palace & Resort, and thank so very much for taking your time to write us a review. we are looking forward to see again the in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The resort has been planted beautifully and the lodging is luxurious and nestled away so that you can listen to the birds and sounds of nature. The pool is amazing with great views over the valley. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great activity guide in the room. The owner is inspirational with his deep desire and action to bring a community divided by a long conflict back together and reverse the damage from deforestation. We stopped here after a long bike ride from Battembang and found a small paradise.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prim s, Owner at Memoria Palace & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a review. It is our honor to host your stay during your time at Pailin. With a wide variety of natural leisure activities, you can enjoy cycling, trekking, hiking, viewing landscapes, and involving yourself with local livelihood activities like agricultural activities which will immerse you a real combination of communities’ life experiences and natural tourism in Pailin, a realm of yet explored treasures.

With your support, we make a positive contribution to society. We hope we will have a honor to host visit again the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Food was excellent, staff very helpful, and beautiful setting. The owners are truly dedicated to providing good service and facilities, so just let them know what you think. Many things to do off the beaten track in the area.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaMcGrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prim s, Owner at Memoria Palace & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us a review. Your review is very important for us. We continue to do our best to make your stay of fond of memory and feel as your own home. We are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This resort has wonderful views of the mountains and valleys outside Pallin City .We found the staff and manicured grounds to be far beyond our expectations. The salt water pool and its views were very refreshing and hard to leave. The food at the restaurant was excellent with all vegetables and spices grown on the property . Will be back for sure !

Room tip: All rooms have wonderful views and are very large
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahoo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prim s, Owner at Memoria Palace & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

We highly appreciate very much that you spent your value time to write us a review. Your review is very important for us. We are excited hear that you had a good time with us. We continue to do our best to make you feel that you come to your own home. We are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This small, eco-friendly resort in the foothills of the Cardamom Montains is only 13 k. from the Thai border but in valley that is a little piece of paradise.

If you enjoy hiking verdant trials, swimming at the base of remote waterfalls, or simply relaxing poolside - Memoria is a hidden treasure.

When I told friends in Siem Reap that I wanted to explore the region of Pailin Province: (a) they had no idea where it was. (b) they had heard nothing positive about Pailin. (c) they thought I had lost my mind, (d) all of the above.

The answer, (e) None of the above. This province and the resort Cambodia's hidden treasure and very easy to access.

Coincidentally, before travelling to Cambodia a friend in the U.S. who worked here for years, told me about Memoria Palace, the quality of the property, the friendliness of the manager and staff, and that it in was the most beautiful setting she had experienced in this country. Her recommendation was spot on.

My weekend here has been a relaxing treasure; trekking in verdant forests, swimming in pools under steep waterfalls, and evening visiting a local coffee growing plantation where I was introduced to the owner for a private tour of his property.

Only 3.5 hours from Siem Reap, 1.5 hours from Battambang, and close to the new (safe and easy to transit) Thai border crossing at Prum, Memoria Palace is paradise in Pailin Province.

Room tip: The deluxe suites a bit more expensive, but worth the upgrade especially on multi-night stays.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cycleSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews